We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near the airport, but need to consider road construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the airport, but need to consider road construction”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was outside of the city, near the airport and we had an early morning flight. The plan was to check in at the hotel, drive to the airport, return the rental car and take a taxi back to the hotel. It was a good plan. The only problems were that we got lost getting to the hotel, even with GPS, so we got there late and tired. Then there was a huge amount of metro construction between the hotel and the airport. It would normally be a 10-minute drive from hotel to airport, but it took us at least 1/2 hour. Anyway, there was no traffic coming from the airport back to the hotel, so the taxi ride back to the hotel was fine (cost $15). We did have concerns about getting to the airport the next morning, but the staff assured us there would be no traffic at 6:00 am on Sunday morning.

We decided to experience the MetroMall food court for dinner. For Norte Americanos, that was super interesting. The food (fresh fish) was as good as in any restaurant we went to during our trip and the shopping atmosphere was frenetic to say the least. We really loved watching the little kids driving around the mall on giant stuffed animals!

The room was excellent after our long and tiring trip and the beds were great. We set 2 alarms for 5:30am and the hotel gave us a wake up call. We departed by 6 AM, unfortunately missing our free breakfast, but fortunately the staff was correct, at that time on a SUNDAY morning, there was no traffic, so we got to the airport by 6:15. The Courtyard was a great place for us to stay and definitely lives up to Marriott quality standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and the convenience of being integrated to the most modern mall in the area, Metromall. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the traffic, but please know those projects will end soon and will improve the overall traffic in the area.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    170
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
120
94
29
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here on night after a cruise that ended in Colon, Panama. Our flight was early the next morning. This hotel is about 5 minutes from the Tocumen Airport (PTY) with no traffic - about 10 minutes in traffic. The front desk was very helpful and arranged for a taxi to the airport early on a Sunday morning - which was waiting for us when we checked out ($15 for the taxi ride). There is a huge mall across the street, but most of the food choices were food court type places. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was pretty good food at a reasonable price. The hotel is very well maintained and comfortable. The only downside is that is it quite a ways from the City. Great if you are just passing through the airport or have an early flight, but probably not so good for sightseeing. It is a long way ) (opposite side of Panama City) as the Miriflores Locks on the Panama Canal.

Room Tip: Five story building, but no real view to be seen (other than the mall). Set back far enough from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagleman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Having the mall Metromall just a few meters aways is a great advantage.

Some tips to avoid traffic are the highways such as corredor Norte that can get you faster to the Panama Canal or Corredor Sur if you want to visit to Panama city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

bad service. terrible traffic. I did miss my flight because of the very bad organization of shuttle in this hotel. And they do not care about this!
bad service from all the staff.
I DO NOT recommend this hotel. next time I will select other Hotel near the airport.
poor breakfast

Room Tip: all has a lot of noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We appreciate you feedback and will take follow up with the issues you have reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Almost everyone who travels with Copa Airlines to Central/North America or the Caribbean is stuck for a night in Panama, because of the time charts of its flight connections. Maybe it's on purpose to promote local tourism, who knows... So, Courtyard Metromall is the perfect hotel for this night stay. It's near the airport (timing depends of the frequemt traffic jams in Panama). The rooms are clean, internet very fast, breakfast good (not included in the price), staff very polite and helpful. A few meters away is located the Metromall, with plenty of stores and restaurants. If you're lucky, will find sales season (we found it in a travel in July). We've stayed three times in this hotel and definitely will be again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurMombach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
It is a pleasure for us to have you as a loyal customer and to hear the good experiences you have had at our property.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed one night on our way to the Dominican. As far as well could tell this is one of the closet good hotels near the airport. It was approximately a $15.00 cab ride.
The Hotel is situated next to a huge mall, with lots of shopping, restaurants etc.
Our room was good, and the bed was the usual Marriott fantastic.
We ate from the Dominican choices on the menu. They were very good sized portions, and very tasty.
The Staff was most excellent, and I even managed to watch the Packers game, on a small TV in the Lounge/Restaurant.

We could see the City from our room, and would like to go back for a longer stay and explore Panama City and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Son_of_a_Sailor_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We appreciate your comments. We are glad to hear you had an amazing experience at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We used this hotel for one night. We had booked online. It was an easy check in and check out. I was disappointed with the fact the mini fridge and safe were not working. If we would of been staying longer, we would of asked for a different room. The room was clean. Also has steady hot water. I have to say that the staff was very friendly and their service was excellent. Which we did not find in other places in Panama. We ate dinner and breakfast here. They were both pretty good. They had our taxi waiting for us early in the morning. Per our request from the night before.
Would definately stay here again. Good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We have already take actions over the issues you mention.
We hope you can come back and enjoy of our impoved services in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here with Caravan Tours.. The staff was great, the rooms clean, the wait staff attentive and the location the best. We ate meals here and the food was wonderful. I loved our breakfast buffet! The only down side for me was the small pool. But, considering you are in the heart of the city next to a huge mall, I'm surprised they had a pool at all. Appreciated the wifi, quiet sitting places to gather with friends and the room amenities like hair dryer, coffee maker and iron and ironing board.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleBeach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We appreciate your review and will be waiting for your visit to Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#42 of 116 in Panama City
414 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#33 of 116 in Panama City
1,138 reviews
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
6.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Panama Zen Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall

Property: Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within the Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped fitness center, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, soundproof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo, the Panama Canal and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At Metromall Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing