We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Barrios, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and i have lived in panama for five years and have tried several all-inclusives. The westin playa bonita is by far the Best of the bunch. The buffets had excellent food that tasted very homemade, not like the processed junk they have at many other places. The pools were beautiful and the hotel was quiet and relaxing. The rooms are very comfortable, deluxe accommodations. We were fully prepared to have to speak spanish to make our arrangements - after all everyone, this is a spanish speaking country, and were pleasantly surprised at how much of the staff spoke english well. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    727
    277
    115
    63
See reviews for
754
725
62
525
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was there over the holiday for a wedding and had a very nice time. The service is OK for Panama, but the the food needs improvement! Rooms are very nice, and the bathrooms are modern and clean. The pools are nice, but the beach is not pristine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyTraveler_567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is incredibly gorgeous, the pools are fabulous. The restaurants - some were awesome, some below par...the service overall was not so great. I know I need to learn Spanish, but as of now I do not speak it...and VERY few people at the hotel spoke English. A bit frustrating when trying to ask a question at the desk or order a meal. In 7 nights I only received coffee with cream & sugar & cups with lids in my room ONCE. It was hit or miss..sometimes coffee, no cups, cups & coffee but no condiments...too many towels, not enough towels...Definitely NOT up to Westin standards. I am confident that things will get better...I do understand that the hotel is still new, and the tourist industry is still relatively new in Panama. I was happy with the beach, it is not Carribean Blue...because it's the Pacific! It was fine for sun bathing, shell finding, and I swam in it no problem, but I swim in the Atlantic all the time, as well as lakes, etc so it doesn't bother me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverkat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you very much for contacting us regarding your recent experience at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Please apologies us for all the inconveniences that you have with the service during your visit. We certainly take messages like yours as motivation to return a greater focus on providing each guest every time with the upmost in personalised service.

I do hope you will allow us an opportunity to win back your confidence. Please let us know if we can help you plan a return trip and improve on this experience.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This resort was beautiful, the rooms were nice and clean but there is really not much of a beach and the service was far to be desired. We had dinner at the steak house one evening and waited 1 1/2 hours just for our check and this was after an hour long meal! The service is less than desirable, they really don't seem to cater to the guests at all. The spa was nice but I had 2 scheduled treatments and they forgot about me after the first one and after an hour I had to go up to the front desk in my robe and ask if anyone was going to come and get me. I asked if I could just have product instead since I had been there for 2 1/2 hours at that point and they did oblige. Overall, the location was nice but we were not sold on Panama.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having an ocean view room that also overlooks the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellehaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama, and thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I’m sorry that your stay was met with disappointment in the service attention and timeliness we provided you. We strive to welcome each guest with a standard of excellence in our customer service. Certainly your comments will be used as motivation to improve in our customer satisfaction goals.

I hope you will consider visiting us again so we can provide you with an improved experience and win back your loyalty. Welcome back soon!!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

When we got there we were like what a nice location! It is beautiful!! There is no doubt that it s beautiful and scenery with the backdrop of jungle and hills are spectacular!

Spa and salon have excellent service!

But then comes the most important part of every guest stay unless you don't want your room to be cleaned , don't want to order drinks, or get clean table at the restaurants or get any kind of service! It is incredible how nonchalant the employees are. We did not understand how a Westin hotel will manage their employees this way. We never say any manager walking around checking if the tables were clean, you have to ask twice to three times for water at the table IF you saw a waiter. The pool area floor is peeled off and if you want to get out from the pool somewhere else besides the stairs you could get severely cut!

The rooms were beautiful but when we left in the morning and asked for the room to be cleaned, we came back in the late afternoon and found nothing has been done. This happened three days in a row! Not normal.

All in all we were very excited to get there and this kind of service really messed up the whole experience!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking ocean best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nati031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama did not meet your expectations and I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment.

Please be assured that your comment is extremely valuable to us and help us to improve our service and property on a daily basis.

We look forward to welcoming you again so that we may display the type of hospitality and service we are certainly capable of delivering.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is by far the best hotel near Panama City! The rooms are VERY nice and comfortable!! 1 of 2 hotels sharing the only beach near the city and it's totally private and clean! The hotel is located about 15 min from downtown Panama City on a beautiful jungle road. Enjoy beautiful vies of the beach, ocean, islands and ships entering and exiting the Panama Canal.
Outside there are 6 beautiful pools that are massive and 20 ft from the beach.
Only negative would be pricey resort food, but it is good quality and the restaurants are beautiful.
Very calm and quiet, unlike anything in the city!!
I would definitely pay the extra price for the beautiful view - it's well worth it!

I will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Book a room as high as possible for the fantastic views! Ocean view upgrade is well worth it ad the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. All your comments are very valuable for us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our first time at the Westin and in Panama. Loved the hotel! Pool, service, food were all excellent We knew the beach was shell covered so it was not a disapointment to us. Also, no problems with sand fleas. Enjoyed taking walks and collecting shells on the beach. Also, Panama was a great country to visit. Police and taxi drivers were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAD42646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have a wonderfull experience.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing