We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Mamoni River Adventure”
Review of Adventures Panama

Adventures Panama
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Mamoni White Water River Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventures Panama or Aventuras Panama is the country adventure outfitter pioneer, in business since 1994. It offers one day adventures or several day multisport itineraries that involve rafting, snorkeling, kayaking, biking, hiking, camping and more in remote areas such as Chagres National Park, Chiriqui Highlands, San Blas Archipelago, and others. Located in Panama City. It is a full service outfitter with a Tour Operator license.Customer satisfaction, nature conservation, and community involvement are its main values.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was an amazing experience, that I highly recomend, the river has 3 big falls ( jumps) that test each of us skills, the commanding guide gave us many time to rest during the time that we were pushed forward by the stream. The meal, They brought sandwiches, drinks and a lot of fruits such as mango (delicious!) banana and orange;. The trip by itself is composed in two parts: before meal and after meal. Before meal river was a good way for beginners as us to learn how to control the boat, there were like 6 commands that were yell by the guide. After meal river test our learned skills, one of the mates even went out and I rescue him by a technique that the guide teach us, big fun.

Take the trip!

Thank JSam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you very much for your Excellent Review on our Mamoni River Rafting.

Rainy season is just setting back, and rivers are reaching optimum water level. This is going to be a fun 2014 Rafting Season !

I hope you have the chance to try our other outdoor activities by the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mamoni river"
in 21 reviews
"chagres challenge"
in 30 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 16 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 14 reviews
"rio grande"
in 11 reviews
"class rapids"
in 3 reviews
"hour hike"
in 4 reviews
"off road"
in 3 reviews
"an adventure"
in 10 reviews
"fresh fish"
in 6 reviews
"gatun dam"
in 3 reviews
"embera village"
in 11 reviews
"san lorenzo fort"
in 4 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 4 reviews
"plantains"
in 3 reviews
"unique experience"
in 3 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This day-trip was a terrific experience. Our guide, Edgar, was courteous, experienced, informed and helpful.

The river was low, as is apparently normal for February, so my wife and I got our ducky stuck several times, and that was a tad irritating, but that's more a testament of our novice skills than anything else. Still, there was plenty of rapids and we enjoyed an experience we'll never forget.

Thank Michiganmarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you very much for your Excellent Review in our Mamoni White Water Rafting trip in duckies.

Duckies are inflatable kayaks. It is more challenging than paddling raft because you guide them. Our guides will provide basic instruction, guide, and escort you downstream. But the paddler gets the full glory or blame on passing the rapids.

Duckies are optional for experienced paddlers on the rainy season. But in the dry season they are the only option due to low water conditions. We use them with inexperience rafters but participant should be in good shape, weight below 180 lbs, and be ready to behave aggressively in paddling and in a self rescue situation.

Depending on your skill, it definitely could result at the beginning tad irritating getting stuck on rocks but as you quickly get a grasp on it you will enjoyed it and be rewarded by becoming a paddler.

When paddling small rafts and duckies less experienced participants will be on the rafts, regardless of participants bonds, i.e. we might split a party procuring overall safety.

I hope you can join us in a Mamoni River Rafing during the rainy season to see a total different river

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice guys picked six of us up at the airport, had food (empenadas?) ready for us. We stopped and got some fruit and headed on a long drive to get to our canoes and then up river to the Indian village. The native Indians made us a spectacular lunch and told us about their lifestyle. They also showed us some ceremonial dances and got the group involved with the dance. A very interesting experience.

3  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much for your Excellent Review about our Embera Village Trip in Chagres National Park

Yes, we tailor made trips for groups. I hope we can be of service to you in a nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My dad & I were in Panama City on a father-daughter trip and were looking for a day-tour we could take, something fun and adventurous. Since it was outside of tourist season, we had trouble finding anyone operating any tours and we were feeling disappointed in losing the chance to get out and see Panama from a different perspective.

That is, until we called Aventuras Panama Day Trips. Javier, the owner, explained to us they weren't running any tours outside of season at the time but, unlike other tour operators who simply turned us down, Javier offered to have us join him with his daughter for a kayaking lesson he had planned for her in Boqueron River in Chagres National Park.

We were excited and grateful they were willing to have us join them on their personal day. The next day, our driver picked us promptly with a smile and helped us load the car with all the equipment we'd need for the day.

The ride out there was beautiful and the Boqueron River peaceful. Some parts had some rapids, which lent to the fun. Javier was very helpful in teaching us tricks and maneuvers to get through them successfully.

As the four of us floated down the river that day, I thought how nice it was to have a father-daughter day, all of us together. Both Javier and Daniela were very welcoming and fun to be around; we felt like part of the family. They'd brought snacks & drinks for us as well, which was a nice touch.

For not being in season and a lot of operations down during this time, this was a special treat! I hear their regular tours are awesome, too!

2  Thank Adventurer531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you very much about your Excellent Review on Boqueron Float

My daughter and I both had a great time with you and your Dad also. I hope we can repeat the experience again soon.

Boqueron River, in Chagres National Park, is a Class II river special to learn to kayak or enjoy a great time with the family. It is shallow, surrounded with gallery forest. Very safe because there is a road that goes along it. It is my favorite river to teach white water kayaking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were the only two on the Chagres River Kayaking Daytrip with Edgar, our guide, so it turned out to be a private tour. Edgar was a great guide, very enthusiastic and you can tell that he loves his job. We enjoyed the peaceful kayaking down the Chagres river very much, and saw (and heard) a family of Howler Monkeys immediately after we set into the water - amazing. We also saw several cranes, a lizard, birds of prey and a kingfisher after that. Edgar had regaled us with stories about toucans, snakes, alligators, sloths, and even sharks, so we had high expectations - alas, we didn't see any of these.

After a few hours of paddling, and a detour into an inlet that made us feel like we were one with the rainforest, we reached the mouth of the river and the San Lorenzo Fort, where we had lunch. The Fort is picturesque and you can finish exploring it in about 20-30 minutes. There was no one there aside from us in the first few minutes, so we felt like we had it all to ourselves.

Lunch was sandwiches, fruit, and snacks, and was good. We were amused by all the insects that came to feed on our lunch as well. Do have the pineapple, it is delicious!

Note that breakfast is not provided in this tour, so you'll probably want to eat before you get in the car. There is a store along the way where we requested a stop, since we hadn't had anything to eat in the morning, but it doesn't have coffee (sadly).

Another thing to note is that when I asked Edgar what his favorite kayaking trip was, he said it was the Portobello trip, which includes visiting other Spanish forts and snorkeling near a beach. While we still would have picked the Chagres river trip since we wanted to see San Lorenzo and the Gatun Locks, this information may be helpful if you are trying to decide between trips!

Overall, a very good trip and a great way to spend the day.

3  Thank NeoKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you very much for your Very Good Review on our Chagres Expedition Kayaking adventure.

Yes, it is important to read well trip description. A very few include breakfast.

I also enjoy more our Portobelo Sea Kayaking trip but it is quite different than paddling at lower Chagres. They both can provide different experiences depending on wildlife and coral reef species spotted, the weather, an so on.

I hope we can take you to our others destinations in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventures Panama also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Adventures Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing