We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location & Value”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I travel a ton, and for the location, the price, ambiance and location of this hotel beat out everywhere else. You can't find a better value for your money, especially if you're on a budget.
The rooms are artsy, clean. The staff is extremely informative, and helpful. They helped me make dinner reservations, hail cabs, negotiate fares...
We didn't really mind the noise much...sure we heard some music...but we were on the third floor by the elevators and weren't that much bothered by it. Ask for ear plugs, they'll give it to you...or don't stay here if you can't handle a bit of noise. This place is more the young and trendy for sure. The food was fantastic...the bartenders upstairs were fabulous as well was the service. I loved the Pulled Pork and Ceviche.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerzChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear JerzChai,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    144
    43
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
190
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I don't understand why this hotel has so many positive reviews; it was the worst hotel I've stayed at as an adult. I'm in my early 30s and live in NYC and travel often. Here's my take:

Cons:
- The music from the rooftop bar permeates the rooms until 2am or 3am on the weekends and is loud even during the week (e.g. if there's a soccer game playing on the tv at the restaurant, you'll hear the cheers in your room three floors up) - it's *really* loud in the rooms, making it difficult to sleep if you're looking for rest on your vacation
- When we complained about the noise repeatedly, little was done and there was no other compensation offered; one of my friends did ultimately get moved to a different floor finally
- It's generally crowded at night and overrun with tourists trying to access the roof
- It's not clean -- the floors are visibly dirty and twice we received towels with stains on them (as did others with whom we were traveling); they were promptly replaced at our request, but still, this happened twice
- The food at the restaurant isn't bad but the service was - the waitress mixed up the orders, didn't instinctively fix the issues, forgot to bring our side dishes, brought the wrong sides, was slow, etc.
- The amenities aren't particularly great - just basic body wash and shampoo; the bathrooms are small even in the suites

Pros:
- Cheap
- Good location
- Beds are comfy (but you probably won't sleep) with easily accessible outlets next to the beds
- Balconies
- Good hot water/pressure

Overall:
This hotel feels like a nice step up from a hostel. If you're looking for something cheap and/or fun -- and sleep isn't on your itinerary -- this is it. You get what you pay for. If instead you want something nice, have basic expectations around cleanliness, and want to feel like an adult, then stay elsewhere in the neighborhood. (The neighborhood is awesome).

Room Tip: Opt for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The restaurant Tantalo is one of the most innovative restaurants in Panama city. Although it took some time to place our orders, the quality and prenetation of the food was great. The atmosphere is modern, but by a smart light plan, intimate. We were in the low season and were seated without making a reservation but I estimate that in high season a reservation is needed. The staff is friendly and informal and speaks spanish and english. Overall we realy liked this restaurant and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear HollandWanderer,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our food at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

We invite you to visit our different environments.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013 during our honeymoon and it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful; they even brought champagne and a dessert platter to our room since we were on our honeymoon. The meal we had at the restaurant was one of the best we had in Panama and the rooftop bar was very lively and happening for a Tuesday night. We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt!
Oh yeah, the bed was amazing! We slept so well!
-Jeanette & Patrick Muller

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great location! My husband and I stayed overnight - arrived on a Monday a.m. & left the next day. The Truly Panama shuttle service (Nahir Nunez) that picked us up at the airport was exceptionally helpful. Our room at the Tantalo (with a sweet balcony) was spacious, clean. The AC worked beautifully ditto the shower. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms w/balcony on back of the hotel and far from the 'atrio' (which is where music happens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CZJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear CZJones,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I arrived at this hotel at 2:00 a.m. The driver was waiting at the airport and took us there. We checked in, hoping to just crash and sleep. The bed was uncomfortable, but the noise was unbelievable. It was a Thursday and at 3:00 a.m. the traffic noise ouside our window was nonstop. Sirens wailing, and in addition, noise from thin walls and bar upstairs. We dragged ourselves downstairs to lobby and explained that we couldn't spend another night there, and could they please just charge us for the one night (actually only 1/2 night). At first they were not pleasant to my husband, but when I tried to explain they agreed. However, after my husband paid $190 for the driver and one night's stay, I returned home to find they charged an additional $48 to my credit card. I contacted the hotel, but they are not concerned with this.
So, in conclusion, I will say the hotel is pretty, lots of artwork, but very minimalist. If you want to stay up all night and like noise, then by all means go there. If you want to be comfortable, stay elsewhere (we moved to The Bristol) and take a taxi to see that area (taxis are cheap).
Very disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Large rooms, great location, and good service. Room had a couch and a balcony overlooking the lounge. Right in the middle of Casco Viejo, best place to walk around as a tourist. A little loud, could hear music from downstairs lounge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 4 May 2015
Dear Albinsky,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#60 of 116 in Panama City
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#54 of 116 in Panama City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#32 of 116 in Panama City
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Property: Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing