We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #6 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is quite a new hotel, 20 minutes away from Panama City. Since the hotel is new, it looks great and has everything you may expect from a hotel on its category. The pool area is beautiful. Rooms are very nice, equipped and clean and the staff is really friendly and efficient. I had a problem with the shower on my room and in less than 20 minutes after I reported it, a guy came, checked what the problem was, and changed the damaged parts. From rooms with ocean view you can see the ships that are in line to enter the Canal. This is a great choice for a business or a pleasure trip.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 10th floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We really appreciated your value comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Your comments are always well heard in order to strive every day to give the best of us and provide a service of excellence.

Hope offers us the opportunity to host you again during future visits to Panama City.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 3,163 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

This location pleases many. Not only is it tropical, it also has an educational aspect with the Panama Canal and the soon to open BioMuseo.

Watch the boats lining up to pass through the canal out your window and then scurry down to the Clarins Sensory Spa and stay all day due to the amazing facilties and the low prices.

Room Tip: You can get a Renewal Suite for the price of a US hotel room. They are amazing and have luxurious b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpaTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

We always happy to assist you everything that you and your family decide visit Panama City again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a great place to relax and unwind in. The rooms were large and clean with great ocean views. Food was awesome. Pools great, plenty of lounge chairs. The fitness centre is well equipped and the spa has some excellent services. All staff were extremely helpful.
The beach can be walked on but I wouldn't want to swim in the sea. Only drawback I would say is the distance from Panama City.I would go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

It is wonderful to hear that you had an excellent experience with us at the Westin Playa Bonita Hotel. It is fantastic to see that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our pools.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Panama City.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

As a platinum member we were treated to a very nice suite. It was a special anniversary and we were treated to a bottle of wine as well. We ate dinner at Tierra y Fuego, they took very good care of us and the food was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was only average. There were far too many gnats in the fruit and on the pastries, it was rather nasty, they attempted to keep them off by keeping food wrapped in plastic wrap, but they are little and find their way in. The selection was OK. However quality was not the best. We had the breakfast included in our rate, I would not have paid extra for it. The platinum lounge has a very nice view, great service and a nice selection of alcohol. The appetizer's were a little hit or miss. It seemed like when they were expecting a bigger crowd, the appetizers were better. Part of our stay it was very slow and on those days the appetizers were not as strong, but still good. The lounge is open during the afternoon and they provide chips/salsa/guacamole. It would be nice to have coffee/tea and maybe cookies. We had a higher room with view of the water. Mosquitoes make their way all the way up,even to the higher rooms so make sure you spray yourself if on your balcony. The water pressure was horrible unless you like a cold show, it took far too long for hot water in the shower and only drizzles out. The bath tub and sink do have hot water quicker. There is a fire alarm (?) above the bed that blinks all night long....right above the bed...not the best location for it. I would like to address the other reviews regarding service. Yes, many of the employees are not strong with the English language but we are in Panama. I understand that folks want to be comfortable and for some that means that everyone speaks their language...if you TRY the staff more than tries back. Some think that they are here to be served, and yes, you are however I would recommend smiling and attempting a few words of Spanish. If you really want only English, there is always someone in each room that does know English so just ask. The Panamanians are very nice. I think some are a bit shy and nervous to try their English as we witnessed some folks being rather mean when they did not understand them. The Westin could probably benefit from teaching their staff a few more phrases in English, but in no way did this interrupt our care. The service is hit or miss as some have already written. For example they strive hard to keep the dinning room very clean but at the expense of service to the customer at times; for instance, you can wait until your breakfast is over some mornings to be served coffee. Some mornings we just got up and went over to the coffee to go section and helped ourselves by filling our mugs. This in no way bothered me but I can see how it would bother others. Our rooms was a water side view. Friends we made had a "bus grave yard" view...the good news is that they seem to be cleaning up the "Bus grave yard" by demolishing and removing the old buses so maybe soon there will no longer be a issue regarding this view. We rented a car and that was perfect for us. The Westin does offer numerous tours so renting a car is not necessary if you do not want to. If you do, make sure you have a GPS. We brought ours from home after downloading the Panama maps. It is very important to still have an idea and map of where you are going as the GPS was a tool here, sometimes it wanted you to go down one way streets so you really have to pay attention. As others have already expressed, the beach is not necessarily what you might expect from a Westin on the water.
We drove down the coast and did not find that the beaches improved much on this side of Panama. The pools are beautiful and spacious. It is very important that you spray yourself due to the amount of insects.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you very much for let us know your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

We are really appreciated the time that you taking and please be sure your comments going to be sharing with the managers to find a quick answer.

Welcome back to Panama City soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here for a conference (I think they have about 5 a week!) and thought it was excellent value, great rooms with fantastic views. Food was great, service was generally good. The beach is only good for walking on but the pools are excellent, particularly if - like me - you like to get a proper swim in, as it has a 60m stretch for swimming laps in.
Although the hotel is massive (ridiculously so, given the setting), the location is a bit out of town, and with little round about you may get a little cabin fever, but you can get a taxi to the old town in about 20 minutes.
Must be fantastic for a family visit, as you can stay well clear of the (unappealing) city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calumsbigtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

We really appreciated your value comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Your comments are always well heard in order to strive every day to give the best of us and provide a service of excellence.

Hope offers us the opportunity to host you again during future visits to Panama City.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've stayed here a few times now and everytime I am superbly impressed. The hotel is brand new and impressive, and the lobby is really cool. The pools and spa are the nicest I've seen in Latin America, and I love the pool volleyball court. The spa is surprisingly affordable for a full service resort like this- I highly recommend the swedish massage at the spa. The aloe lotion is great!

The restaurant Terre y Fuego has a really good steak and ceviche, and a good wine selection. But overall I have never had a meal that is short of great here in any of the restaurants.

This is one of my favorite resorts, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieweltgehtweiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel.

From the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.

Once again thank you for your comments and do not hesitate to contact us for further assistant.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed here for a conference. It is a great property with rooms having excellent views.
Pros:
1. Great rooms with really nice views
2. Wifi across the hotel is really good.
3. Breakfast choice is excellent.
4. Staff is very friendly
Cons
1. The Star Fish grill resto is very very slow in service and gets the orders mixed up. It took us two hours to get sandwhiches.
2. Very very slow check-in and check-out. Lots of people complaining about being over charged or incorrectly charged
3. Staff struggle with English and most speak Spanish only

Overall, I think think the experience has been positive. I would stay here again despite the issues.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmadan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments.

On behalf of the Westin Playa Bonita Panama, please accept our most sincere apologies for all inconveniences occurred during your stay. I will share your feedback with our staff team so we can ensure we continue to provide our guests with the important details.

Please give us the opportunity to service in a near future and once again sorry for all the inconveniences.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#15 of 115 in Panama City
1,357 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#7 of 115 in Panama City
946 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
2,791 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £131 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing