We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near mall & airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel near mall & airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our 6wk trip to Panama. The hotel is located by the metromall and 10min away from the airport (when there is no traffic). Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. It looks very new. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very good - a variety to choose from. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violanteKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia H, Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hello violanteKingston,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, and best that you enjoy our comfortable rooms, breakfast buffet! Hope you enjoy your visit to Panama, and if you decide to come back again, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I will be glad to assist you.
Regards

Lucia.hildebrand@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    168
    57
    19
    10
See reviews for
119
93
29
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We only stayed one night here, but I would definitively stay more. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were super clean and nice. The location is super close to the airport and the walk to the mall is less than 5 minutes. They arranged for our airport transfer very easily. The morning breakfast was really yummy! Great place and crazy good deal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yayajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia H, Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Yayajones


Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, and best that you enjoy our friendly staff, comfortable rooms, breakfast buffet! And best being next door to around 300 stores, also the proximity to the airport is very convenient! Hope you enjoy your visit to Panama, and if you decide to come back again, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I will be glad to assist you.
Regards

Lucia.hildebrand@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here at the end of our trip, because it was convenient for the airport and had lots of free car parking. It is not a great location, but it is quiet, comfortable and very clean. There was still a new smell about the place and it looks new and shiny. The room was spacious and well appointed, plus it was great to have a full bath in the bathroom. We made good use of the gym, which has good quality equipment; we had the place to ourselves. We ate dinner in the restaurant; the menu had plenty of choices and the food was enjoyable, with prompt service. This is a good quality business style hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia H, Sales & Marketing at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Ruby Jayne:

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, and best that you enjoy our comfortable rooms, could work our in our modern gym, with Technogym machines and best that you could try our restaurant.
Hope you enjoy your visit to Panama, and if you decide to come back again, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I will be glad to assist you.
Regards
lucia.hilderband@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel itself is fine, but for anyone visiting Panamá City it's much too far from any real activity with truly horrendous traffic to and from. Not too bad to the airport though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringomanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

the courtyard metromall in panama city, panama is about nine months old and still has the look and feel of a new hotel. my wife and i stayed here on our way to and from bocas del toro and found it to be very clean, very friendly , and a fairly close to both the international and domestic airports. on our first night there we had just arrived from the usa and were exhausted and hungry so we ordered room service. an hour later we had finished our showers (nice bathroom, btw) but our food still had not arrived. i called again and was told they were closed. i said that i had already ordered and she said "did you order a hamburger and salad". i replied in the affirmative and she told me the food would be there in 10 minutes. they obviously had never placed the order. 25 minutes later my hamburger (very good) arrived but my wives salad was missing. they had included 2 hot chocolates and a desert as a way to apologize for the bad service (i felt that my meal should have been complimentary at that point). in about 5 minutes an awful, wilted salad was delivered and i was too tired to argue about it. the room was great, the bed was awesome, and the people were nice but the food service was atrocious. it was definitely not marriott quality service.
On our second stay we arrived from bocus too tired to walk to any of the local places so we again ordered room service and i am happy to report that they delivered some good food on time to our room. Cudos to the management for quickly getting the food service up to the standard that as a gold elite member i expect from marriott.
overall we enjoyed our stays there and highly recommend it. we will stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room as they seemed quite a bit quieter than our third floor room was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Of the hotels available in Panama City, this is one of the better choices. It is rather near to the airport (although there is no shuttle, only somewhat pricy taxis), near to a new mall with various reasonable choices to grab a bite to eat, and it has a cleanliness that exceeds even most US hotels. As such it is an oasis for a traveler used to US comfort.

Having said that, the appearance could have been a lot nicer if Marriott hadn't recently begun to deliberately downgrade their Courtyard hotels with lobbies that are supposed to be somehow more functional and "hip", but appear mostly just cheap. Instead of a stately check-in counter, they now have small-ish unprofessional looking service desks; not only do they look somewhat improvised, they also have a fake wood paneling that just screams "I am so cheap". Can't we go back to real wood, and/or tile and marble? Then, in various locations they have rather silly-looking artificial grass. It looks even more fake than the wood on the counter - and what's the point of artificial grass? Is this supposed to be attractive to their clientele, based on the idea that they spend all their time indoors and don't know what real glass looks like? And why grass, one of the lowliest and most common plants, instead of their earlier flower bouquets? And what happened to the restaurants they had - now they are replaced by a self-serve, cheap looking counter that is reminiscent of what you would see at a gas station.

In the past I have wholeheartedly enjoyed Marriott hotels for their taste and service. But what they are recently doing with their Courtyard hotels is a bold step in the wrong direction regarding taste.

Room Tip: High up and facing towards the back and hence away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeoPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Recently both my wife and I stayed at the Courtyard during a 15 hour transit layover from Santa Cruz Bolivia to Maracaibo. I arrived at 6 am and was at the hotel by 7. The front desk was expecting me and was very accomadating at that early hour. I went straight to the room. Room was of course very clean, bed was excellent, breakfast in the cafe was good. Proximity to the mall (a walk across the street) was very nice as it helped pass the time. Easy to get to from the airport, easy return, great location. This is the perfect transit hotel or one for that weekend shopping trip to Panama. Highly recommended. The experience by my wife a week later than my visit was a carbon copy of above.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#41 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#33 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
3.5 mi away
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#83 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Areka
Hostal Casa Areka
#12 of 85 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall

Property: Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within the Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped fitness center, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, soundproof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo, the Panama Canal and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At Metromall Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing