We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Meridien Panama(Panama City)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Coral Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Global Hotel Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,468)
Filter reviews
3,468 results
Traveller rating
2,059
894
310
127
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,059
894
310
127
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstierra y fuegoplaya bonitastarfish grilllow tidepacifica restaurantbilly jeanall inclusive packagekids clubbeautiful resortpools are greatocean viewall inclusive plangamboa toursa la carte restaurantspool areaships waitinglobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,480 - 1,485 of 3,468 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently went to the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. It was my first time in Panama, and I didn't know what to expect. As we drove from city to the hotel, feelings were a little unsure about a vacation resort, but by the time we got to the Westin, I was very excited. The appearance of the hotel, the cleanliness, the overall ambiance. Walked into a great big open lobby and huge glass windows seeing the outside and ocean! Great start!
They had live music every night, and a couple of different places to find a drink. Also, outside sitting where you could still here the music, but be able to converse in a comfortable setting. During the day there is the beach, a group of pools with activities. Pool volleyball, beach volleyball, kayaking, and certain days live music and fun water activities.
The Staff was most helpful. Very friendly, easy to get along with, and willing to help! Jose helped us find a crucial college basketball game and hooked it up on a huge TV (Go Syracuse!!) Brian and Lorenzo were always fun and helpful around the pool as well. Dalis was great as well. All of their service made it that much more fun and enjoyable!
If you choose to go, enjoy and have fun. Keep an open mind! No place is perfect, but I feel they did their best to really make us feel welcomed!!
Thank you
JFiacco

Room Tip: The higher the level (14,15,16+) the better the view. And an ocean side view. Waking up to blue skies everyday, the ocean view from our balcony , is a great way to start your day!! Made my vacation better!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Arrived to this big hotel late night with quick check in service. My room was nice and was phasing the water. Upon the sunrise I went walking on the nice beach and the hotel has a very nice pool area. We had a conference and the wireless network went down most of the time. The food was very bad and they served food that was supposed to be hot very cold which is danger for your body. If local health authorities would check the resturant status during our stay for lunch and dinner they would found lots of cold food items that should have been hot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.

We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

i am a frequent SPG guest and I have visited many Westin proprieties throughout the globe. I thought that no one could top the Westin Nusa Dua in Bali but this property did just that. I loved my stay here from the moment that I arrived. They pamper their SPG platinum members which I love. Staff members like Azucena (at the poolside), Plutarico (at the lobby bar) & Jose (at the club lounge) just made my stay the best that I have experienced at a Westin. I wish that I had my make my stay cards to hand each one of these staff members. The facilities are immaculate and the entire property is beautiful. We took advantage of the club lounge and the food was fantastic. We also took part in a spa promotion and we thought that the spa services were very good. The views are sensational and the pool is lit up beautifully at night. There were pool and ping pong tables for us to use. I hadn't seen that at any other property. The gift store was huge, there were several restaurants to choose from, and our only regret is that we didn't stay here for our entire time in Panama. Overall, this hotel is well worth a visit if you plan to visit Panama.

Room Tip: Even if you don't have status here, book a club room that gives you access to the club lounge. You won't regret it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for your terrific review of the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

It was very rewarding for us to learn that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind comments for our team member with everyone that you recognize and give them a big thank you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We enjoyed our first time experience in Panama very much at the Westin Playa Bonita. The facility is well suited for large groups and smaller seminar type meetings. It is well laid out allowing for beautiful ocean views. You can see in the distance boats patiently waiting their turn to enter the Panama Canal. There are many lovely pools which are situated right by the ocean.

Depending upon what time of the day, the beach took on a different appearance. When the tide was out you can see the ocean floor and walk out further. It is a pleasant beach and easy to stroll along and play on.

Staff engagement overall (even those who spoke little English) was positive and friendly, albeit sometimes fairly slow. We did have extra friendly and attentive service from Fernando Alonso and Irma in the Pacifica restaurant as well as the host and hostesses in the Pacifica and Oceanica. Maria Gabriela was a friendly perky girl who chatted with us before our departure back home.

The Westin Playa Bonita was an easy spot to venture out on tours. The Gamboa Tours is located in the front lobby. We took a tour of the Panama Canal, an Indigenous Village Tour and a Rainforest Cable Car/Monkey Island Adventure and found them to be enlightening and enjoyable.

You should take bug replentant or use the bug repentant towelettes the hotel provides…there are bugs around depending where you are walking (often no even seen), but this will not effect your visit just be aware and prepared.

Room Tip: We cannot compare our room with others rooms at this hotel, however, our room on the 14th floor overlooking the ocean and away from the elevators was wonderful. One thing we did notice about the maid service is that they did not replenish the toiletries regularly (also the tea/coffee supplies), however, this is quickly rectified with a call.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank December80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us. It is always a treat to hear from our valued guests and we were thrilled to learn you meet new friends that always been happy to help you in your requests. It is our desire to deliver outstanding service to all our guests to ensure their time here is the best it can be.

We are truly grateful for your positive comments and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama. Ocean view room was amazing and worth the extra cost. Food was good with lots of variety. The service was excellent. Thomas at the concierge desk was very helpful. A special thank you to waitresses Irma and Ana Sofia and to Saide for her extra-special pool-side service. The activities crew at the pool, especially Lorenzo "lolo" and Brian, were a blast and we enjoyed getting to know them. We highly recommend this hotel and definitely would return for another relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: ocean side, upper level floors is a must
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews