We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant from a bye gone era”

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Ranked #27 of 1,018 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant from a bye gone era”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Have now eaten at Las Clementinas three times recently and each time have been amazed at the superb food and ambience. Quality of food and service standard excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
How wonderful to hear that you've returned many times. We so appreciate the kind words, and are so grateful for the continued support of clients like yourself. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    140
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal with classic ambiance to match”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Las Clementinas is the best restaurant I have found in Panama City and it surely deserves its top ranking. Tucked away in a hard-to-find corner of the old city, it has the ambiance of a classically old hotel restaurant and bar – which of course it is. You could almost expect to see Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman at the next table.

This is a small establishment with about 15 tables and a bar. The bartender makes superb drinks. Try the Seco Sour, made with egg whites. The service was outstanding as was the food. I recommend as an appetizer trying the plantains and brie – heavenly! My party tried the seafood and steaks, all was magnificent.

Las Clementinas offers fine dining in an unpretentious atmosphere, with superb service. I can’t wait to return and explore the menu further.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our restaurant! We are delighted you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. I know all of us work hard to maintain the integrity of this beautiful old house and its history, so we're always thrilled when our guests respond to that. We do hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old colonial vibe in the casco viejo”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Las Clementinas, a small boutique hotel and restaurant, has one of the most charming dining-rooms in the casco viejo. Slowly rotating ceiling fans, potted palms, high arched windows, an old tiled floor and wicker and bentwood seating give it an old colonial feel. There is also a very pretty outdoor patio. On Saturdays and Sundays, there is live jazz (piano, double bass, guitar the last time I was there) adding to the laid back vibe.
We had the set brunch menu at $29 which includes three courses and either 2 mimosas or a Bloody Mary cocktail. Look forward to a return visit for a Sunday brunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for appreciating our lovely dining room! The owners, architects, and designers were all incredibly sensitive to the original structure and the history of both the space and the surrounding neighborhood when they went to remodel this beautiful old home. We are very grateful that our wonderful guests enjoy the space! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible little place!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I was there on a Sunday for brunch. It's definitely one of my favorite places in Panama. Ambiance was unique, the food amazing and the service just great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkhlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Brunch is definitely one of our most fun days here, and we are so happy you enjoyed it! We hope next time you can come for our Saturday brunch which has live music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Food was good, atmosphere better! We went for lunch on a Saturday. Live bass and piano was a treat. The restaurant has beautiful tile floor, comfortable seating, and good service. Will go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself at our restaurant on Saturday, and hope that you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing