We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passion fruit mojitos?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #33 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Fun-artistic-modern-chic hotel in the middle of old world charm, complete with deliciously creative cuisine and flirtatious cocktails. Friendly and warm staff. Very comfy bed that was appreciated after dancing all night on the roof! (sensational view up there!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thank you very much for your well descriptive review. We are extremely proud of our staff who go out of their way to ensure our guest's happiness. We are also excited that you enjoyed our hotel rooms, restaurant, as well as our beautiful roofbar so much.

Please come back soon.

Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

This place is incredible. You feel like you are on an artistic exploration. The rooms all have unique art and the one we stayed in was huge with a wet bar and an interior terrace that I was skeptical about, but turned out to be a really nice private place while still being "at the party". The crowd is the "gente guapa" for sure. Seems like they encourage artists to hang out and perform there a lot so it has this very authentic hip-ness about it that feels like you're a part of it. The rooftop bar has a great view of the city and the party runs late.
The restaurant in the lobby is also an absolute runaway hit in my book. We had both a dinner and a brunch there. The dinner was the most polished.
The only downside I would say is that the brunch service needed some tuning up and the coffee was not so great but to their credit, when I mentioned it the staff apologized and explained that the brunch service was a new thing, they were ironing out the kinks and that they knew about the coffee machine and it was being replaced. They comped me a dessert, so bravo.

Even is they hadn't done that, I would still give five stars. Honestly, that good.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in "04" are large and have interior terraces where you can overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeBoBangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear BeBoBangus
Your entire review is very complimentary and quite frankly, we are overwhelmed by your praise! Thank you very much!

Our goal is that every guest can experience our hotel, restaurant and lounges the way you just explained. According to your comment you stayed in one of our Atrio and Greenwall view rooms, which indeed has a very unique charm.

You also mention the attentiveness of our staff and we are proud that you feel as though our staff go out of their way to ensure your happiness.

Regarding the brunch issue, as our staff mentioned to you, this is a new service time that we have initiated and we are hopeful that it will be up to the standard of the other meals very quickly. We appreciate your honesty and promise to work on it until our high standards are met. Also our coffee machine is brand new and we are improving our techniques, as well as taste testing some a variety of coffee beans to get the perfect aroma and taste.

Please let us know when you plan to come back, We hope it is sooner than later..

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This place is incredible. It's in the middle of the Casco Viejo, the old city of Panama, which is somewhere between ruin and upscale artist community. It has a beautiful 3 story vertical garden in the lobby, and a fantastic restaurant for Tapas at night and crazy breakfasts. The roof deck is beautiful, with a young, hip, artsy scene at night and usually great deep house music from a DJ on weekends. And the view is insane - you can see clear across the bay to the new city, and all over the roofs of the old city. I loved our huge room - it had a massive mural on the wall of a tiger, and other art all around. All the rooms are themed with interesting art (some of which is sort of "R" rated, and there are other murals and art tucked all around the hotel.

This place makes Panama City worth visiting. The scene there is getting really interesting musically and artistically, and eco-tourism is booming. You are in walking distance of beautiful historic cathedrals, great boutique shopping, the best ceviche I have ever had, and a hopping underground nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear GuyS:

Thank you for your enlightened review, once again we are overwhelmed by all our guests and customers. For us it's really great that you had such a good Tantalo experience.

We can only hope that the need of coming back again, and of course consider our hotel as your home.

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Tantallo is a very nice boutique hotel, with 13 rooms and an exquisite restaurant,and a roof bar with a beautiful view of casco viejo. It is certainly a big investment as there are a lot of in Panama at the moment..

We stayed there for two nights and that was ok. But what we dont understand is why hotel guests have to stand in line in order to go to their room with all the people that go to the roof bar. In the restaurant you have to wait a long time for service.
Tantalo is all about making money. No kind b&b owner to welcome you and the prices are outragious.
So after two nights we decided to stay in a normal b&b and enjoyed a beautiful breakfast and an enjoyable chat with the owners for a reasonable price..
Of course the hotel service is good, but that

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnbtravellerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear BNBTravellerMiami:

Thank you very much for your timely criticism and comments. We would like to answer some of them:
1) Staying in line: thanks to your feedback and some others, we were able to solve this problem. From now on all hotel guests will be properly identified so they can pass through any point of access to hotel rooms and to our Roofbar.
2) Indeed we are not a B&B, however our goal is to bring an excellent service to every guest and customers,

Once again, and on behalf the hotel management, thank you for your comments. We are taking care of them seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at Casa Antigua apartments at the entrance to Casco Viejo and had cocktails and dinner at Tantalo - which takes its name from Greek mythology (Tantalus was the son of Zeus who was punished by being "tantalized" with hunger and thirst). This boutique hotel has been refreshingly restored with modern themes by New York developers (Blesso Properties) under the command of Adam Rosenberg, who is part Salvadoran. It was still in the midst of a soft opening when we visited but service was friendly and helpful, and the rooftop bar offers sweeping views of the old and new cities. The tapas menu is creative and delicious - $80 fed the four of us well. Adam toured the rooms with us - each is uniquely decorated with ultra modern fittings and trim - from $200 and up per night. An excellent location with great attention to detail in decor and furnishings, featuring unique artwork.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Las1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Las 1950
We can see that you did your homework regarding Tantalo's history! A+ for you!!!

Great that you had the opportunity to be served by Adam. We're very happy kowing that you have such a good experience. We hope that you come back soon and this time for a nice dream @ Tantalo.

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have been staying elsewhere in the neighborhood, and stopped in for breakfast and specially like the lunch special. Continental spin on local ingredients, I especially liked the chicken in a sauce of cashew and coconut. Dinner is small plates tapas, perhaps more suitable for couples who can share, but all reasonably priced of highest quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank DavidKerlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much for your good comments, good energy. We hope you will return, hopefully soon!

Tantalo Hotel | Kitchen | Roofbar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I hosted a large event @ Tantalo a few weeks ago on their rooftop with 50+ guests. Everything from the planning beforehand through the follow up service after was extremely impressive. The food from Chef Pierre was exquisite and delicious, all of my guests continue to rave about the creative mix of flavors and combinations. Aside from the sweeping skyline views, which many of my guests proclaimed to be the 'best in Panama", what really impressed the crowd was the entire vibe of the Hotel. From the unique decor and art of the ground floor Tapas restaurant and lobby, up through the rooftop bar, the scene was happening. A unique mix of locals, expats, and international travelers combined. The bar service itself is attentive and comparable to what one may encounter in a major international city. I highly recommend Hotel Tantalo for your next meal, drinks, or visit next time you are in Panama City.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMCPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012
Google Translation

Mi estimado(a) KMCPanama:

Muchas gracias por tus detallados comentarios. Es nuestro objetivo dejar que nuestros invitados y visitantes vean nuestro Hotel como una experiencia extremadamente sensorial.
Es por ellos que aspectos como la música, la iluminación y decoración, los olores de nuestra cocina son cuidados y tomados muy en cuenta.

Esperamos tenerla pronto para que pruebe nuestro desayunos, brunch y sigas disfrutando de la experiencia Tántalo...

Tus servidores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#17 of 115 in Panama City
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#40 of 115 in Panama City
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#65 of 115 in Panama City
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 115 in Panama City
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#12 of 115 in Panama City
503 reviews
0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#48 of 115 in Panama City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £78 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing