We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect Panama stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Panama

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tribe Panama
Ranked #47 of 85 Panama City B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect Panama stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Tribe Panama because of a friend's recommendation-her recommendation was spot on and the 2 bedroom apartment was perfect! From my initial inquiry through our departure everything went smoothly. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable for myself and my children ranging in age from teen to young adult. The location is in the Casco Viejo neighborhood which is in the process of being beautifully restored as a World Heritage site. The apartment neighbored the Presidental Palace which meant we had front row seats to the ceremonial band practicing one morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkskelly314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gulfcoast florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

At a recent stay at Tribe Panama, I was happy to be far from the usual cookie cutter lodgings.
It was a pleasant experience from beginning to end and is handled very professionally.Anyone who has heard that Casco Viejo may not be safe- listen to me. Our apartment was quite close to the Presidential Palace and the old town is well guarded.
I was pleased with our choice and with our residence in the Casco Viejo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjoesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was a great place to stay. Before I got there I always got quick email responses and they arranged for our ride from the airport to the apartment. There was some problems with the people in our arranged apartment not leaving when they were supposed to, so they put us in a larger unit (3-39) the first night. Cristina arranged for us to switch to the apartment I had reserved (2-25) at our we we were ready. My sister's flight had been delayed 12 hours, so we were going to be on a tour when she got to the apt. Cristina met her at the apt and gave her a set of keys so she didn't have to hang out until we got back. Of the 2 apartments, I thought 2-25 was by far the best. In 3-39, the bathroom is in one of the bedrooms, which makes it hard for everyone if anyone is asleep in that room. Also, the air in the master doesn't really work and the one in the other bedroom is LOUD. 2-25 had a much bigger and brighter kitchen and a bathroom seperate from the bedrooms. The beds in 2-25 were MUCH more comfortable also. The location is fabulous. From the balcony you have views of downtown Panama City or the square (Plaza Bolivar). There is a few good places to eat right there. Casco Viejo is beautiful, although a little of a mess because of the restoration. There was a large police presence, which made us feel very safe. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I had never been to Panama before this trip, but my boyfriend and I went down and had a really great time. We went all over Panama seeing different areas and surfing. One of the highlights was staying in Casco Viejo at the Tribe Building. The apartment is large and spacious with a great balcony and big kitchen and dining area. We enjoyed cooking at the apartment as well as going out to the great restaurants in Plaza Bolivar. This is a great place to be in Panama City, we really loved it. Thank you very much Rick and Cristina.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dknepley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We are heading back to panama for the 4th time this month and we will be staying at Tribe Apartments again.
The owner, Rick is superbly attentive to every detail and is quickly responsive to any concerns and requests.
The past 2 visits we stayed in the 2 bedroom and I was joking that if we could only move the apartment back to Brooklyn, I would happily live there forever.
the bedrooms are large and the kitchen is spacious and easy to move around.
For the upcoming trip we will be staying in one of his other apartments and I expect it to be just as lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have been traveling to Panama City for a few years now for pleasure and business. I only stay in the area of Casco Viejo when I am in Panama City. This area is great, a very different feel from the rest of the modern city but only 5 min. away. I have been staying at Tribe for the last year or so and this place is truly wonderful, great space, the best location, and the owners / managers are willing to do almost anything to make your stay as good as it can be. I would recommend Tribe to anyone looking to stay in Panama City and without a doubt if you are going to stay in Casco, stay at Tribe.

Room Tip: I have stayed in tribe 1, tribe 2, and Tribe 4. All of great but all of a diffrent feel. All the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
Crowne Plaza Panama Airport
#41 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#33 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cadis Tower
#60 of 110 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carolina Princess
Hotel Carolina Princess
#56 of 85 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Panama

Property: Tribe Panama
Address: 2-25 / 3-39 Calle 4 este | San Felipe, Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRIBE BUILDING: The Tribe Building sits on a small quiet street yet enjoys all the benefits of being in the heart of Casco Viejo, just steps from Plaza Bolivar and the Presidential Palace. The Tribe Building is only 5 minutes by Taxi to central shopping and Super Markets with many nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The balconies at Tribe afford spectacular views of the ocean and the Panama City skyline. Tribe’s subtle entryways make for shady days and quiet nights, all with the feel of a jaunt back in time. However, each of our apartments is furnished with modern amenities including Satellite TV, high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, a full kitchen, dining area and a large bathroom. Take a stroll along the ocean and admire the ever-growing city skyline or meander through the quiet streets of Casco Viejo in search of a shady cafe or any one of Plaza Bolivar's popular outdoor restaurants. The Tribe building has the very unique benefit of being situated between both Plaza Bolivar and the Presidential Palace thereby making it not only one of the most interesting and exciting areas of Panama City but also one of the safest in the entire city. TRIBE SUITE: Master bedroom has a full bath with a king-size bed as well as a den area with full-size bed. The suite has a large full-size kitchen as well as a spacious sitting and dining area that opens to a full-size balcony with ocean and city views. The suite has air conditioning throughout, color TV, ceiling fans and full size closet. The kitchen has a refrigerator, stove with oven, microwave, coffee maker, dish washer, washer and dryer, cooking pots and pans with utensils for dining and seating for four. Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, Satellite TV and Local Cell Phone provided. LOCATION: Casco Viejo (Casco Antiguo) or San Felipe, is the oldest city in Central America and at the heart and soul of Panamanian architecture. Its picturesque buildings, red brick cobblestone streets, and age-old religious landmarks were honored in 1997 when UNESCO declared it a World Heritage Site. The diverse sense of culture and history could be represented no place better. Take a leisurely walk where the colonial architecture, friendly people and ocean breezes are reminiscent of a step back in time. Plus, the restaurants and Cafes in Casco Viejo are second to none in Panama City. Casco Viejo is only minutes from the center of Panama City by Taxi even though you’ll have no desire to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tribe Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing