We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping out in an art museum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
The West
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Camping out in an art museum”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Tantalo is a very interesting and creative place to stay in Casco Viejo. The experience in the restaurant and roof top bar are worth visiting. Tragically the over night experience in the hotel is frustrating at best. After nearly 24 hours without any water at all we were told there would be an adjustment in our bill.(On check out the adjustment equaled a charge for the bottled water supplied to our room). We were also told that the entire area was without any water. (Later, upon switching hotels we were told this was not true at all,) When the water finally came available we got a look of disgust when we asked how we could get hot water!
Try out the restaurant and bar, there are many better and less expensive places to stay nearby.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the atrium rooms that overlook a very noisy restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austrianpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    150
    44
    22
    18
See reviews for
39
201
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As soon as I walked in to Tantalo I knew I had chosen wisely. The restaurant and bar on the first floor was buzzing with energy and music. The food there would satisfy even the most discerning appetites. In addition to the concerned and helpful staff the hotel is a work of art, literally. The living wall, hip lighting and artist inspired rooms constantly reminded me that I was in a special place. In the evening the roof top bar was a who's who on Panama City! The spectacular views, friendly locals and great vibes made the roof top bar an excellent spot to relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Each room has its own character as different artists made each one into an art piece. I'll have to ask management where they purchased the beds as I slept better there then in my own bed at home. If you are planning a trip to Panama City the Tantalo Hotel is a MUST STAY! I am looking forward to staying there again soon. Best of luck and adventurous travels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear JaimeJones:

Your entire review is very inspiring!

Thank you for mention the attentiveness of our staff, we are proud of them, and surely we will let them know about your satisfaction.

We hope you return soon to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, your home is Casco Viejo.

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The food was out of this world!
Congratulations to the Chef.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chino1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Chino1948

Thank you for your comment. Please come back soon. Have you tried our special breakfast menu and brunch as well?

Well you should, so come back soon to eat @ Tantalo!

Happy meals!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel recently opened and literally is the best place to stay in Panama City right now! The staff is unbelievably friendly, literally going out of their way to accomodate every wish. The rooftop bar is currently the best spot in town for nightlife, with spectacular views and a good looking crowd. I can only recommend you to stay there or at least check out their scene at night. Absolute top pick for 2012!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors can be noisier than others as they are right below the rooftop bar (more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximiliano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam_LM, TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel Boutique at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Maximiliano S,

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We take great pride in our staff and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Safe travels!

Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Loved my time at Tantalo! I felt right at home at this boutique hotel, located right smack in the middle of architectural and historic treasures. My experience was a mix of all I would want in a vacation. Amazing night sleep in the most comfy beds, dancing to hot grooves on the rooftop with the warm, Panamanian breeze kissing your skin, eating exquisite cuisine with local, fresh flavors, and being immersed in Panamanian culture. I went jogging down the promenade on the Pacific just steps from Tantalo, stopped off at the local fish market for some jaw-dropping ceviche and corvina fish, and basked in the sun. The service was impeccable. So friendly, attentive, and warm. I was amazed at how much they truly cared about their new hotel and how proud they were to work there. It felt like joining a family at Tantalo! I highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyrethaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Hi Syretha, we love have you here! It's so great that you can feel and live the very essence of our place. Please feel welcome for any possible next visit,

Always yours

Tantalo Hotel | Kitchen | Roofbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

had a great stay and time! the hotel looks and feels great ( fab bed's)
liked the contrast of the rustic area with a modern feel hotel
the food was fantastic also and was served by a very friendly staff, maybe it's the country, but everybody was super nice and welcoming
the roof top bar tops the experiance with a great ambiance and music
look forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TantaloHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear ramona w,

It was so great to have you staying with us in Tantalo, and an honor as well to be able to enjoy your great music mixes.

Thank you for your precious words, we are very grateful. And please come back soon, our Roof cries out for your sounds and mixes!!!

Happy travels, parties and mixes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Casco Viejo is by far the coolest part of Panama City, making Tantalo's location absolutely perfect. The roofdeck is the crown jewel of the hotel, with a fun but not overwhelming party atmosphere and amazing views of the city. Despite the fun roofdeck, the noise didn't carry into my room when I wanted to crash.

All in all, a fantastic find in Panama City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#52 of 114 in Panama City
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#33 of 114 in Panama City
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 114 in Panama City
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#36 of 114 in Panama City
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Property: Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing