We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, lacking service...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Panama City
Ranked #41 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice big clean rooms, however like many places in Panama it seems service is not their strong point, they serve you and just don't seem to care. Their buffet selection at night is pretty awful too, 5 choices in total is not what I call buffet. There are better hotels to stay at in Panama City!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkytravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Royal Sonesta is a fantastic hotel in Panama City. The location is outstanding and the hotel amenities are great. The Gym and Spa are fully equipped with both steam and dry saunas, although they were under repair my last 2 days, and various spa treatments are available at reasonable prices. I purchased their 50min Sport Massage for ($55) well worth it. For my fellow Solo travelers your right in the middle of three casinos and several bars and restaurants. I would recommend Jimmy's Restaurant one street over in front of the hotel. Excellent Filet Minon ($12) and Grilled Red Snapper ($9). The rooms are large, the bed is extremely comfortable and the service is fantastic. I highly recommend the Royal Sonesta to anyone visiting Panama. Happy Travels. Eugene J

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights at Sonesta  a short while ago. Enjoyed our stay. We are not new to PNY.

Hotel: 4/5
Room: 4/5
Service: 4.5/5
Location: 5/5

Very smooth check in/check out. 
Special thanks to Aurelio at the front desk for his service and assistance, gracias.

Staffs in general were very polite, helpful, the ones we talked to all spoke good English. From the lady cook at the restaurant to random staffs we happened to get a hold of.

Hotel is relatively new. Our room was mid level, facing the top part of the neighboring hotel. Ample sunlight , still. No complaints.

Room size, preferred King, quite spacious. Bed was very comfortable. There's in room fridge, but you will need to ask front desk to have it unlocked for your use.

Bathroom size more than adequate.

One negative on the room: no full or even half length in room mirror. Bathroom sink mirror was the only one in room. They really should remedy that. Wife was not happy with it.

No noise problem whatsoever during our stay. 

Restaurant on the 26th floor has great city view, almost panoramic.
Very good buffet breakfast, included. Try to get there early, say before 9, to avoid the rush, and enjoy the beautiful morning view of the city.

We had dinner at the restaurant once, and had drinks at the 24 hrs bar every night during our stay. The food there was fine, both quality and price, price is similar to other hotels in the same class there.  We had a la carte and didn't try their buffet dinner. My medium rare Filet Mignon was quite good btw.

Service at both restaurant and bar was excellent.  Keep in mind things flow in a more laid back pace in PNY and  various  Americas . They do try to get you what your want as fast as they could.

Restaurant has sushi menu, we didn't try though.

Cute trendy roof top pool on the 27th floor, nice city view.

Did not use gym/spa.

Hotel security is fine.  If your are new to the city, do not venture by yourselves further than the hotel block at night. It gets really dark in the area  due to lack of street lightings. You pretty much have enough restaurants and what nots within the block anyway.

Taxis available right in front of hotel.

One big plus of this hotel for us is the location:
- restaurants, subway station just around the corner.
- super market Rey is just a block away, without crossing the main street.
- more restaurants and hotels right  across the street around the casino Veneto.

A few other general info:
- 57 cents for a can of local beer at the supermarket. 
- the subway is quite safe. Has armed police at the stations, on platforms, and inside subway cars. 
35 cents per person per ride, a great way to get to Albrook Mall and the Albrook bus station. You must get a transit credit card for the subway ride. Available at most Internet cafe. Refill credit via machines at subway stations. Ask the front desk.

- the subway station near the hotel is Estacion Iglesia del Carmen. Name of exit is Cl. Elvira Mendez. 

- ask for the price first before getting into any taxi. Always. Unfortunately there are tourists price and local price for taxis here, so get some info from the staffs or front desk on taxi pricing before venturing .

This is what we paid for 2 person:
- from Albrook Mall to Bella Vista area, $3.50 . Some newer taxis will charge up to $7 or even 8 for that trip. Locals will pay about $2.50 for the same trip. Ain't it lovely...

- from Multi Plaza back to the hotel : we paid $ 5 . They usually ask for $7 or more. That's one of the thing we hate about going to Multi plaza.  The newer the taxi, the more $ they ask for from tourists.

Even if you don't speak Spanish, try to bargain with the taxis, if you care about have to pay more for nothing.

- btw the MacDonald's across the street has the dirtiest premise we have ever seen in the country or anywhere. No excuse for that. Be warned.

Albrook Mall is rather large, and they just added an extension at the Tryp Hotel area. Food court gets very busy at 1pm.

The sushi stall Oishi , at Multi Plaza, was surprisingly good. Many of their sushi rolls have cream cheese in it FYI . Service can be slow. 

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YYZ-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The good: The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and large. The facilities themselves are good, but badly maintained, as I'll explain in the next section. The location is good in the city center.
The bad: First of all and worst of all- BED BUGS. Me and my girlfriend were both bitten all over our legs and arms during the 2 nights we stayed there- We told the reception and they didn't seem to care!
Other problems:
-Shower was either too hot or too cold, and the angle of the floor wasn't right so the water just stayed on the bath floor the whole time.
-They forgot to fill our minibar (!), so we just got an empty fridge.
-Safe got stuck locked several times.
-There was a mistake with the room service charge, and although we complained we never got the refund.
-Most of the staff does not speak English so it's very hard to communicate.
-They were cleaning the pool with a robot in the middle of the day when we wanted to get in it.
-The place is called a casino eventhough there wasn't any casino- it was under construction or something.
-The overall service wasn't professional and very unorganized.
-The gym was dirty, very hot and with no towals.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

1). We booked this place because it had a casino. We get here and the casino closed for construction.

2). Ordered room service for dinner. I ordered the Corvina al Pesto ( sea bass with pesto and fettuccine)..... They brought completely wrong item. No biggie. I ate it. Not exact what I wanted but it was ok if you overlooked the 1/4 oil floating on the plate.

But the kicker....the real joy of the experience was the lack of sleep. Apparently and A/C motor of some sort was in the space above/near our room?? And it was having problems. Major problems. When it kicked on it sounded like a diesel truck was just outside our wall. LOUD. This came on for about 15 or so minutes. This happened 4 or so times.

We called front desk. No offer of help.

When we checked out we cained to manager. Nothing. We were told that WE should of been the ones to request changing rooms. They did offer 50 percent off my wrong dinner order. ....so about $8 bucks for this whole experience.


Buyer beware!!!! Ick!!

Stayed: August 2014
7  Thank MrsHtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Panama is expanding so fast it can't keep up; and so too the Sonesta.
The hotel is luxurious and the beds the most comfortable my wife and I had ever slept on.
The food is good and the front desk staff delightfully friendly.
Like the rest of Panama however many of the staff have yet to learn the type of service tourists expect - one night I waited more than an hour for room service to bring a club sandwich.
The shower - very nice rainforest type - regularly ran out of hot water; and the air conditioning in the room kept us awake at night thump-thump-thumping away.
Fix the teething problems and give the staff some training and it would easily be a four.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyNomadSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of days in this Hotel and it was great.
The hotel is just a year old thus everything is brand new. The sushi restaurant wasn't even open yet. The rooms are nice spacious and the bathroom also. The hotel is equipped with gym, sauna, steam bath , jacuzzi and on the roof of the hotel een nice swimming pool. The breakfast was good and every day other items but not so many bread , but there was enough other food.
So i recommend this hotel for a citytrip.
Only disadvantage was that the gym and spa closed at 6 pm

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erik13nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#26 of 115 in Panama City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#17 of 115 in Panama City
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#36 of 115 in Panama City
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Panama City

Address: Calle Ricardo Arias _ Bellavista Via Espana, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Royal Sonesta Hotel & Casino Panama)
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#26 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business district of Panama, the hotel is an oasis of entertainment in the center of Panama city. The hotel gives tribute to the Panamanian culture through its design, inspired by the local wildlife and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eurostars Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing