We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value-for-money, modern new property next to large mall, yet far from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Ranked #46 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great value-for-money, modern new property next to large mall, yet far from downtown”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights with my dad on a quick sightseeing trip through Panama. The hotel is very comfortable, looks refreshed / remodeled and offers great world-class service you are to expect from a Courtyard property. There is a nice small pool and the rooms are clean, spacious and features nice moderns décor/beds (standard for a new courtyard property). Hotel is right across a large Mall which you can walk and is within easy reach to the Tocumen International Airport (depending on traffic some 15-45 minutes). I you plan a sightseeing in Panama you first of all definitely need a car, then need to be willing to face some horrendous traffic (60 min/day, 35min/night oneway) to reach the city center. The hotel could be worth since it’s so nice and usually costs half what a downtown property costs, yet if money is not a concern pay twice for a similar quality property at downtown and avoid the horrible traffic. The area itself besides the mall has nothing else to offer, is a working-class suburb but I felt very safe even at night. People in Panama have a good heart and are usually helpful, crime seems to be very low/little concern, we never felt threatened at all despite the area around the hotel being so “exotic”, remote and arguably ugly compared to much nicer downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the convenience of being integrated to the most modern mall in the area, Metromall was a plus for you. We know that the city has traffic issue, but the new road work being done around our property should help a lot with traffic in the very near future. We hope to have the pleasure of having you back in our hotel soon.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    176
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
124
96
33
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My second stay confirmed this hotel has clean comfortable rooms, as one would expect from this Marriott brand property. The breakfast buffet is substantial and the restaurant can be counted on to provide a good meal at other times. The gym seemed acceptable for a brief stay, and the equipment functioned well. There is an outdoor swimming pool.
Exploring the new shopping mall adjacent is like visiting a transplant from the US, with a Panamanian flare.
Recommend the hotel when arriving late or departing the airport in the early AM, although it's OK any time. It travel time to Tocumen is 10 to 15 minutes, which should become even less when the road construction is completed. Hotel provides a transportation service which charges $15 each way.

Room Tip: While I didn't have any noise problems, one could request a room away from the highway. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will7777r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Mr. Will7777r

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing Courtyard Hotels for your recent visit to Panama. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our restaurant, gym and the convenience of being integrated to Metromall. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I normally stay in the city but if you need a place for a night close to the airport, this works. Hotel is clean, modern. Free wifi was good except you have to constantly enter in the promo code every time you restart your device...a pain. If you want access to a mall, Metro Mall is huge and just a few steps away. I arrived late and ordered room service but wish I hadn't...simple spaghetti and meat sauce was TERRIBLE. The breakfast buffet was good and reasonably priced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear TN

We are happy to hear that the location of our Hotel being integrated to Metromall and only a short drive away from the airport was convenient during your stay. Thank you for preferring us and please know we are discussing your feedback about the Room Service and our WiFi with the appropriate area leaders.

We look forward to hearing serving you again in the near future.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

No complaints about the service staff or food. Employees were always helpful; they often took care of a question by showing you, not just giving an answer and sending you on your way.
The facility's guest rooms were sadly disappointing. We stayed in two different rooms during our three nights. Both had excessively noisy air conditioners. The refrigerators in neither room kept items sufficiently cold. In one room the safe didn't work.
If you want to shop at high-end boutiques the huge mall is close by. Otherwise, the neighborhood is unattractive and pedestrian unfriendly. If I were to visit Panama City again, I would try to locate in the Casco Viejo neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockwellL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are currently reviewing the issues you reported in the entire Hotel so we may correct this as soon as possible. We are glad to hear our team was always helpful.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in Panama soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Best courtyard i stayed, staff is great, breakfast has a lot of diferent opcions. Gym is big with, good brand new machine. Right next to metro mall, you can walk and do some shopping wild you are there for business.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Restaurant, our food and our staff. Having our lobby just steps away from the most modern shopping mall in the area is always a big convenience for our guests.
We hope to see you again when you come back to Panama.
Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As the closest nice hotel to the airport it would have been great to have more reasonably priced or free hotel to airport shuttle. Otherwise this hotel is up to Marriott standards and a fine location.

Room Tip: No difference we could see between upgraded and normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for your feedback and please know we are taking into consideration your recommendation to add shuttle service. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was outside of the city, near the airport and we had an early morning flight. The plan was to check in at the hotel, drive to the airport, return the rental car and take a taxi back to the hotel. It was a good plan. The only problems were that we got lost getting to the hotel, even with GPS, so we got there late and tired. Then there was a huge amount of metro construction between the hotel and the airport. It would normally be a 10-minute drive from hotel to airport, but it took us at least 1/2 hour. Anyway, there was no traffic coming from the airport back to the hotel, so the taxi ride back to the hotel was fine (cost $15). We did have concerns about getting to the airport the next morning, but the staff assured us there would be no traffic at 6:00 am on Sunday morning.

We decided to experience the MetroMall food court for dinner. For Norte Americanos, that was super interesting. The food (fresh fish) was as good as in any restaurant we went to during our trip and the shopping atmosphere was frenetic to say the least. We really loved watching the little kids driving around the mall on giant stuffed animals!

The room was excellent after our long and tiring trip and the beds were great. We set 2 alarms for 5:30am and the hotel gave us a wake up call. We departed by 6 AM, unfortunately missing our free breakfast, but fortunately the staff was correct, at that time on a SUNDAY morning, there was no traffic, so we got to the airport by 6:15. The Courtyard was a great place for us to stay and definitely lives up to Marriott quality standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel V, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and the convenience of being integrated to the most modern mall in the area, Metromall. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the traffic, but please know those projects will end soon and will improve the overall traffic in the area.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#43 of 114 in Panama City
452 reviews
3.4 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#32 of 114 in Panama City
1,172 reviews
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#85 of 114 in Panama City
107 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#33 of 114 in Panama City
328 reviews
9.1 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall

Property: Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#28 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within the Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped fitness center, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, soundproof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo, the Panama Canal and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At Metromall Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing