We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Saint George's, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the city to visit.
Panama is happening full of life, booming with investment, people from everywhere, sashimi, hip eats, bars and fabulous people.
This is the miami you read about years ago as a kid, the city has life, people, poverty and potential. It's a gritty real city.
Can't wait to come back, would love to move here, the folks at Magnolia Inn were fantastic, knowledgeable, friendly and run a beautiful property, refurbished as you would do your self, have breakfast with new friends , cook dinner with another and then hit the old town.
Can't say enough how great this place is
Stay
Enjoy
Luxury backpacking plus some
Thanks guys xx

Room Tip: Place is in the old town, parties happen anytime and last for as long as you do. Rome at the back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    153
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
78
177
147
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We found Magnolia Inn on TripAdvisor and they were running a special on their penthouses rooms, so we decided to give them a try. It was the best choice we made for lodging in Panama.

The hotel is a hostel that has private rooms on the top floor with private bathrooms. These rooms are very comfortable and have a small refrigerator and a small counter with a sink, besides the full bathroom. The AC was good as was the hot water. The owners are from the US and are very friendly and helpful

The one oddity was the window in the shower. If you are a lady a few inches taller than me, it could be a revealing shower. These rooms are on the third floor though, and it is the tallest of the neighboring buildings.

I would highly recommend the Magnolia Inn and will be staying here on our next trip to Panama City.

The hostel portion of the hotel also looked very nice with a large common area and kitchen.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MochileroBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with air. Large room well made beds with power outlets, lights, and large lockers for each bed. Very well maintained clean rooms, clean bathrooms. There is a good ratio of bathrooms and showers per person, you don't have to wait and they are always clean. A very well run place. I would stay here again. Kudos to the family who runs this place they do a great job and thank you I appreciated it, had a great stay for 5 nights..

Room Tip: This place is in demand you better book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMPtrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We traveled to Panama with our two kids (12 and 10 years old). The owners of the hotel were friendly and accommodating. The staff answering the phone were native English speakers (as are the owners) so it made booking and communication a breeze. We rented a private ensuite room. They had a great optional airport pickup service that really smoothed our arrival into Panama. You could not ask for a better location to explore the old section of town (Casco Viejo). They also had great kitchen facilities that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife, 2 teenage boys and I spent one night at this beautifully converted old building in the heart of Casco Viejo. The staff was very informative and helpful. The facilities were clean and spacious. The ambiance of being in the heart of an very old part of town that is being renewed is a must have experience. We will definitely consider another stay at this property if ever back in Panama city

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Following the excellent TripAdvisor recommendations, we booked one night for the last of a ten-day trip to the Bocas del Toro area of Panama. We were not disappointed. Friendly front desk young lady from Canada, showed us to our room with bath. Price was $90..perfect! Location was priceless, right in the middle of the old town Casco Viejo. After staying our first night of our trip in a high rise hotel in the city, we were delighted to have this cozy European feel.
No elevator. A nice living room feeling to the common area, with a large community kitchen, with balconies overlooking the lively streets outside from the second floor.
We asked the front desk for directions to Cafe Rene (superb), so she walked up over the the 2nd floor balcony and just pointed!
Happy and content! Taxi to PTY airport $35 arranged by the front desk.

Room Tip: Eat at the nearby Cafe Rene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I chose Magnolia after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor--I stayed in the hostel part of the Inn for three nights (there are private rooms on the upper floors), and I wish I could have stayed longer! All of the sleeping areas are air-conditioned, the mattresses were very comfy, the lockers were more than large enough for my stuff, and the staff were awesome! There is a full communal kitchen, there's fresh coffee every morning, and the folks at the front desk are incredibly knowledgeable about the city, including the new Metro bus system (cheap and efficient way to get around, but the routes and stops are not very intuitive for someone new to the city). This was my first hostel experience, and Magnolia made it a great one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzulJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#38 of 114 in Panama City
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 114 in Panama City
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#34 of 114 in Panama City
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 114 in Panama City
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Property: Magnolia Inn
Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. Our restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-fridge and safe deposit boxes. We have a total of 16 hotel rooms available, all with private bathroom, A/C and safe deposit boxes. We are a family friendly hotel and are suitable to host large groups. The building boasts stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dining room is available for all ours guests to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. We also have a total of 38 hostel/dorm beds available with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. Our front desk staff is fluent English, Spanish German, Dutch and Russian and will gladly help you with further planning your trip in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing