We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Nearby Hotels
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Coral Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Global Hotel Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Panama(Panama City)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City(Panama City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
320
168
48
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
168
48
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barcasco viejopulled porktapas stylecool hotelcevicheboutique hotelold citybassbring earplugsgreat view of the cityfirst floorlight sleeperhotel guestsstayed one nightamerican trade hotelnoise
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

ups:
- location: at the heart of the Casco Viejo historical district which is now under extensive refurbishment. it's a personal choice of course, but why stay at a nondescript skyscraper in a pseudo-manhattan-style uptown area when you can stay in a retro-chic up-and-coming historical neighborhood?
- decor: this hotel is based in a colonial building which has received a tasteful, retro-chic makeover. the result is both relaxing and exhilarating (the rooftop bar with views over Casco Viejo and the skyscrapers across the bay is certainly a top attraction).

ok:
- service: most staff is very friendly and helpful, but attitude among some of the lounge personnel is patchy (nonchalant/whaddayawant) at some times/persons. a bit more hands-on attitude coaching would be welcome so all staff could carry the same positive "can-do" energy as the wonderful reception / bell desk and housekeeping people. A boutique hotel like this deserves an unassuming but perfectionist staff experience throughout.
- food: some great food options, but limited menu lacking inspired healthy (ie not fried/cheesy/creamy) options like seafood dishes and international brealfast essentials. As a matter of fact, why the complicated set breakfast? Why not make breakfast simple and easy and do what every good hotel should do: provide a compact breakfast buffet of good taste and good health (at least: local organic fruit, cereal, and egg options). they lack this, and i mentioned it to the reception who was very grateful for the comment. let's hope they work on it.
- location can be a challenge if you need to get anywhere quickly: the roads are often clogged and Casco Viejo is the end of the line as far as greater Panama city is concerned. So if you need to be in the CBD this isn't it. On the other hand: why not bring your clients here? They'd love it.


all in all: a fabulous neocolonial style boutique hotel in an up-and-coming location away from the bland "pa-na-mall" areas, with room for improvement in the fresh foods department and staff training. For me, it was a let's-do-this-again experience, as this hotel is oozing with great vibe, great style and great potential.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, General Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Dirkdewilde,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Before my trip to Panama I researched Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed and the hotel exceeded my expectations. I stayed in Room #1 which is the Love Ouch room. This room met my expectations. The hotel is right in the center of where many locals live so don't expect your view to be of a beach. You will get a first hand feel & glimpse of life in Panama in this area. I traveled solo and felt safe to walk around day & night. There are several restaurants, lounges, coffee houses, and night life scene in the area. You can easily walk to everything. The hotel is popular with locals and tourists. The restaurant food was delicious. I love the decor and art. The hotel reminds me of walking around the art district of NY. I recommend the hotel & plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: This is a hip hotel. So if you looking for a quiet place to stay this hotel is not for you. The staff will arrange taxi & excursions for you.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear MsRora,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel was absolutely the best. it was located right in the middle of the action, which means, you can just step out the door and walk the casco viejo. the rooms were cleans, well decorated and big enough. the service by the staff was warm, inviting and respectful. the hotel has a very happening and entertaining rooftop bar, that provides a 360 view of the new city and the old. most of panama young and hip resident tend to visit the roofbar. if you are looking for quiet hotel, this might not really be the place for you, because it has a nice resturant and bar, which means people are constantly there. if you stay in this hotel, ask for room 6. it is on the second floor, so below the rooftop bar less noise, and it has a balcony that faces the street.
basically this hotel was just the best. everything you can ask for. pay the price and you would not regret it. by the way, don't worry about all the security, the president of the country has his office there, and they make you feel welcome and safe walking around.

Room Tip: pick room 6 on the second level. and if you must stay on the 3rd level, ask for the room above room 6. the balcony faces the street and not another building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realsense72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Realsense72,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and used it as a base of operations for exploring Panama City. We choose it based upon the location, and that proved to be useful. It was great to just walk out the door and be able to explore Casco Viejo by foot and get to lots of restaurants and stores without needing to take a cab. The decor of this hotel is very hip and stylish (although probably not to many (older peoples') taste). The manager on duty was very friendly and helpful. It should be noted (as it has by others) that this is a very popular night spot, both at th restaurant and the rooftop bar - so if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is not it. We also had a problem with the air conditioning - it stopped working in the middle of the night the first night and they were not able to fix it until the next day. However, they were very apologetic and gave us a discount on our first night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldmanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Goldmanm,

Thank you very much for all your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is fantastic. Wonderful and spacious rooms, great restaurant and amazing rooftop bar. The food is really good, the hotel is in the old part of town and is a great starting point for walks around the old city. In the evening you have to go to the rooftop bar and have a cocktail while the pelicans and vultures fly over your head....

Room Tip: This is a hotel and rooftop bar for 'party' people and not so much for people with kids or people seeking a quiet hotel...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Delauny,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews