We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #8 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was okay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for a large corporate event. Location was tucked away and felt safe. The hotel is gated and has security at the resort gate.The pools and hotel were very nice! I did not swim in the ocean as it was not very inviting. The room was large enough and the view was great facing the water..but I did not like the lack of privacy in the bathroom! there is only a roller blind between the wall of the bedroom and the bathtub. The toilet area was seperated by a frosted glass door. Putting the lights on at night shines into the room no matter what you do. The servers around the pool did not speak english. It was quite far to go anywhere from the hotel about $30-40 cab ride and serious traffic jams, The hotel sprayed for bugs and supplied wipes for insect repellant. You could look out 24/7 and see the ships lined up waiting in line to get into the Canal...in the distance...The spa was great!

Room Tip: Get a higher up room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katbat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are delighted to read your comments about your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama this type of comments always help us to serve our clients better.
Our main goal is to provide a great level of service and be sure that all our guest leave the hotel with a unforgettable experience.

Once again thank you for your important comments and we hope to service again in a near future.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    752
    283
    118
    65
See reviews for
809
758
62
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

When traveling to Panama City you will have to take into consideration that there is a serious traffic problem. During rush hours, meaning most of the day during business days, you may spend two hours to reach the Westin Playa Bonita from the airport. The hotel is huge, with great large areas and swimming pools. Located on one end of a small bay with only another similar hotel at the other end, the beach not necessarily depicts its name (playa bonita means pretty beach), since the low tide was so significant that uncovered an extended area of the sea bottom presenting a not inviting attraction for swimming, water sports or even staying at the beach. The rooms appeared very well maintained with nice amenities and facilities. However, the tile floors make them noisy if you are unlucky with the kind of shoes used by your neighbor in the room above. Additionally, you need to get used to the also noisy air-conditioned unit, that sometimes does not let you listen to the TV set, which by the way, may lose the signal at any time, probably when you are really interested in watching a show. Finally, the quality and value of food may be considered fair at most. In addition, a very annoying situation happened to me when after signing the lunch check, the ashamed waiter returned to tell me that the system showed that I had not credit. A strange problem since it was my second day of stay and I had submitted a card with practically unlimited credit. I had to go the front desk, a bit far from the restaurant, with the waiter accompanying me to settle the account. Not a happy parade with some people staring. The person in charge found my file, checked something on the computer screen, made a face and simply told me “sorry everything is OK”. No explanations or sincere apologies from him or the manager, as I expected. Anyway, their asset that prevented me of a worse score is the great people providing attentive and efficient service in restaurants and housekeeping. In short, I think that there are many better value places for a beach vacation.

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for providing a thorough description of the issues you faced during your stay. We are sorry for all the inconveniences you faced during your stay. These issues will be addressed with the appropriate staff as soon as possible. Each and every comment is well received and we promise you to better ourselves every day.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are here on a corporate trip. The location is good, very secluded. The beach is shared with another hotel so no beach vendors. There has been some complaints about the lack of English spoken on this site. I have not seen this with the servers I have dealt with. They have hired many younger people and their English is very good. Spent the day with Elliott and Gustavo, who did a great job of keeping the beer cold in the 90 degree heat. They even laughed at my stupid jokes. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J6852YRBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to inform you that steps have been taken to ensure that the quality of our services surpass the levels expected by you and all of our guests. We are in the process to hire more employees with more experienced and hire an English teacher to ensure that all of our associates have knowledge of the language.

We hope to welcome you during your future trips to Panama and continue to provide you with our first rate service we are most proud of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at the Playa Bonita in March for a conference. Overall impressions are mixed.. I'll break it down:

Location: So-so.. far out of Panama City and not a pleasant beach front, unfortunately.

Service - Really inconsistent - awful (and I mean AWFUL) service at the gift shop in the lobby (why do people take service industry jobs they clearly don't like??), slow but friendly service outside for food, and exceptional service by the Concierge team.

Rooms - Very good and nice bathroom with large tub. Views ocean side are nice.

Food - Limited options for outside dining and not much flexibility in ordering from the inside dining menu. Food is ok; nothing exceptional.

Fitness center - Very good.

Pool - Very, very good but the loud boom boom music gets annoying...

Beach - Very average... Don't come here for the beach because you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Learn a bit of Spanish otherwise you will be frustrated traveling in Panama. Bring mosquito repelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We really appreciated your value comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Playa Bonita Panama.

Your comments are always well heard in order to strive every day to give the best of us and provide a service of excellence.

We hope to see you again in a new opportunity and give you the best service ever.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is just beautiful. The view of the Pacific with ships queued up to enter the Panama Canal is quite unique and was always engaging. The hotel has stunning pools and the suite we had was well appointed and comfortable. Tierra Y Fuego was our last dining experience at the hotel and it was absolutely worth the wait. At all of the restaurants there were some issues with language since we don't speak Spanish, but generally communication was accomplished with good humour.

Eduardo and his staff in the SPG lounge offered us gracious and thoughtful service throughout our stay.

I would happily return.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front suite with two balconies not far from the elevators - and they were inaudible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleocat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This place has one of the best Platinum acknowledgement programs I have ever seen. We spent 8 nights and 7 days here, the spg lounge is amazing and the staff were all exceptional (Jose, Luz, Eduardo...). because of breakfast and evening snacks and premium drinks offered in the lounge we only did 2 days of the premium all - inclusive which is the only way to go if you choose the all inclusive, but you must be able to get reservations at Tierra y Fuego to really make it worth while. We ate there 4 nights as the food and service was excellent and much superior to the other restaurants on the property, not that they were bad, it was just much better - The hostess, Yadira really made our nights. For those considering ordering a la carte and not doing all inclusive, ask to see menus...pay as you go is pricey. The Asian restaurant Asiana is really quite expensive based on what you get as the portions are small. As for negative comments on service, the resort was really quite empty while we were there so the service was always excellent and the staff pleasant. The pool entertainment was fun, highly suggest getting involved in the programs offered...Thanks Brian. Another tip, if you do the premium plan, Soleo bar offers top-shelf liquor, but you may need to give some direction on how to make your favourite cocktail - they don't mind. feel free to email if you have any questions.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had the pleasure of spending a week at the Westin Playa Bonita. Overall, our experience was exceptional. We were on an "all inclusive" package. We have done the all inclusive at other resorts before and were disappointed in the food. The food at the Westin was excellent whether you went to the buffet or to any of the other restaurants on the property. We were particularly impressed by their steak house which is called Tierra y Fuego. We enjoyed it so much that we made it our evening meal location almost every evening. We were welcomed each evening by their lovely and personable hostess Yadira who went out of her way to make certain that our dining experience was pleasurable. The service was excellent and the staff was pleasant and committed to your dining pleasure.

This commitment was evident outside the restaurants as well. The grounds are clean thanks to the constant attention of the staff all day long. Wait staff were readily available to provide water or fresh beverages and to assure that the empties were disposed of properly before the ever present sea breeze carried them away.

The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were on the 11th floor with a view of the pools and ocean. There is a nice sized balcony with chairs and a table where we could sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful view.

Unfortunately, all good things must end and we had to return to reality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 113 in Panama City
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 113 in Panama City
1,103 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 113 in Panama City
593 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing