We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels fresh and from Peru”

Restaurante Machu Picchu
Ranked #39 of 989 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Torio, Panama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feels fresh and from Peru”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Started with the calamari. Just the right spice. Restaurant reasonably busy and friendly service.

A great house white....

Food well above average. Soft jazz playing...

The staff were watching the television.. Bad move from the management. But the service didn't suffer too much.

Smiling staff is always a good sign.... So all in all.. Not bad.. good honest quality food.... A la plancha. Simple and fresh...

Sea bass with a seafood sauce was not bad.....

Overall a good show...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    123
    58
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“April Dinner 2014”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with some friends. Ordered grilled octopus with white rice, veggies and house salad. Yummy and tasty. Service and food were awesome; a little expensive nevertheless for portions served.

Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
273 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“not very good”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

our waiter was also parking cars - need I say more? He was inattentive and hard to get his attention. food wasn't good either.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not as happy as I used to be !”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Machu Picchu was at the top of our list when dining in Panama City. Directly across from the Milan hotel as well, located in close proximity to Las Vegas Suites and the Parador...the Veneto, the restaurant's location is still a plus for us. On the last several visits there I have had nothing but a poor review on the food. Steak fillet is way below par...thin and over cooked. Mariscos with a picante sauce tasted like frozen seafood I never buy in PriceSmart for it's too frozen old taste, and it was in a waaaay too thick sauce that was far from spicy....it wasn't. Had we not been there with a guest I would have sent it back. The assorted seafood appetizer platter for two is still killer but went from $12 to $18, In fact all the prices now strike me as high for the general quality,
I'd say this restaurant has headed south. Too bad. I doubt we'll be back any time soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonosi, Panama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seafood and sauces extraordinaire”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This wonderful little restaurant sits at the far end of a stretch of other options. Random foot traffic is rare- you have to know what reward awaits you just after the bend in the road. And despite the location and the cheap-looking 1970s sign, cars are parked two rows deep, patroms crowded onto the patio and inside dining room. This place is clearly well loved.

We started off with a round of drinks $6 melted popsicle and pisco clasicos. Great warm bread basket. Delicious ceviches and rich sauces. We tried the machu picchu white cream sauce and octopus-topped sea bass and also the yellow buttery garlic sauce with lobster chunks, both plates $18. And then the mashed potatoes with the Incan shrimp dish were so good..
Perfect even. Mmmashed potatoes.

Very fast service. Attentative and busy waiters successfully managing several tables. Great dining! Will return

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Machu Picchu also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing