We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crunchy Chiq”
Review of Casco Antiguo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casco Antiguo
Ranked #18 of 86 Panama City B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crunchy Chiq”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hotel Casco Antuguo offers good deals and great breakfasts. The morning staff was really sweet. It was quite noisy with children running around all over the lobby. But it was clean and had some interesting art deco remnants. It closes in on a shady part of town so be careful just wandering, but the neighborhood people were extremely helpful. An interesting spot for a seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    20
    15
    6
See reviews for
10
36
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This place was very, very basic. It looked like it might have been a nice hotel at some point but that must have been a long time ago. The bed was fine and the room was clean enough. However, it was definitely dingy and run down looking, and we didn't have a shower curtain. The main problem though was the noise- we felt like we were sleeping in the middle of a raging party! I think we were between two clubs with battling noise the entire night until about 5 am and then the music started up again around 9 am! On the plus side, the wifi worked well and the breakfast was better than expected. There was actually a women there making eggs for each person. We stayed just one night for about $35 but then moved more into the middle of the neighborhood and found a cuter, much quieter room for less money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent a layover night at Hotel Casco Antiguo and were just looking for a place to sleep for a few hours before catching the bus back home to Boquete. It is not a hotel, it is hostel caliber. It is very basic, fairly clean but spartan and a bit run down. We had a private room with bathroom, the bed was worn but comfortable enough, the linens also worn but clean. There is no AC and the ceiling fan kept us cool enough but during the day, the room would have been unbearably hot. The wifi was weak. There is no insulation in the walls or doors and the night was very noisy with travelers talking and laughing most of the night. Overall it was worth the relatively inexpensive price for Casco Viejo (standard for hostel price) since we just needed a place to crash and weren't using it for anything else. It borders the sketchier part of Casco and caution should be exercised when walking around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg in Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is only 300 m from the cathedral and the best locations of the old part of Panama (heavily being restaured but still half in ruins when I arrived in April 2012). There is some rotten houses around the hotel, and on Sunday after midnight I looked for a beer and realized that the only open cantine was just round the corner - and the reason for quite load music in my room until late night... Bath room installations were clean but more than simple, the room was big but without chair. All rooms have ventilators. Breakfast was simple (2 eggs on toasts, 2 slides of pine apple, coffee). Found some good information at the book exchange shelf. All at all ok if you are looking for something economic in the old centre (33 $/n).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
281 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

First of all a big „THANK YOU“ to the hotel. We came by a night bus from David and arrived to Panama City really early, it was about 5:00 am and still very dark. We were 12 people and even thought I did not tell the hotel we´ll be arriving this early, they took care of us. Because our rooms were not ready (or still occupied) they gave us different rooms meanwhile so we can rest while they fix our rooms. I don´t think this is normal, usually you have to wait until check in time. They also invited us for the breakfast which is included in the price, but I only paid for one night and they offered this day breakfast as a courtesy as well. I thought that was just amazing!

The hotel itself needs some repairs, sometimes it was really difficult to open the rooms´ locks plus there are some crampy corners. But there is not much to choose from in Casco Viejo at this price and the rooms were clean and ok. The tiled reception hall has a lot of old times charm, the location is ok and there are great views from the roof terrace.

The only thing that was horrible was the breakfast service! The breakfast is „served“ in a very slow and terrifyingly inefficient way. Imagine six of you come at the same time, one of you gets coffee, other gets juice then they make two portions of eggs, then they disappear looking for more juice, then they prepare another „one“ cup of coffee and so on. So save a lot of time for the breakfast and don´t be picky about the order you get to eat or drink stuff.

Even thought I would give this hotel normally 3 stars, thanks to the way they took care of us when we came early morning and tired, I have to give them four.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different, check yours before saying "yes". If you are willing to add few e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel charges $22 for a tiny room with a tiny bed, with no bathroom and no airconditioning.
The ceiling fan is three inches away from the ceiling and does not move the air in the room. Go to the Exposicion area where you get your own bathroom and decent airconditioning for $25.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgetacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Could be better described as a pension or a backpackers. Rooms are very basic, although clean, many with shared bathrooms. We found management to be helpful and accommodating, and they set us up with a great taxi tour with driver Sara.
We had the 'penthouse' which at $66 per night was very good value. Huge room with 2 double beds, AC, bathroom, tv etc. The included breakfast also added value, as did the late check out of 2pm, also free wi-fi. Theres also a nice roof deck, with seating, overlooking the city and the ocean.
Overall very basic accommodation, a little rough around the edges, but great value and a nice location. A cheap place for a couple of nights to explore the Casco.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#84 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#37 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#54 of 117 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#57 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#66 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casco Antiguo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Antiguo

Property: Casco Antiguo
Address: Calle B & Calle 12, No 755, San Felipe, Panama City 10000, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel in Panama City ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casco Antiguo Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing