We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, great location”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hostel was fantastically located right in the middle of Casco Viejo, and it was in a really nice building. We arrived late at night (they had a 24 hour reception) and had some trouble checking in (something about our payment not being marked down), but it was all sorted out in the morning. It was a nice hostel with good facilities and very nice owners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I used to live in Panama and this place is a gem! Great location, clean, friendly and priced right! Don't hesitate, even expensive places here tend to have problems but the owners do an amazing job and will make your stay perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 382Jean_PaulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friend in the Peace Corps recommended this place during our stay in Panama City. The hotel was in a perfect location in the old town with tons of stuff to do around it. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with us trying to find our way around and recommended a few places for us to go.

The room was very nice and clean (we got the 3B suite) and it felt like a hotel you'd find in any major city.

I couldn't recommend this place more if you're staying in Panama City.

Room Tip: The suites are nice if you want privacy for a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We came into the Magnolia Inn sunburned and exhausted from traveling, and we were so grateful when they had room for us! It was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were clean, quiet, and well decorated. The building teemed with personality, and it was evident that the owners invested a lot of time and love in the place. Our bedroom was $80/night, with a private bathroom that was separate from the room. I'm a student and on a budget, but I felt that it was worth it. Casco Viejo is a super cool area, and the inn has a perfect location for walking to the good restaurants and shops.

Another bonus point for Magnolia Inn: Our bus did not leave Panama until midnight the following night, and the owners were kind enough to store our baggage all day and let use their facilities until we left. They were truly gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Everything was nice, the hostal is lovely and is located in the heart of Casco Viejo. I really enjoyed Panama City and the guy in reception helped me to arrange the trip to my next destination. Really nice people, specially Rachel from reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose room 2A based on our phone conversation with the proprietor about noise. This was a quiet, middle-of-the-inn room for three with a private bath. The Saturday night locals partying in the street outside did not disturb us. We could only hear them from the bathroom, which is not air conditioned and has an open window. Clean and comfortable, good air conditioning for sleeping, large enough. We spent three nights in Panama City and found this to be a very convenient location for touristing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hostel clients mostly hung out in the lounge watching the World Cup. The Inn itself is very charming, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor is quietest. No view, but just walk outside and you're in the midst of charming Cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A an excellent place to stay, rooms were lovely and staff were very helpful and pleasant! Great location in the heart of things, plus we had a nice view from the shared balcony at the front of our room. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#4 of 115 in Panama City
490 reviews
0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#60 of 115 in Panama City
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#41 of 115 in Panama City
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#64 of 115 in Panama City
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £25 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing