We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel sux”
Review of Metro Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metro Hotel Panama
Ranked #60 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this hotel sux”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

staff are thiefs, rude, noisy and none of the taxis know where it is. we stayed there for 2 nights....the toilet wouldn't flush, the AC barely worked, it was hot and dirty. they tried to charge us an additional $54 for (guest) that came over after accompanying us to dinner - then asked us for $10 cash - "under the counter...where the cameras couldn't see" - which we paid...in fear of being kicked out. The next morning at checkout - they again tried to charge us $54 for our guest that wasn't there but approx an hour. terrible experince, over-priced, rude and DIRTY. No sleeping in. Wont ever stay at this dive again. Total dump and totally over-priced. Terrible expeience

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That was truly not our intention. We really appreciate your feedback. We would also like to take this chance to comment on your points:
• Re: Staff are thief, rude and noisy: ….. We are very sorry to hear this. We work very hard to offer a good and a friendly service. Thank you for bringing this up since all your comments are helpful in improving our service and training our staff.

• Re: The toilet wouldn't flush, the AC barely worked: ….. Normally when we have problems with toilets blocked or AC´s not working properly we immediately change our guests to other rooms, we even offer them an upgrade; however during your stay we did not receive any complaints and we were not aware of this situation. If you would have let us know we would have changed your room immediately.

• Re: They tried to charge us an additional $54 for (guest) that came over after accompanying us to dinner: …. Our Hotel policies establish that any additional guests not registered at the moment of check in are subject to an additional charge of 27.50 each. You had two guests so that made a total of $55.00. Concerning the issue of the $10 paid “under the counter” we appreciate you have informed us and we are currently investigating this matter.

Once again, Mr. Willis, we are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service and we are currently investigating the concerns you have raised as well as we are working hard to improve our service. If you would like to contact us directly please email us at gerencia@metrohotelpanama.com as we would like the opportunity to apologize directly and solve this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    76
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
43
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Every taxi we took didnt know where the hotel was, so take a map or the address! We stayed 3 nights. Was a short walk to the Hop on hop off bus stop(15 mins).

The hotel has recently been refurbished so all very new, our bathroom still had pencilled measurements on the tiles! Breakfast was great.

The tv had a few english speaking channels but subtitled others.

The WIFI kept coming and going in the room but the computers had good internet speed in the lobby.

We would recommend hotel in this price range. The staff were friendly and kept our bags after check out for the day. Communication was hard at times as I dont speak Spanish but we got by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNMBots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

the hotel is very nice, is almost new with an excellent staff, something weird to find in panama. the rooms are extremely clean at all time, and the breakfast really good. the price you pay is worth at all, and the beds are so comfortable, wifi free in all rooms, hot water, ac not noisy, and cable tv with some of the best channels . near you can find all type of fun like casinos, bars restaurants. the hotel is close to panamas nightlife street, in taxi about 5 mins, and taxis in panama are really cheap. no more than 3 dollars. we had a really good time, and the peruvian restaurant near the hotel, think is called machu pichu is really good in seafood. also the supermarket rey back the hotel is very nice, and 24 hours in case of any emergency. hope to go to panama soon, definetely for price and comfort the hotel is the best.

Room Tip: "staff is really good, something weird to find in panama"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonathan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at Metro for a week because we wanted to be sure that we had a good base from which to explore Panama. We were not disappointed. Metro is what it is. A functional, modern, clean, no frills hotel. What it does it does very well. We were were delighted with the large room, fridge, coffee making facilities, hearty breakfast, free ice, hot shower and excellent strength free wi-fi. Very helpful staff. As to the location - everything in Panama is just a cab ride away - so that or taking the resident cab outside the door was easy. Also the enormous supermarket Rea, plus many local shops and restaurants are just a short walk away. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent a total of 5 nights of a post-medical school completion 14 night Central/South America trip at this hotel for the Panama portion of our trip and we couldn't have been happier. The staff was attentive, helpful, and friendly. Everything worked beautifully. This is an extremely well-priced hotel. Upon arrival our safe was malfunctioning and we were immediately moved to another room. We were again moved to another room due to an alarm issue. We ended up meeting the owner due to these inconveniences and he had us all sorted out. He even gave us a special rate for our final two days there due to the inconvenience. On top of this, he put us in touch with his cousin who have us advice on where to go and what to do in terms of Panama City nightlife. The hotel is quite contemporary, breakfast is good and they have free WiFi like much of the non-US world. Although the WiFi could've been stronger in some of the rooms, this is not a big deal. Lastly, the hotel is located conveniently next to the The Veneto, a Wyndham Hotel and Casino which is lots of fun, and only minutes from Calle Uruguay and all popular nightlife. The Canal is approx 30 mins away. There is Mrs Chus convenience store (life saver), Arepas del Tentacion (best empanadas and brochetas de pollo ive had), and some of Panamas best plaintains inside the restaurant that sells "Chicken Pop" all on the same street walking towards Veneto from the hotel. Next time I'm in Panama City I know I'll be calling up the Metro Hotel. Thanks to Imtias and the staff for making our stay in Panama fun and memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahilRp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A new hotel, clean and well sized rooms. Stayed here for a couple nights before changing hotels to my (much more expensive) work hotel. Took a chance based on pics and mostly favorable trip advisor reviews. Not sure I would stay again, but it wasn't a bad experience by any means.
The front desk staff were all nice, polite, and helpful, but ranged in terms of competence. Check in took forever!
Bedroom & bathroom were good sized and comfortable. Beds were fine. A/C worked well, as did the safe and fridge in the room. Toilet kept running though.
The TV did not have a remote, when we asked for one, they sent up a Sony remote for a Panasonic TV, couple more tries before they got it right. Not a big deal, but those are the type of little details that are just a little bit off in this place. The bathroom was nice but not enough bath towels; not even a bathmat. Shower was fine, but the toilet kept running. Bathroom functional and nice because it is new, but not luxurious.
Breakfast was not great but enough to get you going. Wifi in room was OK, not too fast but not annoyingly slow.
Location was not that great, crowded area with traffic but walkable to other, more desirable neighborhoods. The street may feel a little sketchy to the suburban crowd, but it was safe. Many restaurants within walking distance from all directions from the hotel, as is a large hotel/casino. Our room faced the parking lot and dumpster, but did have a view further away of the cool "screwdriver" building.
The hotel is small and kind of hard to find, recommend telling the taxi near (circa) via veneto. Taxis are cheap cheap cheap in Panama and most of the drivers are friendly.
Old town and canal areas well worth visiting, highly recommend Panama and Panama City, however, Metro Hotel is for intrepid travelers only.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Can't really think o anything positive to say about this Hotel except that it was very clean and functional. It was not well located for exploring Panama, the desk clerks were not able to help with local tours or information (although one did surprise me with some information a little while after he told me he couldn't help me). The noise from the cleaning staff every morning around 6am made me wonder if they were deliberately banging and crashing things to wake guests as I couldn't work out how so few people could make so much noise so early in the morning. I don't know what a normal breakfast in another Panama Hotel would be like but the breakfast was barely substantial. I would rate this Hotel as one step up from a backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DualFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. All constructive criticism are welcomed, as it helps us to better our service. We sincerely regret the disturbance caused by our staff, we are revising with them all the situations in order to implement better changes for our future guests. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Panama and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 113 in Panama City
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 113 in Panama City
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 113 in Panama City
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#61 of 113 in Panama City
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 113 in Panama City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Panama

Property: Metro Hotel Panama
Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, located in the best shopping and entertaining area of Panama City. Within walking distance to Metro station, restaurants, bars, casinos, night clubs, shopping, and banking area. 30 Minutes driving to Tocumen Airport. Wi-fi in all rooms and lobby. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing