We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool area”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

One of the biggest problems at resorts can be outdoor seats around the pool, but not an issue here! The pools are huge, and there are tons of chairs and chaise lounges around the pools, with even plenty in the shade. The pools were kept clean and were a wonderful place to cool off from the Panamanian heat. The property was nice. The room was large and well-appointed (we were upgraded to a suite). My only complaint would be the food. It was standard resort-quality food, and after just one meal I was already bored with the available mediocre selection.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imsweeetashoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are pleased to receive your feedback and more than happy to know that facilities of the hotel were to your liking.We really feel bad, that we have not met your expectations. Because our main goal is to make our guests have a refreshing stay. We will definitely make an action plan with our food and beverages department.
We hope to receive you in the near future to recover your trust.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    767
    283
    119
    65
See reviews for
827
775
64
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just enjoyed a week stay at the end of June. The rooms were awesome and we had an ocean view. We loved the enormous beds and the great accommodations. We thought the communication would be difficult, but all the staff were very helpful. We ate breakfast at the Pacifica almost everyday and Irma Oporta would wait on us. We always had great service no matter where we were on the property. At the pools we had Aristides Chacov, Alexandra, and Elliot taking of our every need. sometimes we would go to the Marcos Saturno ourselves, and we also had a great bartender named Isaias Bartman. My husband and I met some of the nicest employees who also made our stay even better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted to hear you've enjoyed your stays with us so much. All our team do his best to make your stay unforgettable,specially our food and beverages staff , we will let them know your positive comment about them. We hope to welcome you and your husband back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

By that time we went, we didn´t stay at the hotel, only went to have Father´s Day Celebration Lunch was excellent and couldn´t asked for a better service, specially by Supervisor José Quiroz.
The food was delicious and he treated us very nicely and in a very professional way. We couldn´t asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you lived and enjoyed during your stay with us, I am delighted to read your positives comments, I will happily share them with our staff, specially to our supervisor Jose Quiroz. Thank you again for allowing us being your host and we hope to have the opportunity in a near future to provide you one more time with the excellence in service we are known for. I hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having had a previous good experience at the Westin Playa Bonita, did not hesitate to take guests visiting from Virginia there. I'm pleased to say that they absolutely loved it. Their 7 and 9 year-old children had a lot of fun at the pools and collecting pretty shells at the beach--even though not the best beach in Panama, it has the advantage that it is close to the city. Nice Pacific beaches are about two hours away. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and I would not hesitate to go there again for another quick escape.

Room Tip: First visit we had ocean view rooms, second visit we had forest view because we requested connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us.We are very happy to have guests like you. You know you are always welcome to Westin, your home away from home. We hope to have you and your friends from Virginia back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

was just at the resort for a week with a large business group. the grounds were very impressive, pools were beautiful and the staff could not be more accommodating. everyone there had smiles for us and great service! we enjoyed Elliott, Nelson and alexandra poolside and Manuel as our server in the Asiana. We understand that big groups can be hard to please, but we feel like everything was taken care of for us and the service was first rate.

The buffet was good enough, the dining restaurants were very good. We enjoyed the Asiana and the Steak house the most. We took part in the spa for a relaxing afternoon but the poolside cabanas were where we hung out. Service was excellent and we would come back again!

Room Tip: beach front offers the best view of ships waiting to enter the canal. the night view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are very happy to read your good reviews, and we know that your stay was nice. We are pleased to receive your feedback and more than blissful to know that facilities of the hotel were to your liking. We hope to host you soon to this beautiful paradise in Panama.
We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a whole week at the Playa Bonita in Panama. The beds were amazing and I slept like a rock! While dining for breakfast at the Pacifica, we had a wonderful experience every day! Irma Oporta was our server, and we made sure to sit in her section every day because of her welcoming smile, and friendly demeanor. She understands how to make a guest feel like they are welcome! I thought the pools were awesome, having enough for all the guests to have a great tiime at the pool and not be crowded at all! The pool staff was fabulous, and Alejandra was our favorite! Very attentive and always smiling! Everything was fantastic at the hotel except the fancy restaurants. The food was good, but they claimed to be booked two or three of the nights and had only half of the tables full!!! They wouldn't even allow us to add our new friends (a couple) to our reservation and there were over a dozen empty tables! That left a very bad taste in our mouths, and we would never return again to the steak house! Asiana was much more accommodating, so we went there. Over all, if I were ever to go to Panama again, I would be happy to stay here. OH! Also they need a dresser in the room! Bring lots of hangers, because there is hardly any drawer space.

Room Tip: Beds are amazing! Tub is nice and shower is huge! Higher floors have an amazing view, we were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are grateful for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and the breakfast foods . All our staff always does their best to make your stay memorable and refreshing. We regret you had a time time in the fancy restaurants. We'll see you next time, Irma ,Alejandra and all the staff will be happy to receive you as always.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very nice looking resort but f&b was quite expensive. The bathroom was up to par with a separate tub and shower, toilet room and the see through window. The bed was the heavenly bed that we are accustomed to. Breakfast was nice with many options and mimosa and bloody mary options. Swim up bar service was good but bartender didnt understand many of the drinks i had asked him to make. Do not come here for the beach. It is not clear water and with the tides we didnt swim at all. The pools are plentiful (7 i believe) but the jacuzzis are not hot! Generally speaking, Panama doesnt have the best beaches on the pacific side. San Blas & Isla Grande are the better choices.

Room Tip: Choose the Oceanview. It is a completely fantastic view of the water and boats awaiting entry into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHAH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Gabriela U, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Playa Bonita Panama, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We really appreciate your comments about your recent stay .We are also pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our spacious room with our heavenly bed. We will always strive to exceed our guest expectations and to maintain a high security standard.We regret we had low tide when you stay at our hotel. We wish to received you next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
4.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,635 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,116 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Playa Bonita Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Playa Bonita Panama

Property: The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Address: Road to Veracruz Km 6, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Playa Bonita Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personification of the destination: Where natural serenity meets industrial glamour - Westin Playa Bonita Panama is strategically located alongside the Pacific Ocean, on a mile long stretch of golden sand on Playa Bonita Beach, surrounded by lush tropical rainforests, and a quick 20-minute drive from the metropolitan capital of Panama City. Nestled alongside the stunning Pacific Ocean, The Westin Playa Bonita is near celebrated sites like the Panama Canal's Miraflores Locks and just a 20-minute drive from Panama City, the exhilarating capital of the Republic of Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Playa Bonita Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Hotel Panama City
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing