We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Dreams
Ranked #16 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Mediterranean Dreams for 2 nights and found the small hotel an excellent value. It has very basic yet clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. Save your money for a Panama City tour with Ignacio...tour guide/taxi driver extraordinaire. Mention him at the front desk. Maura and Hector were more than accommodating with anything we needed...from an extra towel to recommendations for restaurants. Mauro greeted us upon arrival with a big smile. The hotel is located in a safe area within walking distance to a variety of good restaurants and shopping. We do agree with one reviewer that the gardens and the room are in need of a little TLC. The new owner should take a little more pride in his new establishment. Mauro and Hector made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at Mediterranean Dreams for 3 nights. it looks as though the guys here have just taken over from a couple with a very good reputation and maybe had some initial teething trouble. however,we found them all to be incredibly friendly and helpful and with very good English. The breakfast changed daily and was good with plenty of water (very necessary) tea and coffee.The fridge at reception has been well stocked with beer and water and the aircon (again very necessary) has worked a treat. we can only speak from our own experience but we would be more than happy to stay here again and the price is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Tried MD due to the excellent past reviews. The initial contact via email was timely and professional. Confirmed room with 2 beds but was given room with 1 upon arrival. Reason being after I had made my reservation they had a group of 4, and needed the room for them. Was disappointed but did not fuss. I had read drinks could be purchased at a nominal fee, but only drinks were Henekein beer. Was told the owner would replenish in the wee hours of the morning when he came by. Location is just off a congested, bustling area and on the main bus line. Took almost 1 hour on bus to Allbrook mall which is probably about 5 miles away. Per previous reviews, I knew the breakfast would be sufficient and tasty. Not so! Consisted of a 1 egg cheese omelet (tasty), 4 tiny diced chunks of fresh pineapple, 1 slice of toast cut into 2 (no butter or jam), 1 wafer and coffee. I requested a clean cup since the first one was totally stained. I observed the refrigerator was stocked with water and soda that morning. The backyard though pleasant, appears not to be upkept as previously. MD was sold and no longer owned by Alejandro and Irene who had the highest ratings. So the current owners are hanging off the coat tails of the previous quality and excellence of the past owners. The bed was okay but don't expect real pillows! I got two 1/2 size ones(more like cushions). Toiletries consisted two towels ( no fabric softener used), soap bar, shampoo, conditioner. As in a previous review, there were no towel bars or racks in the bathroom. Also no washcloths were given. There was an unruly bunch of guests during my 1 night stay namely a group of young men with alternative and then some lifestyles! ( if you know what I mean). I was thinking....did they give my reserved room to these raucous persons just to make some more money? I knew it was crazy when my son asked "What is a drag queen?"
MD can return to its former glory days since the persons I met: Hector and Mauro were quite pleasant, professional and efficient. However the new owner(s) must put more efforts into customer service and maintaining standards. There was another guest I spoke with while there, who was also disappointed with the place.......in his words.....Mediterranean nightmare.

Room Tip: Since it is off the main streets, I did not hear any street noises. Perhaps at the back of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccm1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Mediterranean Dreams is a cute little bed and breakfast, with friendly/helpful staff. They were accommodating with our 5am arrival time. They directed us to restaurants and recommended places to visit. The staff called taxis for us and arranged fares as well. The breakfast that was provided was pretty good and made when we were ready to eat. It was served in the beautiful backyard, which was very enjoyable. The location was a quite little residential area that was accessible to many things. On the down side, the A/C in our room was very loud, but did keep the room cool and there were no towel racks in the bathroom. Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karalee_and_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband, myself, and our pastor stayed at Mediterranean Dreams for 3 nights this past October (2012). We tried to be as frugal as possible while in Panama so I searched and searched for hotels, hostels, and b&bs in Panama before booking anything. I am SO THANKFUL I came across Mediterranean Dreams in my search! I had our contact in Panama check out the location before we booked and he gave a huge thumbs up for location and for the amazing couple that runs the place. Alejandro and Irene are terrific hosts! Alejandro speaks terrific English and knows the area very well if you are looking for suggestions or 'insider tips.' It is a 7 room b&b. The rooms are pretty basic but exactly as advertised. We had a small tv, a window unit a/c, alarm clock, chair, desk, lamp with nightstand, and fan in our room. The bathroom is somewhat small but the shower was warm! If you've never traveled to this part of the world don't be afraid of the showers. They have electric shower heads. They basically are external tankless water heaters that sit right on top of the shower head so the water is heated just before coming out of the shower head. It looks a little questionable if you've never seen it before, but it actually did a great job at keeping the water hot throughout the shower!
Alejandro does a great job for breakfast each morning. It's different everyday, but don't expect buffet-style or 5-star restaurant. With that said though, we enjoyed it every morning and were full when we were finished! He also serves fresh fruit and great coffee every morning as well. He even gave us an extra banana one morning so we could take it with us on our excursion to see the little monkeys that live in the trees near Ancon Hill. Alejandro also always met us when we got back every night with a glass of water and a pitcher for our room.

So, in short, overall Mediterranean Dreams is an EXCELLENT choice if you're looking to stay in Panama on a budget. Alejandro and Irene are excellent hosts and will treat you just like family while you stay there! I'd highly recommend it and we look forward to staying there again on our future trips to Panama!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csthomas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Placed on a quiet street in the city this hotel is easy to find for a newcomer to Panama, especially if one stay for more than one night. The owner is extremely helpful in every respect. The only inconvenience we found was not properly working A/C in one of the rooms (we spent several nights in two different rooms). The hotel provides very nice garden in its backyard, which is good for birding and wildlife photography, in case you are interested.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva_HristovaNikolova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed 3 nights. Owners Alejandro & wife are super nice and helpful. Room is good size, bed was ok, a/c is included, nice clean washroom. Modest breakfast is included and served in the beautiful garden out back. Although the location is a bit far from the water, Casco viejo and Panama viejo taxis are cheap and plentiful. One plus of the location is that it's just across the street from a 24 hour supermarket and there are also many restos both cheap and mid range within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nacrobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
3 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#99 of 116 in Panama City
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 116 in Panama City
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Dreams
Pacific Dreams
#21 of 78 in Panama City
48 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#7 of 78 in Panama City
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Dreams

Address: El Dorado, Av 15B Norte, Casa N 037. | Calle detras del Rest Don Lee del Dorado, Panama City 0819, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: £18 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mediterranean Dreams 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Dreams is a Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Panama, have seven bedrooms, two with shared facilities and five suites with private bathroom each one is a fruit. Breakfast is included in the price and have dinner an additional service based on Mediterranean diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mediterranean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Dreams Hotel Panama City
Mediterranean Dreams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing