We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just got back from business / vacation for 8 days. Both my wife and I had an enjoyable time staying at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama. The Hotel,rooms and grounds were very clean. Breakfast was average Lunch and Dinner was much better. Room service and Pool / bar service was very good .
Restaurants and Lounges consist of Bamboo Bar, Tidal Bar which were ok nothing really special.
Oceanica and Pacifica ,where they hold their Buffet's were pretty good, food and service.
Oasis Bar and Lounge ,Tapas, Mojitos ,atmosphere, live music food and service were very good
Starfish Grill has both a buffet at times and an à la carte menu. The buffet is much smaller than the others and the à la carte is very limited and not good at all
Tierra y Fuego and Asiana are more or less the Playa Bonita signature restaurants. Tierra is a sort of steakhouse and Asiana ,well the name says what it is. Both restaurants had excellent food but the service in both restaurants were totally lacking, almost really bad .You would think that with the higher prices and the Smart Casual dress code that the service would be better than their other restaurants, but it was not. The wait staff just doesn't get it
Again my wife and I had a good time there and we enjoyed ourselves. Eight days was much too long. It's one of those places that looking back it was good and I'm glad we experienced it, once.

Room Tip: Oceanside to view the ships lining up to enter the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracciolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing with us your comments. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We're sorry to hear that you perceived that our staff didnt want to meet your needs. All our ambience is following the Westin standars to promote the wellbeing of our guests. We hope to welcome you again and give you a renewing experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,991 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently completed a program for 170 attendees and this hotel did a tremendous job! Earlier site visits gave some concern, but the changes have been remarkable and the staff and management are amazing. The attendees absolutely loved the property, pools, bars, etc. The rooms were great - we had all ocean front - the food (new chef) was delicious and creative! The staff truly will do whatever it takes for your event to be successful! I would definitely recommend this and would love to return!

Room Tip: Opt for ocean front! The garden view isn't great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to know that your time with us meet your expectations and enjoyed all the facilities and services that we offer. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another memorable visit!

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got to stay a week. We made some friends while we were there, Jorge Cerrud is a great waiter, Marcos Saturno was our lively bartender, JoAnn took good care of our room, and she remembered my name the second time we met, Liz was our attentive waitress, and Amilcar is a great asset to their entertainment team, and he even joined me in my karaoke act dancing to Madonna!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfergirlchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team has been able to exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although the hotel was pretty and had beautiful views, I felt there was much left to be desired. First, I must say the staff was pleasant and friendly, hey truly tried to speak English and to please everyone for the most part. Secondly, the pools are really clean and well kept, as well as the lobby. The worst part of the trip is the food and the lack of things to do. Let's start with the food, well, we all got sick in some way. The foods is unkept, temperatures were all over the place, food that was supposed to be hot was cold and cold food was warm and even sour. There were constant flies around all the food and food was left out in the hot sun, in the rain, basically all day. The steakhouse was okay one day but bottom line is we all got sick with some sort of stomach issue. For such a "classy hotel" you would expect more from them and they are making travelers sick by not following food safety guidelines. Luckily for me I just eventually stopped eating really so I got the least of it but friends of ours and my husband got really sick.

Room Tip: Stay away from the food and bring an iPad or some board games because unless you plan on taking a ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My expectations were high for this resort since I had spent a week at the Westin in Maui.( also for a business trip.) The entrance is grand. The pools are beautiful. The lobby is spacious and has a beautiful view of the grounds and ocean. We had an all inclusive wrist band that allowed us to eat at all the restaurants as well as order from room service. Our room overlooked the pools and Pacific, allowing us to watch the tides which vary quite dramatically. The ocean is not blue. It is not clear. It is not pretty. The pools do make up for what the ocean lacks. It is awesome to watch the ships line up to go through the canal. At night the ships lights are nice in the distance.
Our room was the typical Westin décor. A little different with the open concept bathroom/tub. Great if you are with your mate, would be a little awkward if rooming with a friend. Always a great "Heavenly Bed". Lots of towels, great water pressure, always clean when we came in from a long day. TV was limited. Maximum of 4 channels in English. CNN, FOX, and a couple of movie stations. Good lotion, shampoo and conditioner.(the little things!)
We did take a cab to into the city. We felt it was a bit pricey but was recommended by the hotel and it made us feel safer. The cab ride was overpriced. In all of the tourist info it states a cab ride any where for $10. So a trip was $50 instead of $20 roundtrip for two. The front desk reps discouraged us from using the yellow cabs. Feeling safe was a huge factor. Our cab driver dropped us off at the Albrook Mall and was on time to pick us up. He asked that we pay when he returned. Nice. The Juan Valdez Cafe' was the closest thing to a Starbucks. It was fantastic!
Now to the food at the resort... We ate at every restaurant and ordered room service as well as attended company events that were catered by the Westin. The language barrier is the biggest obstacle. The wait staff was polite, kind and as helpful as they could be, but communication was a challenge daily. To communicate "well done" we used the pamphlet provided by the Westin with key phrases in Spanish. But most of the time it was very difficult if not impossible to communicate with the waiter who then had to communicate with the the chef. They were so kind- but it was so hard to even order un-sweet tea or "regular" coke as they call it. (diet coke is "light") With the Westin standards I was used to, I never expected to be this disappointed. Their finest steakhouse that we frequented 3 times was average at best. My biggest concern was that most restaurants were buffet and with no regulations of how long the food had been left out. The lunch meat was scary. The Starfish grill was our favorite for breakfast, but at lunch 3 hamburgers were served rare when asked for well done. We just gave up. The ice cream shop served beautiful deserts that were tasteless goo. To sum up the food- my husband lost 8 pounds and I lost 3! Not such a terrible thing!
The bar did have relaxing live music a few nights. We do not drink, but enjoyed the atmosphere and great terrace overlooking the pools and ocean.
You should also carefully review your mini bar charges. We did not drink the $7 gatoraide... and were charged for it. They did fix it.
Over all- 7 days in Panama, Nice. The Gambao tours made the trip memorable. The city tour, the Panama Canal tour all worth the money. Safe, informative.
The Westin is still trying to get it right and will have it down in a few years.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the ocean and pools is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJA1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was an excellent trip
The staff was friendly and enjoyable
Lorenz, Elicero,Jennifer,Tarem, Alejandra,Alimicar
all made the experience even better
The rooms were enjoyable just to sit in and watch the water
The night life could have been better,there is no club at the resort only a bar
I enjoyed the Karaoke nights a lot,the food was great and the front desk was very helpful
when my roommate did niot have a charger for her phone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shequllia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing with us your amazing Westin experience. We deeply appreciate your kind comments about the rooms, the karaoke place and specially the entertainment staff, we all work with passion to give our guest a beautiful vacation and memories for life. We can't wait to have you back!


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Best hotel experience I've ever encountered. This hotel was perfect from the buffets to the pool to the activities to the staff to the rooms. Even with the language barrier, everyone was friendly as can be and there was always someone to say hello or good morning to you every day. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel staff. Especially with the entertainment team. Such a strong bond was created with Amilcar, Lorzeno, Xeo, Alberto, Yulissa, Sheroqui, and Noely that I'll never forget. They make me want to come back again just because I'd miss them and all they had to offer too much. Definitely would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a fun time with new people accompanied by great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you for acknowledging our entertainment staff for the excellent service they provided in our pool area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.We can’t wait to welcome you back again.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
2,712 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 115 in Panama City
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 115 in Panama City
1,136 reviews
4.3 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,289 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £108 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing