We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Hotel in Casco Antiquo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. It was the perfect place to spend our last night in Panama. Beautiful, clean, friendly reception, great location and wonderful views of Casco Antiguo. I was also very happy with the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much, Elizabeth! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully we can host you for a longer stay should you return. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I agree with other that the rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is friendly. Still felt it was overpriced for the quality and the noise level from the streets (and we were there during the week) -- stay on the top floor if you can! We stayed in two different rooms and the television did not work in either, also the balcony doors did not lock in either room. Breakfast was wonderful. Great location for exploring Casco Viejo. Try Coca Cola Cafe for authentic inexpensive Panamanian experience, approx. 2-3 block walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Mary F, and thank you for your feedback. We're very glad you thought the rooms were comfortable, and the staff friendly. I apologize that you had trouble with the televisions. Cable has only just in the last month arrived in the old city, and we are diligently working to switch over to that. Meanwhile, we do have satellite television, which does have its issues I'm afraid, but please know that we are committed to switching to cable which should stabilize reception. The doors to the balconies do lock but sometimes, as with all things in these older buildings, there is a trick to it. I know our staff is always more than happy to lend a hand with such things! We're very sorry about your inconveniences, and hope that the good out-weighed the bad. We hope you return one day to show you the changes we've implemented. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were here for 5 nights, the room, suite actually, was very comfortable and very clean.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the meal was well prepared. The location is very convenient in Casco Viejo.
We enjoyed the architecture of the district and appreciated the renovation and restoration efforts.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Claus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hello! Thank you so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and in our beautiful corner of Panama. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were very happy with our two nights at Las Clemintinas. The current six rooms are actually spacious, comfortable apartments with living room , dining area, kitchen, bedroom and bath. I'm told that the expansion will have a variety of arrangements. Hotel staff were friendly and happy to help. We were told that they have a great restaurant, but due to Monday night closure and other plans on a Tuesday night, we only enjoyed their breakfast. The choices were varied and delicious. I liked the early 20th century aesthetics but with modern plumbing. They have a sweet ground floor garden and a great view on the balcony. If you can't walk steps, wait for the completion of the remodel; there will be an elevator.

Room Tip: I'm told that the remodel will have a swimming pool too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Greetings and thank you for writing! We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us. And yes, we are in the process of expanding our little hotel, and there are plans to include a pool! I think the staff is as excited by the prospect as our guests have been! We hope you return to see everything completed. Regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was thinking of 5 stars for this Casco Viejo oasis, but that would mean "exceeded expectations". Sin embargo, my wife and I truly enjoyed our 4 nights here. The staff, Marvin, Miguel and Carolina are focused, intelligent and totally connected to the best tour guides. I took a star off only because we were expecting a colonial era building deeper into the renovated section.

All 6 rooms are huge with large sitting room, and a kitchen, and good sized bedroom and bathroom. Lovely wooded floors, good linen, and almost adequate wifi. The other reason to take off a star is the price inferred at least somewhere to sit in a lobby, and an elevator. We had no problem with walking up 60 concrete stairs - we're fit old folks. And the cafe and bar is a fine place to hang out and meet your co-tourers.

The roof top patio is cool. The staff superb. The help in arranging a last minute Embera village trip was the beautifully managed. I grew to love the quirky and safe location across from the police station and a yet to be renovated section of the old city.

I say this: If you need a large living space and want extremely high level service STAY HERE. Casco Viejo is an intriguing work in progress and the owners of Clementinas, and Canal House and the newly renovated American Trade Hotel have a social conscience. That I liked too.

Hey, maybe I should give 5 stars!
?!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a window view toward the new city, and a balcony over the square. Also a view from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello Bob and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I know I speak on behalf of everyone here, that you and your wife were a joy to have with us. We're incredibly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and came to love this little corner of Casco as much as we do! Hopefully, you will both make your way back to us some day. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Las Clementinas is a wonderfully cozy 6 room hotel in the Casco Viejo section of Panama City (PC) and affords a nice base from which to explore this old section of PC. The ground floor has a small reception foyer and the hotel's restaurant where you can have a great breakfast to start your day. Or lunch. Or dinner. Or drinks. Locals as well as tourists frequent the resto which attests to its offerings and appeal.

There are 2 rooms per floor, starting one floor above the ground level. There is no elevator and the ceilings are tall so it can be a bit of a climb if you're in the upper rooms. We were in room 6 (on the 3rd floor) and it was bright and airy (and we did not mind the climb). We had a balcony that overlooked the small square in front of the hotel (a local police unit also fronts the square but they were quite quiet). The room had a large, bright sitting area and a large bedroom; the bath was off the bedroom. There was a small efficiency kitchen off the sitting room with a fridge and a sink (we stored extra water in the fridge). And, there is a nice roof-top area with tables and a killer view of the district and the downtown Panama City skyline - a nice spot to watch the sun go down.

The staff (Marvin & Miguel) were extremely helpful and we met the general manager (Carolina IIRC) who asked about our stay. We asked to leave a bag with them while we ventured off to Bocas del Toro and they readily accommodated us.

The Casco Viejo area is a mix of commercial/retail, residential, religious, and governmental properties. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants to try during your visit (in addition to Las Clementinas). Renovations and gentrification are proceeding at full pace and one wonders if some of the local attractiveness of the section will be lost to US$1M+ properties.

I would definitely stay at Las Clementinas again and heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Skip, Thank you so much for writing about your experiences with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words about Marvin and Miguel to them. They are definitely amazing, and we're always thrilled to hear them get all the kudos I definitely believe they deserve. Thank you again and hope you enjoyed your time in Bocas as well! Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful service. A special thanks to Miguel who booked a fantastic table at Miraflores restaurant for us and arranged for a friendly , reliable taxi driver to take care of us. The most amazing thing is that this was done by email 2 weeks after our stay in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Your review made me smile. It speaks to just what is so great about our staff here. Even when you leave, you're still part of the extended family. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#12 of 115 in Panama City
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#16 of 115 in Panama City
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 115 in Panama City
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#65 of 115 in Panama City
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#49 of 115 in Panama City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing