We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Casco Viejo”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in the hostel part.

Not sure what to say... I was not impressed by the quality of the accommodations, but they were definitely better than anywhere else. I think the tag 'luxury hostel' is a little ambitious. The location was perfect. The price was good. Rooms were fine, but not 'nice' and the hostel amenities were also average. Security was okay - you had to be buzzed into the building, which was great, but then all doors were unlocked (including the sleeping area). Showers were cold.

There were two lovely balconies that you could sit out on, which was great. For the price, this is probably your best Casco Viejo option, but don't expect to be blown away by it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My father and I stayed at Magnolia Inn on our way to other parts of Panama and I am so glad we did! Reggie was generous with his time and made sure we were comfortable and had our bearings before we headed out to explore. Reggie and Cherrie are working hard to restore their beautiful building and have made sure all modern amenities are available. I was glad to stay in a place with so much quaint character. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice location for a night in Casco Viejo. We had many dining and bar options within a few blocks of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the air conditioning, mini fridge worked great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gold_Squadron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We had a penthouse room that had a nice view over Casco Viejo and Panamá Centro skyline. There's great service and it's clean. Ask Reggie if you need good tips on sightseeing. . Saved a lot of time for us to visit the canal in Miraflores lock...thanks!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Reggie and Cherrie take care of everything with good humor, pride and genuine caring for their guests. They are doing a terrific job in restoring an old beauty of a home and giving it a homey quality. Guests are respectful of others, rooms have AC and are quiet. The location is great in the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaHanauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Much has already been said but some new information: lockers located in each room, bring lock; up a flight of stairs to front desk; everything spotless; many bathrooms; seperate showers; some rooms with balcony with chairs; front desk staff spoke English; lack of hot water only down side.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Magnolia Inn is a decent place to stay. A bit of a mixed place with backpackers and decent hotel rooms, but a good place to start your trip from. It lacks personal charm, but staff is helpful and location is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolffman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#37 of 116 in Panama City
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#12 of 116 in Panama City
511 reviews
0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#23 of 116 in Panama City
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#63 of 116 in Panama City
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#62 of 116 in Panama City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £24 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing