We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Clementinas Hotel
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Las Clementinas is a cute boutique hotel in the heart of the old town. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the quarter. Don't miss the view from the rooftop! Friendly staff that make you feel right at home. They are competent and ready to help you with any questions you may have. The food in the restaurant is delicious, there is a nice ambiance. Dining in the secret garden is very romantic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gabriela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello and thank you for your kind review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I completely agree that the garden is one of the most romantic spots in the city for dinner... or any meal of the day. We hope you return! Safe travels, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our three night stay here was really great. The "room" was more like a one-bed apartment with homely comfortable furniture. Sadly our itinerary only allowed us to have one of their lovely breakfasts, but we also enjoyed a good meal in their lovely garden restaurant. The location was good for exploring the old city and for passing our leisure time in the many coffee shops and good restaurants. We would certainly return if we are in this part of the world again - provided our knees are still OK, because it's a steep climb to the rooms! (no lift).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We so appreciate your time in writing about your stay with us. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your experience in both the hotel and restaurant. As you may have heard, we are in the process of expansion, and perhaps should you return and elevator will be there to give all knees a rest! Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our first visit to Panama City and we chose "Las Clementinas" because of its proximity to "Casco Viejo", the historic quarters and the original Panama City.

"Casco Viejo" is the heart of Panama and should not be missed! The history of this place is fascinating and the ongoing restoration work is amazing! In a few short years it will be "the" place to be but even now, it is bustling with trendy gourmet restaurants and beautifully restored buildings and hotels, such as "Las Clementinas"!

"Las Clementinas" is not a hotel in its traditional sense as it is really a lovingly restored apartment building dating back to the 1930's! The rooms are all small apartments with air conditioning, original hardwood flooring, French doors, high ceilings, beautiful wrought iron balconies and a large roof top terrace with a phenomenal view of New Panama and the ocean! Very French and very charming! (Only drawback: The building has NO elevator!)
The housekeeping is impeccable, rooms are kept very clean and the beds are heavenly...!
The staff are very friendly and professional in general but do not expect everyone to be fluent in English! As a matter of fact, we found that there are a lot of Panamanians that do NOT speak English or not very well, so if you speak a bit of Spanish, you will be much better off.

The hotel also features a lovely, casual bistro-style restaurant and it would be worth wile eating dinner there at least once as the food is very fresh, tasty and lovingly presented! If you like classical music and restaurant manager Carlos Arenas is on duty, please don't hesitate to ask him to play some Chopin piano pieces! It will blow you away and give you goose bumps!!!
Breakfast is a very slow process and is NOT recommended if you are in a hurry...

The hotel is in a great location on the edge of "Casco Viejo", but because of the area's rather small size, everything is still in walking distance from the hotel!
What might be a bit unsettling for some people is the fact that the hotel borders on to a rather poor area of town and the view from your room might not be so pretty... However, the police headquarters are also located right beside the hotel and during the entire week we were there, it was very peaceful and walking out of the hotel, we alway just headed right into "Casco Viejo" anyway and not the other way...

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would absolutely stay at "Las Clementins" again!
Thank you to Miguel, Arturo/Mitchell and Carlos Arenas for making our stay a memorable one!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and feature balconies but a higher floor might be more desirable. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel-Troopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

What a wonderful and comprehensive review! Our entire staff was just thrilled to read this, especially Carlos whom, as you write, is quite gifted on the piano. He absolutely beamed when I read him your comments. On behalf of all of us here, thank you! Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. This lovely building in Casco Vierjo is so authentic and has so much soul. Our room was lovely with 2 balconies, kitchen, sitting room and bedroom. Breakfast was excellent and staff so helpful and friendly. We arrived late at night and were a little concerned at the dilapidated buildings we saw from our balcony the next morning but the whole area is going through huge renovations and it will be stunning when it is finished. The area is very safe and has some good restaurants. Carolina runs a very good hotel and all her staff are responsive and friendly. Cannot recommend it high enough. Don't be tempted by the bright flashy plastic hotels in the new city. This is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for the kind words. I am always so happy to hear that our guests have found our staff friendly and accommodating; it is the main thing we strive for here. It is certainly guests like yourself, who are looking for a more authentic experience than can be had in the new city, who make working in this neighborhood, and hotel, such a joy. Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

With only one night to stay in Panama city, this is a really good option. you can walk around casco viejo and get a feel of the city thanks to the impressive panoramic terrace. Very friendly staff andgreat feeling throughout.


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello and thank you for writing about your experiences at our hotel. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly. It is the main thing we strive for here. Wishing you well, Carolina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in early March with our 12 and 14 year olds. Would never stay anywhere but Casco Viejo in Panama City if we came back. The downtown is just a sea of high rise buildings. The old area (A Unesco World Heritage Site) is nothing but charm and fun, lively street scenes. There are still many buildings waiting to be restored but there are MANY excellent restaurants and fun bar scenes even for parents like us! Las Clementinas is beautifully restored, Carolina, the Manager, speaks perfect English and has good advice, and our suite-like room with kitchen was spacious enough for the 4 of us. The police station below our window provided the kids with much entertainment with the additional benefit of making us feel VERY safe!

Room Tip: Some street noise one night but not too bad. A few drunken tourists coming home late I think. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NIcoleLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear NicoleLarry, Thank you so much for your review and for appreciating our beautiful building and neighborhood. It's very much a point of pride for all of us who work here, the amazing restoration work that the architects behind Las Clementinas' renovation realized. We're also delighted that the police station provided entertainment for you and your children! We actually feel very much the same way. We hope you return, some day. Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Las Clementinas is as beautiful as it's name suggests. This historic building in Casco Viejo, Panama, has undergone a sympathetic and tasteful renovation which has successfully added some modern comforts without taking away it's fundamental heart and soul.
We received a warm and friendly welcome on our arrival along with some lovely home baked cookies and a letter that said, amongst other things, that they hoped we would fall in love with the country, the hotel, it's staff and the neighbourhood. As you can tell from this review, we did.
The atmosphere is relaxing and casual but the hotel runs very smoothly and efficiently. We stayed in a lovely room overlooking the roof tops on the top floor for four nights and by the time we left, we felt completely at home and amongst friends. Every request was met with a positive response and reception were most helpful in arranging our trips out and various transport needs. The area is vibrant and charming with a real sense of community and some of the most beautiful buildings and views anywhere.
Thanks in particular to Marvin, Jonathan and Carolina, we wished we could have stayed longer.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Hannah211,

What a beautiful review of our little hotel! Everything you have written encapsulates the very things we hope each guest takes away with them when they leave: a deep sense of community, hospitality, and a feeling of being among friends. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and perhaps you will come back to us again some day. We will be waiting with home-baked cookies!

Kind regards, Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 115 in Panama City
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#61 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 115 in Panama City
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#66 of 115 in Panama City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Clementinas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Clementinas Hotel

Address: Calle 11 & Avenida B | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Clementinas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, boutique hotel located in Panama City's old quarter, Casco Viejo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Clementinas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama City
Las Clementinas Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing