We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Flawed Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Flawed Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The food, staff, and location of this hotel were terrific. They give you every sense of Panama City's emergence as a global center for business and tourism.

The rooms have an odd configuration but were always spotless. The bathroom and climate control were clear strengths.

All of the restaurants provided superb food - the breakfasts were particularly noteworthy.

It is a shame that there is no spa but the fitness center was on par with anything you'd find in NY or LA.

The pool deck has fantastic views of the ocean but little else. Unfortunately the Trump Ocean Club has been hemmed in by other enormous skyscrapers. As such, a sunless wind tunnel has been created. I feel bad for the hotel management, but what could they do about it?

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Trump Ocean Club on any future trips to Panama City, I would just know to get my sunshine elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larchmonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Larchmonter,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were met with the service and amenities you expected and deserve. For your next visit please know our concierge will happily arrange an appointment with a massage therapist offering a variety of massage therapies in the comfort and convenience of your guestroom. Facials and other esthetics including body treatments, acupuncture, acupressure and yoga can be arranged for you at a nearby salon.

We very much appreciate your loyalty and do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to help and personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you many more safe travels and a quick return.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    508
    187
    80
    73
See reviews for
301
660
106
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My Mom and I stayed at Ocean Club for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time. The pool is breath taking and the food at Tejas was incredible. We went 2 nights. Make sure you ask for Maria Jose. She is super sweet and a fantastic waitress. :) Nicole B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Nicole B,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review.

I am pleased you and your mother thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were met with the service and amenities you expected and deserve throughout the property and most notably at our Tejas Restaurant with Maria Jose.

We do hope to welcome you both back again very soon. Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you and your family many more safe travels.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second time... I can't get enough of this Hotel Resort the staff remember my husband an I from our stay in January an took such good care of us once agin !! All I can say get out the house this Summer an visit the best kept secret Trump ocean club Panama !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandella40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sandella40,

Thank you for your recent return visit to the Trump Ocean Club. We very much appreciate your time to share your enthusiastic review and kind referral.

I am pleased you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were met with the service and amenities you expected and deserve, especially on such a special occasion. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to help and once again personalise your visit, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you many more safe travels.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The title of my review says it all...a five is not good enough for Trump Ocean Club. I visited Panama City with my sister for my birthday weekend in January from Chicago. It was our first time in Panama and our first time time staying at a Trump hotel. We arrived and were warmly greeted by staff who were very thorough in explaining the amenities and how the elevators worked (at this point, I am just talking about the the gentleman who took our bags and showed us up to the hotel lobby...very impressive).

There was an unfortunate glitch, shall we say, with getting us a room. Now, I have traveled enough to know that it's easy for a hotel to provide good service when everything goes smoothly; the true test is how they provide service when things don't. Trump not only earned it's stripes, but set the bar. Trust me on this one, I tested them! They were fantastic and went well beyond above and beyond. Really, beyond what most five star hotels would do. For example, while we waited for them to work on our situation, we were served glasses of champagne; when we were relocated to another property, we were transported there and back in a luxury SUV; Ana, one of their directors, made frequent phone calls to keep us informed; when we returned to the property for our remaining night stay, the staff all greeted us by name, asked us how my birthday was (like all staff, from the time we got out of the car), and sent a cake up to the room; we also received a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite; and even two weeks after we checked out, Ana, stayed in touch to ensure our account was reconciled for billing. WOW! I am floored and cannot praise this hotel and their staff enough. Like I said, they set the bar. It was by far the best service that I have received at any hotel.

Beyond the amazing service, the property is a marvel. Even though it was obviously crowded, it didn't feel like we were rushed or the staff was overwhelmed. Everyone provided exceptional and attentive service. It's really more of an experience versus a hotel. They have seen to every detail. The rooms are beautiful with fine toiletries, bedding, and large balconies with spectacular views. There are two infinity pools with unobstructed views of the ocean that will make it hard for you to pry yourself away. The service at the pool was very good and they frequently checked on us to see if we wanted/needed anything; even offering us complimentary sunscreen/tanning lotion. The food and drinks were divine and I highly recommend the ceviche. The hotel is modern, sophisticated, with sleek design and a Latin American feel.

Now, I have seen some members mention the location as being out of the way, so just keep in mind that you will have to take taxis to get most places. Also, get to the pool deck early because the Trump cannot, unfortunately, control the rising and setting of the sun, so as it sets the deck gets shaded. Neverteless, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Panama City...never will. Also, I will consider Trump as an option anywhere I travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicam570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear monicam570,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review.

I am pleased we were able to recover from our mishap and make your birthday a pleasantly memorable experience for you. It is great news that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were met with the service and amenities you expect and deserve especially on this special occasion. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you many more safe travels and a fantastic year ahead.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights in total while visiting Panama - 4 nights at start of trip and 1 night at end before flying home. In general we were very happy with the hotel. It is very nice with great amenities. Pool & terrace are certainly a highlight with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The gym is one of the best we had ever seen at a hotel -very big with anything you would need for a holiday workout. Breakfast buffet was excellent and definitely worth adding that option to your package.

Rooms were very nice but views are somewhat hit and miss due to the layout/structure of the hotel. Some "ocean views" are looking directly at the side of the next building. We stayed in Jr suite for first leg of trip and were happy with it- very big, great balcony but limited storage space to pack clothes away for 2 people. The Jr suite on our 2nd leg was a different layout and not nearly as nice of a view as it was on a much lower floor.

Service at the pool was basically non existent so if you wanted food or drink, best to just go to the bar. Guys at the front desk were very helpful and quick to respond if there were any issues.

One thing we found strange was during checked in we were asked if we were there for a special occasion and when we answered that it was my wife's birthday, they told us they would do something special for it. Birthday came and went and nothing came of it. Only mention it because why bring it up and say you will do something when you have no intention of doing it?

All that said, when we make our way back to Panama City, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear TorontoRam,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for your kind review and loyalty.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your over all stay. I am sorry to know that our communication flow failed in on our effort to ensure your stay was met with the extra special service and attention you and your wife deserved while visiting us on such a special occasion. We do look forward to welcoming you both back soon. Jorge Rodriguez, our attache manager, will be in contact with you to help plan your next visit and to improve on your Trump Ocean Club experience.

Until then, we wish you safe travels and a quick return.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Trump Ocean Club for his 50th birthday. The staff was very professional and made some very special arrangements for a surprise birthday cake to be delivered to the room. The pool area was very nice and relaxing with a top notch staff serving you for what ever you need. This is a must stay place if you are in Panama City and want elegance and to relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear CostaRicaGlen,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review.

We are pleased that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were met with the service and amenities you expected and deserve. It is wonderful news that we could contribute to the pleasant success of your brother's 50th birthday celebration. We are honoured to have been part of such a special occasion.

We do hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do let us know when you want to plan your next trip to Panama. We would like to personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you many more safe travels and a quick return.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
268 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is in a convenient quiet area, but it is in a residential area, with nothing around to walk to or without nightlife. Big shopping mall 7-8 blocks away. Pools gets no afternoon sun. Area is claustrophobic (more to me then NYC) as it is completely surrounded by close high rises. While it is on the water, like most Panama City hotels has no beach. Service was pretty good but not without small errors and room had tiny issues (examples: closet light wouldn't shut off, and turn-down maid had to notice it 2/3 nights they came; hint they missed a night and had nothing to do with us being there or privacy sign on or shower leaking onto floor). Rooms good for couples, but not real private if sharing on business or teenagers who want privacy (even with curtain for bathroom area - not real private). We were next to the maid door which we could hear noise. Also think cab drivers increase their rates when you come/go to this hotel. We also stayed elsewhere and cab ride was cheaper. Curtains to outdoor windows let in light - room could be darker. While this was nice hotel, I'd probably try elsewhere if we went back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOCGM, General Manager at Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear abmilw,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Trump Ocean Club and thank you for taking the time to share your thorough review.

I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and very much appreciate your noting our efforts to provide you with the best possible service you expect and deserve. I am sorry however, there were areas in which we did not provide this standard of excellence. We will continue to work towards this very goal.

We do hope to welcome you back again very soon to improve on your experience. Please do let us know when we can assist you in planning your next trip to Panama. We would like to personalize each visit for you, making each stay with us even more enjoyable than the last.

Until then, we wish you many more safe travels.

Mark Stevenson
Vice President & Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
1.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama

Property: Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Address: Calle Punta Colon | Punta Pacifica, Panama City 0833, Panama (Formerly Trump Ocean Club International Hotel & Tower Panama)
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising seventy stories above Panama Bay along Punta Pacifica's pristine peninsula, Trump Ocean Club® International Hotel & Tower Panama unites exclusive amenities, innovative accommodations and the signature services of Trump Attaché™. Steps from Punta Pacifica's sophisticated shops and nightlife, just five minutes from the financial district and minutes from Panama City—you have found the perfect setting to unite business with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Ocean Club International Hotel And Tower Panama
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing