We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Enjoy”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently went to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. It was my first time in Panama, and I didn't know what to expect. As we drove from city to the hotel, feelings were a little unsure about a vacation resort, but by the time we got to the Westin, I was very excited. The appearance of the hotel, the cleanliness, the overall ambiance. Walked into a great big open lobby and huge glass windows seeing the outside and ocean! Great start!
They had live music every night, and a couple of different places to find a drink. Also, outside sitting where you could still here the music, but be able to converse in a comfortable setting. During the day there is the beach, a group of pools with activities. Pool volleyball, beach volleyball, kayaking, and certain days live music and fun water activities.
The Staff was most helpful. Very friendly, easy to get along with, and willing to help! Jose helped us find a crucial college basketball game and hooked it up on a huge TV (Go Syracuse!!) Brian and Lorenzo were always fun and helpful around the pool as well. Dalis was great as well. All of their service made it that much more fun and enjoyable!
If you choose to go, enjoy and have fun. Keep an open mind! No place is perfect, but I feel they did their best to really make us feel welcomed!!
Thank you
JFiacco

Room Tip: The higher the level (14,15,16+) the better the view. And an ocean side view. Waking up to blue ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    752
    283
    118
    65
See reviews for
809
758
62
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arrived to this big hotel late night with quick check in service. My room was nice and was phasing the water. Upon the sunrise I went walking on the nice beach and the hotel has a very nice pool area. We had a conference and the wireless network went down most of the time. The food was very bad and they served food that was supposed to be hot very cold which is danger for your body. If local health authorities would check the resturant status during our stay for lunch and dinner they would found lots of cold food items that should have been hot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.

We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

i am a frequent SPG guest and I have visited many Westin proprieties throughout the globe. I thought that no one could top the Westin Nusa Dua in Bali but this property did just that. I loved my stay here from the moment that I arrived. They pamper their SPG platinum members which I love. Staff members like Azucena (at the poolside), Plutarico (at the lobby bar) & Jose (at the club lounge) just made my stay the best that I have experienced at a Westin. I wish that I had my make my stay cards to hand each one of these staff members. The facilities are immaculate and the entire property is beautiful. We took advantage of the club lounge and the food was fantastic. We also took part in a spa promotion and we thought that the spa services were very good. The views are sensational and the pool is lit up beautifully at night. There were pool and ping pong tables for us to use. I hadn't seen that at any other property. The gift store was huge, there were several restaurants to choose from, and our only regret is that we didn't stay here for our entire time in Panama. Overall, this hotel is well worth a visit if you plan to visit Panama.

Room Tip: Even if you don't have status here, book a club room that gives you access to the club lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for your terrific review of the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

It was very rewarding for us to learn that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind comments for our team member with everyone that you recognize and give them a big thank you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We enjoyed our first time experience in Panama very much at the Westin Playa Bonita. The facility is well suited for large groups and smaller seminar type meetings. It is well laid out allowing for beautiful ocean views. You can see in the distance boats patiently waiting their turn to enter the Panama Canal. There are many lovely pools which are situated right by the ocean.

Depending upon what time of the day, the beach took on a different appearance. When the tide was out you can see the ocean floor and walk out further. It is a pleasant beach and easy to stroll along and play on.

Staff engagement overall (even those who spoke little English) was positive and friendly, albeit sometimes fairly slow. We did have extra friendly and attentive service from Fernando Alonso and Irma in the Pacifica restaurant as well as the host and hostesses in the Pacifica and Oceanica. Maria Gabriela was a friendly perky girl who chatted with us before our departure back home.

The Westin Playa Bonita was an easy spot to venture out on tours. The Gamboa Tours is located in the front lobby. We took a tour of the Panama Canal, an Indigenous Village Tour and a Rainforest Cable Car/Monkey Island Adventure and found them to be enlightening and enjoyable.

You should take bug replentant or use the bug repentant towelettes the hotel provides…there are bugs around depending where you are walking (often no even seen), but this will not effect your visit just be aware and prepared.

Room Tip: We cannot compare our room with others rooms at this hotel, however, our room on the 14th floor over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank December80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us. It is always a treat to hear from our valued guests and we were thrilled to learn you meet new friends that always been happy to help you in your requests. It is our desire to deliver outstanding service to all our guests to ensure their time here is the best it can be.

We are truly grateful for your positive comments and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. Ocean view room was amazing and worth the extra cost. Food was good with lots of variety. The service was excellent. Thomas at the concierge desk was very helpful. A special thank you to waitresses Irma and Ana Sofia and to Saide for her extra-special pool-side service. The activities crew at the pool, especially Lorenzo "lolo" and Brian, were a blast and we enjoyed getting to know them. We highly recommend this hotel and definitely would return for another relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: ocean side, upper level floors is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The westin hotel in Panama is a hotel with style and comfort. I highly recommend it for any time you want to visit that city. The service is excellent and has large area and in the lobby with very soft armchairs. Fitness area is delicious and has good view and you can enjoy a swimming pool with infinity view over Panama

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynaperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is nice and New .. Rooms are big and nice.
The pool was to small for the amount of people they have there.. They have 3 pools and 2 of then are reserve for "special rooms" also the beach is contaminated and you can really swim in there.
They have 3 buffets that none of them had a decent selection ... Always the same type of food and no Variety ..
Also they don't let gust come inside the hotel a manager at night name Orlando Niño told me that if I wanted I could leave with my guest but they couldn't come in ... The way he tread me was offensive and I had to complain the next day ...
In general ppl where nice but a bit slow in there service ..
I wouldn't go back to that hotel having so many other and better options like the brand new trump hotel . Same price better service ..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 113 in Panama City
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 113 in Panama City
1,103 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 113 in Panama City
591 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing