We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chagres Challenge- Unforgettable experience!”
Review of Adventures Panama

Adventures Panama
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Mamoni White Water River Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventures Panama or Aventuras Panama is the country adventure outfitter pioneer, in business since 1994. It offers one day adventures or several day multisport itineraries that involve rafting, snorkeling, kayaking, biking, hiking, camping and more in remote areas such as Chagres National Park, Chiriqui Highlands, San Blas Archipelago, and others. Located in Panama City. It is a full service outfitter with a Tour Operator license.Customer satisfaction, nature conservation, and community involvement are its main values.
Bochete
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chagres Challenge- Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful sights, and fun challenge. This tour was very fun! A 4x4 hour trip to the rainforest followed by a delicious breakfast. A very very challenging trek, with beautiful sights on your way to rafting. While rafting you get to enjoy lunch and go on rapids and see the beautiful rain forest and the river. After that you get to see an Indian tribe and ride in their handmade canoes! The people are very nice and helpful and the whole thing is unforgettable. (The hike is by far the most challenging thing I've done, but very fun and beautiful too )

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alexisarg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Public Relations Manager at Adventures Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your Excellent Review on our Chagres Challenge insignia trip

As you said on this trip you enjoyed the nature, and even meet the locals. Starting from the 4x4 travel and then hiking is a really fun adventure, followed by rafting. Those handmade canoes are called piraguas.

It please us very much having people enjoying this one day expedition within remote pristine forest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    28
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure of a Lifetime”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First, I never write recommendation if at all, ever, but I feel compelled to do so in this case. The folks at Adventure Panama took care of my family, as if we were their family. They are caring, thoughtful, and genuine making sure we push the limits of our desire while keeping us safe and always in control.

Javier (owner and started the company over 25 years ago) helped plan our trip with little notice (I advise you get a hold of him prior to your arrival to get the most from him and his company). He was personable and gave great advise to ensure we had the appropriate experience given the abilities of the group (my family is pretty adventurous).

We spend the morning traveling to Darien National Park. We continued into the banks of the Chagris River where we met local tribesmen from the Embera Tribe who then took us deeper into the Jungle to their native village for an experience which few folks will get to see first hand, truly amazing.

From there we traveled through Darien National Park to the Chagris River for a kayaking and rafting excursion which was both exciting and relaxing. Our guides were well versed and expert paddlers and which allowed us to relax and enjoy the water and jungle.

The expertise of our guides came front and center when we overshot our exit point (the river level changes daily and the landscape with it) and found ourselves running out of light. Our guides kept us calm, and sent a GPS signal to their company informing them of our predicament. The guides quickly went into survival mode and found shelter, food, and started a fire - all the while providing us an option of sending an S.O.S. signal which would have dropped a helicopter on us for evacuation. Javier contacted the local Indian Tribes who rescued us in pitch dark in a dug out canoe! Javier personally drove out and greeted us, fed us, and drove us to our hotel.

I know our experience was not typical, but when you chose to conduct adventure of any type of extreme outings, it is paramount to make sure you place your life into the hands of professionals. Javier, Ivan, and the rest of the Adventures Panama crew rose to the occasion and provided us with an unforgettable, and positive experience, even in the face of distress.

I highly recommend them to anyone heading to Panama, give Javier a call and let his staff of experts take care of you, your family, and.or group. You will not regret it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RakeshGPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Manager at Adventures Panama, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about your tailor made trip into Chagres National Park (Darien National Park borders Colombia, while Chagres National Park is just northeast of Panama City) in which you visited an Embera Village by the Chagres River, and rafted Boqueron River.

I am very proud of our Team and I am glad that you approved the way we handle an unplanned event.

I hope you and your lovely family trust us again with another outdoor adventure in a near future.

Best regards,

Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White water rafting on the Momani River in Panama”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

OMG! We have been rafting several times including the Pacuare River in Costa Rica and this trip was just as exciting. It was not as long but plenty long enough and definitely a "must do" for an adrenaline junkie. A couple of the rapids were too treacherous to raft so we had to walk around them on the banks. This company provided excellent staff (highly knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic). Dave & Rikki from Sunrise, FL. (June 20, 2014 raft trip)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Public Relations Manager at Adventures Panama, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your Excellent Review on our Mamoni River Rafting.

Our guides are well prepared for all conditions including the No Go decisions, there is a path where decide not to raft due the risk. Our guides will provide basic instruction, guide, and escort you downstream. But the paddler gets the full glory or blame on passing the rapids.

Rainy season is just setting back, and rivers are reaching optimum water level. This is going to be a fun 2014 Rafting Season !

I hope you have the chance to try our other outdoor activities by the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Excelent Mamoni River Adventure”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was an amazing experience, that I highly recomend, the river has 3 big falls ( jumps) that test each of us skills, the commanding guide gave us many time to rest during the time that we were pushed forward by the stream. The meal, They brought sandwiches, drinks and a lot of fruits such as mango (delicious!) banana and orange;. The trip by itself is composed in two parts: before meal and after meal. Before meal river was a good way for beginners as us to learn how to control the boat, there were like 6 commands that were yell by the guide. After meal river test our learned skills, one of the mates even went out and I rescue him by a technique that the guide teach us, big fun.

Take the trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you very much for your Excellent Review on our Mamoni River Rafting.

Rainy season is just setting back, and rivers are reaching optimum water level. This is going to be a fun 2014 Rafting Season !

I hope you have the chance to try our other outdoor activities by the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whitewater rafting”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This day-trip was a terrific experience. Our guide, Edgar, was courteous, experienced, informed and helpful.

The river was low, as is apparently normal for February, so my wife and I got our ducky stuck several times, and that was a tad irritating, but that's more a testament of our novice skills than anything else. Still, there was plenty of rapids and we enjoyed an experience we'll never forget.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michiganmarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventuras_Panama, Owner at Adventures Panama, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your Excellent Review in our Mamoni White Water Rafting trip in duckies.

Duckies are inflatable kayaks. It is more challenging than paddling raft because you guide them. Our guides will provide basic instruction, guide, and escort you downstream. But the paddler gets the full glory or blame on passing the rapids.

Duckies are optional for experienced paddlers on the rainy season. But in the dry season they are the only option due to low water conditions. We use them with inexperience rafters but participant should be in good shape, weight below 180 lbs, and be ready to behave aggressively in paddling and in a self rescue situation.

Depending on your skill, it definitely could result at the beginning tad irritating getting stuck on rocks but as you quickly get a grasp on it you will enjoyed it and be rewarded by becoming a paddler.

When paddling small rafts and duckies less experienced participants will be on the rafts, regardless of participants bonds, i.e. we might split a party procuring overall safety.

I hope you can join us in a Mamoni River Rafing during the rainy season to see a total different river
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventures Panama also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Adventures Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing