We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will recommend!”
Review of Metro Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Panama
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Metro hotel is a great little surprise! Very nice rooms, great breakfast, very clean, near great restaurants and the best of all GREAT costumer service! And if you need a tour or shuttle service they have a very nice young lady that will take you everywhere with a big smile on her face! (Rare thing in panama!)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Metro Hotel Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

the staff is very helpful and friendly. we got maps and directions to go to different places. thanks to Luis, Anita and Alvaro for the great service.
I will choose this Hotel to my next trip to Panama

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Panama City is not the best city to explore by foot. But this hotel is in an area where you can find a nice range of restaurants and shops nearby. A nice treat for those who don't want to catch a cab every time they leave the hotel. Nice rooms, with comfortable beds and free wifi available. However, the wifi-reception was quite unstable in the room. Better in the hallway.

The people at the front desk were friendly, even if one of them didn't speak too much English. The staff were helpful booking a trip with a private guide to the Miraflores locks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magneme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A average hotel, that making some improvement will bring benefits. First the standard beds really are small (definitely not for an average size couple), we got some old towels (weary edges...bad), the breakfast pitiful. One day they cleaned the room but did not change the sheets on the bed and not everyday the towels were changed neither, we had to remind them. To make matters worse, in front of the hotel there was sewage water and feces leak coming out in the street, some got on my husband feet and was contaminated with salmonella a week after we got back from vacation. If you have small children, the area around the hotel is not the best at nightlife...rose zone...
Won't be back to this place.

Room Tip: Make sure ask about the standard room (it's not for average size couple or family)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima447, Gerente at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. All constructive criticism are welcomed, as it helps us to better our service. I am not sure why our housekeeper did not change the bed sheets that day but we have a sign in the room which the guests should leave on top of the pillow in order to change sheets. This is because we are an eco hotel trying to contribute to save water and produce less waste for our environment. (Anyways, by hotel policy bedsheets are changed obligatory every 2 days during your stay).
We are very sorry to hear that your husband was contaminated. Our sewage problem is something that is out of our control. We have complained numerously times with the government. They come and fix the problem, unclog, but they have to do a big job there. We have a committee with the hotels in the area to sit and negotiate with the government the repairs in the area. Once again thank you for your feedback and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Hope to see you soon in Panama city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Unfortunately, my visit was cut short due to unforeseen circumstances. However, the front desk staff were very accommodating and helpful when I had to check out early and cancel tours and reservations for the remainder of my stay to fly back to Canada. I was only here a couple of days, but this hotel is in a great location for restaurants and groceries. The front desk staff were also very helpful in arranging tours and taxis when needed. The hotel is not all the quiet (you can hear doors closing), but that may be how things are designed in Panama. Oh, and you better like firm beds or this might not be the place for you. When I return to Panama City to continue the vacation I had to cut short, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, we had room 311 (an end unit) that looked over a parking lot..
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima447, Gerente at Metro Hotel Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your positive remarks regarding our staff. We were very sorry you had to leave early. I personally recently had a very similar situation and I can properly understand you now. We hope you can come back to Panama and stay with us again. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Upon arrival we were told our room was not ready and would be ready in about 10 minutes. An hour later our room was ready. As they took us to the room the cleaning lady was still in there moping the floor. No big deal really. After having to wait a long time to get to our room I was still upbeat about having a nice bed to sleep in but the beds were pretty hard (2 doubles) to the room. There was lots of outside noise as well all throughout the night. They do have a nice hot shower. Cannot comment on breakfast as they do not start serving breakfast until after 7 I believe. We had to leave early 5:30 am so no breakfast for us. We asked the night before if we could get some fruit or something in a to go box for us as we would miss breakfast. They said there was no way to get us anything to take along with us. Really? I mean how hard is it to give us an apple or something for our trip? We did PAY for breakfast with our fare.

The only thing I really liked was they allowed us to store our luggage for a few days while we traveled out of Panama City.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the metro hotel panma is really all average. the service is ok but nothing to talk about. the rooms are big but not very inspiring. at least they are clea. the breakfast is eatable but neither very good or very bad. the location is good if you like nightlife. good enough for a one night stop over but i would not stay for a longer time. the taxi drivers dont know the location so tell them its near veneto (via espana).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#69 of 115 in Panama City
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.3 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#60 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#58 of 115 in Panama City
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#56 of 115 in Panama City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Panama

Address: Calle D El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £32 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, located in the best shopping and entertaining area of Panama City. Within walking distance to Metro station, restaurants, bars, casinos, night clubs, shopping, and banking area. 30 Minutes driving to Tocumen Airport. Wi-fi in all rooms and lobby. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Metro Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing