We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Priced reasonably, equipped with a swimming pool and nice back yard to relax in. Beer and water is priced right. The neighborhood is safe, and walking around, even late at night is just fine. We walked to and from Casco Viejo many times late at night and there are always lots of people out and about and it's actually a really nice walk. (About 30-45min walking, but you hardly notice). It's also close to downtown, shopping malls, casinos, nightclubs, restaurants, bars, and within walking distance of Panama Viejo. Only cold showers (you wouldn't use the hot water anyway in this city), the shower heads in the bathrooms could use replacing to give better flow, but it's more than sufficient. Security is good, with locking gates. The dorms have limited large lockers for storing bags, so if you see one, take it as there are many more beds than lockers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    77
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
41
134
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The only nice things about the hostel are the friendly staff and that you can sit outside at a pool in the evening. But this place is not clean (I would have never jump in the pool) and I didn't feel safe as you could not even lock the room door which I desperately wanted as I didn't feel comfortable at this hostel. I stayed in a lot hostels, also in Panama, but I just can not recommend it. The area was not well too. There are more nicer hostels in the old town for the same budget or even cheaper.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Is located in one of the beauty places in Panama, with great waves. The hostal is super good, nice vibe, clean, nice people , u definitely most go there if u are in Panama!!!! 100% recommended and amazing waves!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cool hostel, very relaxing with a friendly welcoming vibe. Very good communication before arriving, a taxi was organised to pick me up from the airport. I felt very safe in the area and would highly recommend it!
Also if you get a chance head to Morrillo Beach, they have another hostel down there that is located in a pretty special area, super nice and quiet beach with epic waves!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in a dorm for a number of nights before and after heading to the San Blas Islands. The staff are amazingly helpful, the breakfast and coffee is fantastic, the place is always very clean. The area that it is situated is very safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flen, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Good luck finding another spot that offers you a swimming pool and 1 dollar-beers.

The staff is very helpful with everything from transportation to day trips. Decent beds, some rooms tend to get a bit hot during the night.

Sturdy lockers, clean showers..

I highly recommend this place if you're staying a couple of days in Panama City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I really liked this hostel in Panama City. The staff is friendly and willing to help. I arrived in the very early morning and I could sleep on the couch until check in time, without paying. The hostel is situated in a safe area, close to ATM's, Burger Kind etc. and by bus it is easy to reach the nice old area Casco Viejo. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and they offer free coffee and pancakes for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.0 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 111 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#6 of 111 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Mostros Hostel
Los Mostros Hostel
#10 of 111 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Villa Vento Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Property: Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Address: Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City 0811, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Villa Vento Surf! A great place to meet other travellers. Our hostel is located in the beautiful and safe neighborhood of Marbella. We have a swimming pool in our garden, a great lounge where you can watch TV (new 50 plasma), listen to music, drink a beer. and just relax! Also we organize fun activities during the week. We offer the perfect balance between a fun and a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are separated from the social areas for those who want an early night. We want you to feel like a traveller here, and not a tourist. You can come at any time (24 hours reception) and if the rooms are not ready yet, you can relax in the social areas. Last but not least, we arrange trips to San Blas and sailing trips to Cartagena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Villa Vento Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Hotel Panama City
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing