We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum spg rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place has one of the best Platinum acknowledgement programs I have ever seen. We spent 8 nights and 7 days here, the spg lounge is amazing and the staff were all exceptional (Jose, Luz, Eduardo...). because of breakfast and evening snacks and premium drinks offered in the lounge we only did 2 days of the premium all - inclusive which is the only way to go if you choose the all inclusive, but you must be able to get reservations at Tierra y Fuego to really make it worth while. We ate there 4 nights as the food and service was excellent and much superior to the other restaurants on the property, not that they were bad, it was just much better - The hostess, Yadira really made our nights. For those considering ordering a la carte and not doing all inclusive, ask to see menus...pay as you go is pricey. The Asian restaurant Asiana is really quite expensive based on what you get as the portions are small. As for negative comments on service, the resort was really quite empty while we were there so the service was always excellent and the staff pleasant. The pool entertainment was fun, highly suggest getting involved in the programs offered...Thanks Brian. Another tip, if you do the premium plan, Soleo bar offers top-shelf liquor, but you may need to give some direction on how to make your favourite cocktail - they don't mind. feel free to email if you have any questions.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had the pleasure of spending a week at the Westin Playa Bonita. Overall, our experience was exceptional. We were on an "all inclusive" package. We have done the all inclusive at other resorts before and were disappointed in the food. The food at the Westin was excellent whether you went to the buffet or to any of the other restaurants on the property. We were particularly impressed by their steak house which is called Tierra y Fuego. We enjoyed it so much that we made it our evening meal location almost every evening. We were welcomed each evening by their lovely and personable hostess Yadira who went out of her way to make certain that our dining experience was pleasurable. The service was excellent and the staff was pleasant and committed to your dining pleasure.

This commitment was evident outside the restaurants as well. The grounds are clean thanks to the constant attention of the staff all day long. Wait staff were readily available to provide water or fresh beverages and to assure that the empties were disposed of properly before the ever present sea breeze carried them away.

The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were on the 11th floor with a view of the pools and ocean. There is a nice sized balcony with chairs and a table where we could sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful view.

Unfortunately, all good things must end and we had to return to reality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a great time. Food was excellent. Irma Oporta took very good care of us at THE PACIFICA REST. and Sadie at the pool. All inclusive is the way to go! I used the gym everyday, it was so clean and state of the art. Great relaxing family vacation!! Thank you to all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I planned our family spring break for Panama with my little ones(4 yr and 7yr old). I choose this property as it was away from the city and had good choices of pools and water front. I made the right choice.

First all thank you to a few people like Eduardo, Victor, Nivardo, Gustavo, Noaley and others on the property to making our stay one of the most comfortable and enjoyable ones. Always helped us with a smile.
Panama has got some bad reviews on safety and people which is completely wrong. It is no different than visiting any other place. People are willing to help.

Highlights:
- Airport Transfer: We picked a taxi and the normal rate is $45 one way.

- Language: There are very few people on the property who would understand English but are always willing to try to understand and talk. This is one area where the hotel could improve and help the staff.

- Kids Club: Best Kids Club ever. I dropped off my kids from time to time with Noaley. She and her peer would have no problem keeping the kids busy. Ask for Kids Menu.

- Pool Area and Water Front: A very good number of pools and seating all around. Drinks poolside are fairly priced with staff willing to help getting you drinks. Do try the Nacho's and Salsa which is not on the menu. Drink local beers and rum. The water on the beach gets muddy due to canal expansion and other reasons so would not suggest to dive in but the stretch is good for walking around and collecting shells.
In the evenings there are poolside dance and music activities.

- Executive Lounge: Eduardo, Victor, Luz and other members made us very welcome with very good variety of foods and drinks. The lounge floor has a outdoor patio, which can be used for a good view to the bay and view the ships lined up to cross the canal.

- Concierge Desk: Very helpful staff. The two choices we had were the Hop-on Hop-off Bus and Gamboa. We did both but were hoping for more choices.

- Room Service: 24 Hour room service with very prompt delivery to the room. Our kids would pass out early due to day activities and we used room service for some nights. Fairly priced compared to other places and do consider the kids menu.

Areas of Improvement:
- Multi-Lingual Staff: I called the resort multiple times before my visit but people answering phone were not helpful due to language. Need to get better at that.

- On/Off Property Activities: The hotel only has Canoes. They should add other water sport choices or expand the concierge desk with more activity choices. Easy to rent cars or choose other activities should be available given this place is away from the city.

- Expand Gift Shop/Add Vending Machines - There is limited ways to get snacks or soda etc. without ordering from the bar or room service.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank SidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were lucky enough to be guests at the Westin Playa Bonita for a destination wedding. The setting could not have been better. All the guests spent time together around the pool during the day, and then attended a gorgeous beachside wedding in the evening. I really don't have one negative thing to say about this resort. The rooms were beautiful, staff was super friendly, and the food was great! My husband and I are already trying to figure out when we can come back and spend more time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kkgflmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Kudos to Sadie a server at the pool. She was fantastic. Great stretching and massage from Yulissa and Spanish lessons from Brian and Water aerobics with Cielo, Sheroqui and Irma Oporta. Food was fabulous. We had the all inclusive program and every night the buffet was different. Our week at Westin Playa Bonita could not have been better.

Room Tip: Any ocean view room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danmatt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed it very much! Beautiful grounds, good food. Went on canal tour and rain forest! Loved both. Must sees!! Only complaint is kept getting bitten up - even inside some restaurants. They will give you lots of mosquito repellent.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view and it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,308 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
928 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 115 in Panama City
2,744 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 115 in Panama City
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £112 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing