We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Metro Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metro Hotel Panama
Ranked #60 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A average hotel, that making some improvement will bring benefits. First the standard beds really are small (definitely not for an average size couple), we got some old towels (weary edges...bad), the breakfast pitiful. One day they cleaned the room but did not change the sheets on the bed and not everyday the towels were changed neither, we had to remind them. To make matters worse, in front of the hotel there was sewage water and feces leak coming out in the street, some got on my husband feet and was contaminated with salmonella a week after we got back from vacation. If you have small children, the area around the hotel is not the best at nightlife...rose zone...
Won't be back to this place.

Room Tip: Make sure ask about the standard room (it's not for average size couple or family)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima447, Gerente at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. All constructive criticism are welcomed, as it helps us to better our service. I am not sure why our housekeeper did not change the bed sheets that day but we have a sign in the room which the guests should leave on top of the pillow in order to change sheets. This is because we are an eco hotel trying to contribute to save water and produce less waste for our environment. (Anyways, by hotel policy bedsheets are changed obligatory every 2 days during your stay).
We are very sorry to hear that your husband was contaminated. Our sewage problem is something that is out of our control. We have complained numerously times with the government. They come and fix the problem, unclog, but they have to do a big job there. We have a committee with the hotels in the area to sit and negotiate with the government the repairs in the area. Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Hope to see you soon in Panama city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    76
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
43
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Unfortunately, my visit was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances. However, the front desk staff were very accommodating and helpful when I had to check out early and cancel tours and reservations for the remainder of my stay to fly back to Canada. I was only here a couple of days, but this hotel is in a great location for restaurants and groceries. The front desk staff were also very helpful in arranging tours and taxis when needed. The hotel is not all the quiet (you can hear doors closing), but that may be how things are designed in Panama. Oh, and you better like firm beds or this might not be the place for you. When I return to Panama City to continue the vacation I had to cut short, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, we had room 311 (an end unit) that looked over a parking lot..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima447, Gerente at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our staff. We were very sorry you had to leave early. I personally recently had a very similar situation and I can properly understand you now. We hope you can come back to Panama and stay with us again. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Upon arrival we were told our room was not ready and would be ready in about 10 minutes. An hour later our room was ready. As they took us to the room the cleaning lady was still in there moping the floor. No big deal really. After having to wait a long time to get to our room I was still upbeat about having a nice bed to sleep in but the beds were pretty hard (2 doubles) to the room. There was lots of outside noise as well all throughout the night. They do have a nice hot shower. Cannot comment on breakfast as they do not start serving breakfast until after 7 I believe. We had to leave early 5:30 am so no breakfast for us. We asked the night before if we could get some fruit or something in a to go box for us as we would miss breakfast. They said there was no way to get us anything to take along with us. Really? I mean how hard is it to give us an apple or something for our trip? We did PAY for breakfast with our fare.

The only thing I really liked was they allowed us to store our luggage for a few days while we traveled out of Panama City.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the metro hotel panma is really all average. the service is ok but nothing to talk about. the rooms are big but not very inspiring. at least they are clea. the breakfast is eatable but neither very good or very bad. the location is good if you like nightlife. good enough for a one night stop over but i would not stay for a longer time. the taxi drivers dont know the location so tell them its near veneto (via espana).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here based on other TA reviews. Very happy with this choice.
Room: Simple, but spacious, roomy, and clean. We had a safe, a fridge, a flat screen tv, and free wifi in the room. There are also computers with internet down in the lobby that are free to use. From our room, we had a partial view of the corkscrew-shaped building. The bathroom has only a stand-up shower, no tub, but the shower is big. We booked and prepaid online through hotels.com before leaving, and we had no trouble at all with the booking when we got there.
Breakfast: It was included in the cost of the room, which is the main reason we decided on this hotel. Simple, but sufficient. The breakfast selections included tortillas, watermelons, pineapples, cheese and cold cuts, breads and cereals, tea, coffee, and juice. They will make you eggs in the kitchen too, by request.
Location: Great! At the end of the street is the big Wyndham Hotel & Casino, so if you're lost (FYI, there are no numbers on the buildings and everyone gives directions by landmarks only), don't ask for directions to the Metro Hotel, ask for directions to the Wyndham Casino. It's a good landmark, and easy to spot from street level if you're walking and within the area. There are a lot of shops and restaurants to walk to around here. A few doors down is a small convenience store, M/S Chu, and there is a small pharmacy across the street. The stop for the City Sightseeing bus is not far, however their location has changed, so check with the front desk before you start walking.
Staff: Very helpful. We had questions about where to eat, and how to get around, and we also wanted to book a canal cruise. They answered all our questions, called the cruise company for us, and set up the taxi pickup and return for that day.
If I go back to Panama, I would stay here again. Very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Merrytina:

Gracias! for the detail description of your recent visit with us here at Metro Hotel Panama. I am so happy you had a a very nice stay from the initial walk into the lobby to the sightseeing in Panama and a warm reception from our staff.

We hope you visit us again soon! Again, thanks for your positive remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

When we started searching for hotels in Panama we had a lot of options, but im sure that metro hotel was the option. In comparison to price per night the hotel was really good, and was the only hotel of this price that had breakfast included. The reservation via email for the hotel was really easy and they included a shuttle for a $30 dollars, not bad i found out at the airport the cabs where around 35. As we reached the hotel, they had our reservation ready, the check-in took a little while but nothing too exaggerated, and finally we reached the room. The room was really big for this kind hotel and had 2 queen beds and really nice bathroom, was very clean and with all the necessary items. that was our first impression was clean and good. Next day we went for breakfast, hurry up! is only till 10:00a.m., the breakfast was not the best i have had, but was ok. really good varieties of fruits. Some that here in louisville are very expensive, i can imagine that for the weather in Panama they must be cheap. we stood there for 3 nights and the overall experience of the Hotel was really good, also the managers speaks good english and she help us in everything we needed, from directions to tourist places and more. I cant remember her name but she was really nice. Also the Hotel is located near some bars and in taxi just 3 minutes away from calle uruguay that is like 4th street here in louisville. (nightclubs), so if you are looking for a hotel in panama with an accesible price ill definitely suggest this one.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager personally she is really nice and speaks good english.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dany l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you very much for your positive remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you had great stay with us, and look forward to see you again at Metro Hotel Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A friend and I stayed at Metro Hotel for 3 nights and were pleased with our experience. The room was very clean, and a maid came in each day while we were gone to tidy things up. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. The front desk was always manned by someone who spoke English and Spanish for those traveling without any Spanish proficiency. Although on a somewhat dirty side street, the location is pretty good. It took my friend and I about 5-10 minutes to walk to Calle Uruguay, which is a great place for nightlife. The walk at night in the area also seemed relatively safe. Breakfast was included in the rate, and it was above average for a continental breakfast. Internet was also included in the rate, which worked well, very quick. If you are looking for a hotel with all of the frills like a pool and a gym, then this isn't your best option. But if you just need a place to stay at night that is clean and comfortable, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elias B, Owner at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Kristy:

Thank you very much for your positive remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you had great stay with us, and hoped you had a good time in Panama.

We look forward to see you again at Metro Hotel Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 113 in Panama City
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 113 in Panama City
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#54 of 113 in Panama City
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#61 of 113 in Panama City
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 113 in Panama City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Panama

Property: Metro Hotel Panama
Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, located in the best shopping and entertaining area of Panama City. Within walking distance to Metro station, restaurants, bars, casinos, night clubs, shopping, and banking area. 30 Minutes driving to Tocumen Airport. Wi-fi in all rooms and lobby. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing