We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, although a bit pricey”
Review of Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, although a bit pricey”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I went to Las Clementinas for a business lunch, so although I didn't actually pay the bill, I made a quick calculation and think it was quite pricey. Still, the food was very good and creative, a fusion between Panamanian/tropical flavors and fine cuisine. I really enjoyed the usual Panamanian ingredients used in an European way; for example, sweet plantain with brie cheese, or cassava croquettes. Those were great!

As usual, with such creative cuisine, you probably need a translator to understand what the menu items are, and we did have an issue with our server regarding this: we asked him what "conchuela" was, which seemed to be a mollusk to us, and he told us it was something like a crab leg. It turned out to be a mollusk, as we expected.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Chiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed the food. We find out prices to be incredibly competitive with pricing in general in the Casco and Panama City as a whole, for food of this quality. And you are correct, a "conchuela" is a scallop. I shall beat the server who didn't know that :) Warm regards, Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    140
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely Ambience!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a great time with two colleagues at dinner in Las Clementinas. The location is a beautifully restored hotel and is worth a look itself, great ambience. I had the Sea Bass with cooked and raw veggies on the side and it was perfectly turned out! One colleague had the tacos and he loved them. The manager, Carolina, came by twice to check on us. But, the wait staff did a totally fine job.bottom line: excellent food, lovely atmosphere, very attentive service, reasonable prices. A great evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyage2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello and thank you so much for writing about your dinner with us. We're all really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food, ambiance and service. We sincerely hope you find your way back to us for another visit! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our small group stopped in for lunch, were seated and taken care of right away. Located at the edge of what we were told is the safer zone, this cafe is charming, like it could be a set from the movie Casablanca. We ordered the pre fix meal and were not disappointed in the least. The chef is creative, each course was delicious, and perfect. Las Clemetinas is well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and ambiance, and hope you make your way again to us some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We ate here one night during our stay and enjoyed it. The restaurant was quiet and didnt have many people in it. I recommend the passion fruit ceviche and the short ribs starter. both had amazing flavours. I enjoyed the seafood risotto. price was reasonable but a little more expensive than the other very good restaurant we ate at the night before. Would go back for that ceviche! No outdoor seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela_SAKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello and thank you for writing! So glad you enjoyed our signature ceviche! We do have outdoor seating in out lovely garden. We're disappointed that you were not able to see it. Hopefully another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a great place for a meal”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went once for brunch and once for lunch. Love the feel and ambience. It's as if you were going back into time, yet without feeling dated. The food is well made and carefully selected. A truly memorable experience. Now I wish I could have dinner there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review, amanwarre! We're really happy you enjoyed your time with us, and really do hope you can make it back for dinner some day! Cheers, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing