We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Westin Playa Bonita is a great new hotel close to Panama Canal with excellent pools and awesome view of the canal entrance.
Good but pricy restaurant and the service was good.
Rooms are new and views of the ocean are spectacular. The resort is not close to Panama City ($30 usd taxi ride) and once you are in the resort its hard to get out for dinner or any other activity.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemsinvestments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

It is great to learn you loved your stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the relaxing on the pool and that your enjoyed the view from you room.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon and give you the service that you always expecting.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

I went here for a business meeting. It as an exceptional place for this, because the rooms and meeting facilities were lovely and everything you need is on site. The pools and beach are beautiful and well maintained. My room very clean and overlooked the ocean, with a lovely balcony. While the temps were in the 90's, there was always a breeze off the water and it was comfortable the entire time. Meals and drinks were included in the package price. However, if you want to see Panama you will have to go to some effort, since the location is not very near anything else.
As noted by some others the amount of English spoken by the staff varied tremendously. This was not a major impediment in my case, but could be a problem. I also agree that the sound-proofing between rooms is meager. My "neighbors" were not very noisy, but I could easily hear footsteps, shower and toilet flushes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We are excited to learn that you enjoyed your trip at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Thank you for your compliments on our property and we hope that we can welcome you back to the resort soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel, and while the hotel itself, and the grounds are beautiful, the service is terrible. The tour company within the hotel is wonderful, and I would highly recommend using them. Whatever you do, do not eat at the buffet restaurants! The service is by far the worst I've ever had, and extremely slow. The food is inedible, they dont refill your drink, and they charge $35 per person! We had to ask for our check three times, and wait nearly half an hour before having to track down our server for it. We saw several other tables just walk out, so we were extremely disappointed to pay so much for a terrible meal, and terrible service. I am surprised that such a reputable hotel would allow this standard of service. They need to provide more training to their employees, and if they are going to target the tourist clientele , then they should have enough English speaking employees. The view from our room is out of this world, but beware of noise! The pool area is very loud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. It's with disappointment to read about the shortfalls during your recent stay.

Rest assured that these issues will be vigilantly looked into again by the management to avoid such similar recurrences in the future. On behalf of the management, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused.

We hope that this experience will not put us in your permanent disfavor and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Went on a business getaway and the place was very nice, very very clean. The staff while friendly spoke little to no english which made asking for things out of the norm pretty chanllenging. It is also somewhat far from attractions and restaurants. They did have a good amout of choices for restaurants and we ate in each of them and food was very good.

Room Tip: Ocean side is much nicer than the "Bus farm" on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kainoa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. It's delighting to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Your kind words on our service are much appreciated and rest assured that it will be forwarded to the team as I'm sure it will further fuel their passion to do better.

Again, thank you very much for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just had a very pleasant one night stay at the Westin Playa Bonita. The room was attractive and enjoyed the water view. Had business to do in the city but appreciated getting away from the hustle bustle and noise of the city with a quick drive over the Bridge of the Americas. The food was great and the staff very friendly. We did a buffet for breakfast and lunch and dinner at the Asian restaurant a la carte. Enjoyed all three meals. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goroatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

It was a real treat to once again welcome you back to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Thank you for making us your home away from home. It is great to see that you enjoyed our service and that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer here at the resort.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Excellent staff, especially in the executive lounge. The spa was wonderful. The beach, not so great. You won't be swimming in the ocean, just the pool. Take bug spray and Bendryl. The cab to Old Town cost about $50 each way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyof5inArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

We appreciate the kind words you wrote about our resort and thank you for your time in writing your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed many of the amenities our resort has to offer and we hope that you and your family enjoyed your time at Westin Playa Bonita Panama. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you to our resort soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

(The email i sent to Westin customer care)


I am writing this email to inform you about the very disappointing experience my 3 friends and I had at your Westin Hotel in Playa Bonita, Panama from February 15-20th of 2013. To begin, I want you to know that my friends and I chose the Westin because of its reputation as being a four-star, luxury hotel with excellent facilities and staff. Unfortunately this is not what we found at the Westin in Playa Bonita.

From the moment we made the reservation the hotel was incompetent in processing and handling our request. The woman who made our reservation made the reservation for 2 people and not 4 and put the dates in as March 15-20th, not February 15-20th. We had to go through a huge ordeal to still get the rate she quoted for us originally. This was time consuming and unnecessary.

The staff at this hotel was completely incompetent. The staff at the front desk was rude and unwilling to help with simple requests such as calling a taxi for us or making a local call. They told us to use the payphones, which did not even work. I have never heard of a hotel front desk unable to make local phone calls for their guests. We waited over 45 minutes one evening to get a taxi to take us into Panama City. Needless to say we missed our dinner reservation. It was completely shocking that a major hotel in a capitol city did not have speedy access to a taxi service.

The quality of the food was also very poor. Panama is a country full of fresh produce and the selection of fruits and vegetables offered at the hotel was surprisingly limited. Also, the only food that was available after 10pm were sandwiches. I can’t imagine that a hotel such as the Westin would not offer full meals after 10pm. After our meals, whether it be breakfast, lunch, or dinner we would have to search high and low for a waiter/waitress in order to get the bill. The wait staff, I can only assume, thought that everyone was an all-inclusive guest and rarely came to give us our checks. We always had to ask for it and then wait approx. 10 minutes just to be given the bill. Another issue is that we always had to make sure we had exact change because the wait staff never had change. They always had to go find change, which usually took another 10 minutes.

Housekeeping services at the hotel were also especially inconsistent and incompetent. One day our room was not cleaned when we returned from the beach at 4pm. We then found a maid outside and asked her when she would clean our room. She assured us that she would come clean the room at 9pm. We then asked her for towels so that we could shower before dinner. After getting ready for the evening we left the room. When we returned from dinner around 12 am, the room was still untouched. We called down to the front desk and they told us that there was nothing to be done because housekeeping had already left for the day. Another constant issue was the amount of towels we were given on a daily basis. They never gave us enough towels for 4 people, we had to call and wait EVERYDAY for an adequate amount of towels.

Our anger and disappointment with the service at the hotel reached its pinnacle when dealing with the concierge at the hotel. The concierge proved to be inadequate in recommending places to have dinner, organizing excursions, and even renting a car for us. We actually had to walk over to the Intercontinental Hotel and talk with their trustworthy concierge to make dinner reservations one night. The concierge at our hotel recommended that the best way for us to go to the natural springs of El Valle (a very popular tourist attraction in Panama) was to rent a car and drive ourselves there. Thinking that the concierge wouldn’t steer us wrong, we booked the car service through the concierge. The next day our car was supposed to arrive at 8am. The concierge told us that the drive would be about 1hr and a half and that it would be very easy to get to as long as we followed the GPS. To our great surprise, the car never showed up and after waiting for an hour, the concierge determined that something was wrong. It turns out that the woman who booked our car rental the day prior, Sharlene, did not book it correctly nor did she log which Hertz rental she booked with. It took another half an hour to figure out which Hertz rental we had the reservation with and to book another car. This “mishap” delayed us 3 hours! And the tourist attraction that was supposed to be “easy to get to” took us 2 and a half hours to find because we needed to go off road to get to it! That mistake ruined our entire day ! The next day, since we still had the car rental, we decided that we would like to relax at a beach on the carribean side of the country. Once again, we went to the concierge for advice. They advised us to go to a beach called La Isla Grande. They told us it would only take one hour to get to and that it was beautiful! Needless to say, the drive took 3 hours, most of which consisted of small dirt roads through unsafe towns. When we finally arrived at the beach, it was far from special and there were maybe only 10 other tourists at this rundown tourist site.

We became so fed up with the hotel and decided to take time from our vacation to complain to a manager. The manager, Miriam, simply jotted down notes on a pad of paper as we expressed our complaints. She NEVER followed up with us or did ANYTHING to make our stay more enjoyable. The only thing she did do was providing us with transportation to the Hertz car rental center 15 minutes away. (We were already 2 hours behind schedule, so her gesture barely helped our day)

I would just like to end by restating the fact that we chose to stay at the Westin because of its well known and respectable name and the Westin in Playa Bonita does not represent their name, they put it to shame. The staff at this particular hotel had no idea what they were doing and their lack of training was made very evident. As guests, we felt that everyday was a battle and it was made our responsibility to try and figure out everything on our own in a different country. Unfortunately our experience in Panama was tainted and tarnished by the hotel’s incompetency and lack of care for their guests. I do not think that we would ever choose to stay at a Westin again, nor would we recommend this hotel chain our friends or family.

Disgruntled and Disappointed Guests,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,308 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
928 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 115 in Panama City
2,744 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 115 in Panama City
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £112 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing