We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for Panama City but good...”

Os Segredos Da Carne
Ranked #199 of 974 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Expensive for Panama City but good...”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We'd walked by Os Segredos da Carne several times during our visit to Panama City and always wondered why it was so full of people. Not until one day when we happened upon an employee outside, who coincidentally was also the manager, did we find out it was a Brazilian Rodizio "all-you-can-eat" Restaurant. We thereafter stopped in for dinner without reservations (not a good idea) but were luckily seated since we were only two. Although not as pricey as a similar establishment in Seattle, it was still expensive for Panama City...and the food was good but not exceptional. Regardless of the cost, if you walk away being the least bit hungry, then shame on you! And we even saved room for a sampling from their dessert cart :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    63
    35
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“They haven't been told about the "Secrets".”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

As a brazilian BBQ lover I went to this restaurant to taste by recommendation of the locals.
Well, I know a little about Brazilian BBQ but I'm sure that the secret of the BBQ has not been told this restaurant.
The meat served wasn't as tasty as I expected, sometimes was too much salty other times absolutely saltless, and so on.
The salads entries didn't inspire much trust to be eaten.
I believe that this is only a regular place to eat Brazilian BBQ, if you go to this house don't expect to taste BBQ as if you were in Brazil, that's the point.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OA_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bargain lunch”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

At $18 for a rodizio feast, it's a bargain. They charge $30 for the same thing at night. The meats were well flavored, but the quality was only average. Salad bar was good. All said, it's no Fogo de Chao, but the price was right.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pakeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good restaurant for the hungry”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have been here a few times. It is better to go early and eat slowly. They bring around some cuts of meat multiple times before they bring others so wait for what you want. Don't miss the pineapple.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average if you have experienced the real deal.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having lived in Brazil for several years, I have eaten at many Brazilian rotisserie style restaurants. This restaurant provides good food at a reasonable price but it does not compare to the "real deal" in Brazil. Go and enjoy it, but if you expecting something like Fogo do Chao or Portcao you will be slightly disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bf900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Os Segredos Da Carne also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Os Segredos Da Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing