We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and clean Hotel, with nice staff”
Review of Metro Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Hotel Panama
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 15 March 2013

When we started searching for hotels in Panama we had a lot of options, but im sure that metro hotel was the option. In comparison to price per night the hotel was really good, and was the only hotel of this price that had breakfast included. The reservation via email for the hotel was really easy and they included a shuttle for a $30 dollars, not bad i found out at the airport the cabs where around 35. As we reached the hotel, they had our reservation ready, the check-in took a little while but nothing too exaggerated, and finally we reached the room. The room was really big for this kind hotel and had 2 queen beds and really nice bathroom, was very clean and with all the necessary items. that was our first impression was clean and good. Next day we went for breakfast, hurry up! is only till 10:00a.m., the breakfast was not the best i have had, but was ok. really good varieties of fruits. Some that here in louisville are very expensive, i can imagine that for the weather in Panama they must be cheap. we stood there for 3 nights and the overall experience of the Hotel was really good, also the managers speaks good english and she help us in everything we needed, from directions to tourist places and more. I cant remember her name but she was really nice. Also the Hotel is located near some bars and in taxi just 3 minutes away from calle uruguay that is like 4th street here in louisville. (nightclubs), so if you are looking for a hotel in panama with an accesible price ill definitely suggest this one.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager personally she is really nice and speaks good english.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dany l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you very much for your positive remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you had great stay with us, and look forward to see you again at Metro Hotel Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

A friend and I stayed at Metro Hotel for 3 nights and were pleased with our experience. The room was very clean, and a maid came in each day while we were gone to tidy things up. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. The front desk was always manned by someone who spoke English and Spanish for those traveling without any Spanish proficiency. Although on a somewhat dirty side street, the location is pretty good. It took my friend and I about 5-10 minutes to walk to Calle Uruguay, which is a great place for nightlife. The walk at night in the area also seemed relatively safe. Breakfast was included in the rate, and it was above average for a continental breakfast. Internet was also included in the rate, which worked well, very quick. If you are looking for a hotel with all of the frills like a pool and a gym, then this isn't your best option. But if you just need a place to stay at night that is clean and comfortable, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Kristy:

Thank you very much for your positive remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you had great stay with us, and hoped you had a good time in Panama.

We look forward to see you again at Metro Hotel Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel January 27th, 2013. It was very clean and the wi-fi reception was excellent.
I would recomend this hotel to all. I found the front staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was very good with many selections. It's in a good location with fine restaurants and the casino, all in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louieszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Louieszie:

Thank you very much for your positive review, which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you had great stay with us, and a good time in Panama.

On your next trip to Panama City, we look forward to see you again at Metro Hotel Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed for two nights during Dec. holidays. It's a new hotel. Decor and rooms are nice. The breakfast is ok with some good selections. The lady at the kitchen was helpful and friendly. Front staff needs to be a little friendlier. Perhaps, the lady from the kitchen could train them! Overall, hotel is clean and new. Because of lack of other amenities such as gym, pool, etc. the price is too high. There are other choices with more amenities for lower prices.

Room Tip: location in this street is good. Not much traffic at night! Close to many restaurants, via Argenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuriSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Very nice place, clean with an excellent and helpful staff, Great for its location, near shops, restaurants, bars and casinos.
Rooms are clean with a very comfortable bed and LCD TV...
Rooms also have a refrigerator, coffee maker, dryer, iron, safe etc.
Bathrooms are clean with good amenities..
I could tell linen and towels are of good quality
Breakfast was very good, eggs, oatmeals, pancakes, cereals, fruits etc. accompanied with bread juice, ice tea and coffee..
They have coffee and water at the lobby to welcome everybody.
This hotel is near everything specially to restaurants and shopping malls.( i recommend Albrook Mall, very good mall for nice shopping and cheap things.)
i enjoyed my stay for the benefit and price relation, i would definitely stay here again..
keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

staff are thiefs, rude, noisy and none of the taxis know where it is. we stayed there for 2 nights....the toilet wouldn't flush, the AC barely worked, it was hot and dirty. they tried to charge us an additional $54 for (guest) that came over after accompanying us to dinner - then asked us for $10 cash - "under the counter...where the cameras couldn't see" - which we paid...in fear of being kicked out. The next morning at checkout - they again tried to charge us $54 for our guest that wasn't there but approx an hour. terrible experince, over-priced, rude and DIRTY. No sleeping in. Wont ever stay at this dive again. Total dump and totally over-priced. Terrible expeience

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That was truly not our intention. We really appreciate your feedback. We would also like to take this chance to comment on your points:
• Re: Staff are thief, rude and noisy: ….. We are very sorry to hear this. We work very hard to offer a good and a friendly service. Thank you for bringing this up since all your comments are helpful in improving our service and training our staff.

• Re: The toilet wouldn't flush, the AC barely worked: ….. Normally when we have problems with toilets blocked or AC´s not working properly we immediately change our guests to other rooms, we even offer them an upgrade; however during your stay we did not receive any complaints and we were not aware of this situation. If you would have let us know we would have changed your room immediately.

• Re: They tried to charge us an additional $54 for (guest) that came over after accompanying us to dinner: …. Our Hotel policies establish that any additional guests not registered at the moment of check in are subject to an additional charge of 27.50 each. You had two guests so that made a total of $55.00. Concerning the issue of the $10 paid “under the counter” we appreciate you have informed us and we are currently investigating this matter.

Once again, Mr. Willis, we are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service and we are currently investigating the concerns you have raised as well as we are working hard to improve our service. If you would like to contact us directly please email us at gerencia@metrohotelpanama.com as we would like the opportunity to apologize directly and solve this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Every taxi we took didnt know where the hotel was, so take a map or the address! We stayed 3 nights. Was a short walk to the Hop on hop off bus stop(15 mins).

The hotel has recently been refurbished so all very new, our bathroom still had pencilled measurements on the tiles! Breakfast was great.

The tv had a few english speaking channels but subtitled others.

The WIFI kept coming and going in the room but the computers had good internet speed in the lobby.

We would recommend hotel in this price range. The staff were friendly and kept our bags after check out for the day. Communication was hard at times as I dont speak Spanish but we got by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNMBots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
1.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#58 of 115 in Panama City
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#60 of 115 in Panama City
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 115 in Panama City
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 115 in Panama City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Panama

Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £32 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, located in the best shopping and entertaining area of Panama City. Within walking distance to Metro station, restaurants, bars, casinos, night clubs, shopping, and banking area. 30 Minutes driving to Tocumen Airport. Wi-fi in all rooms and lobby. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing