We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Corona

Pension Corona
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Corona
Ranked #51 of 85 Panama City B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The rooms were very clean and the showers had great water pressure. There is little ambiance or atmosphere at this place, but we hardly spent any time there besides sleeping. The WiFi was fast and free. It was a great facility. There is a bus stop across the street, so if your room faces that direction you may have some noice. The staff speak little to no english, but we still got along fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
23
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Good place to stay. Four blocks from the water, walking distance from Old Panama City and downtown. If you are looking for glitz and glamour this is not your place. If you want to be in an area where the real people live, this is for you. Very friendly staff and usually someone around that speaks English (my problem, not theirs). Clean air conditioned rooms, HOT WATER!!! I will stay there again. Only negative: No English speaking news channel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craigmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Hotel Pension Corona is perfect accommodation for backpackers. It has reasonable prices and is located close to many shops and also on walking distance to the seaside promenade. We found Calidonia (where hotel is located) as very safe area, also at night.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, the only bad thing is that you can not switch off the air condition, so it can be very cold at night. We were there during the Carnival, and it was great because we were only 10 minutes away from center of event. Staff is very friendly, they speak only Spanish, but do not worry - with few basic words, you will get all info you need for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2jsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Pension Corona is quite central, about midway between Albrook Mall and the area where the other malls (downtown), big hotels, as well as the nightclubs and restaurants are.
So it's not really close to either zone, yet practical to reach both with bus or taxi, and at a stretch on foot.
Also it's quite close to the seaside promenade, which is ok for walking/jogging (you won't want to swim!).
The pension looks new, with tiled floors everywhere, which gave it a very clean feel.
TV and AirCon also new and good quality (not noisy at all).
I asked for a quiet room, and had a room with a very small window to a very little roofed outside area (not the street). So not much natural light, but I preferred that to being exposed to the street noise. There is not much traffic on the street outside, but the bus lines do go up, and especially the old school buses rev quite loudly as they climb the hill and/or stop-and-go.
Bathrooms also good - the shower had the strongest water pressure and flow that I encountered in 6 months Central and South America.
Wi-Fi was very fast and reliable.
The staff was very friendly.
Single occupancy was $33, up from $25 a year ago, which is the only "negative" thing I can say about this pension.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Very nice and clean. Looks newly renovated, new bed and mattress. Fast, free wireless. Coffee machine (60 cents+) in lobby.
Both taxi drivers and locals say to be careful as this is not a good area. Just have the hotel call a taxi for you and always use safety common sense anywhere.
Note to taxi: this is on Left side of Calle 36 Este (one way street) and Via Espana

Room Tip: ask for room not facing street (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Pension Corona has centralized location. It is located on the intersection of Calle 36 and Via Espana. It is in a middle class neighborhood and only four blocks walk from Balboa Avenue. Night club area and the Multicentro Mall are also within a walking distance for those who don’t mind to walk a little. Taxis in Panama City are cheap, even after you get overcharged (and you will). The new city buses stop directly in front of the pension. The bus to Albrook Mall, which is also a major bus terminal (you will likely arrive to), will drop you off in front of the hotel. Buses to the Albrook mall (bus terminal) leave just one block walk up at the Via Espana Ave. City bus fare costs $0.25. There are plenty of banks with ATMs and few restaurants in the neighborhood. I felt safe to walk around even in evening.
The pension was recently fully renovated. It was very bright and clean looking. There were modern white floor tiles and white painted walls throughout the common areas and the rooms. I stayed in two different rooms during my visit. The bathrooms were as well fully renovated. The building has a real hot water system (no electric water heater showerheads). The building has good security.
My rooms had queen size bed, nightstands, closet and new flat screen TV with cable. The beds and mattresses are good quality. Mattresses had plastic cover. Linens and towels were white, good quality, clean and changed daily. My room and the common areas were cleaned daily. Each room had efficient and new A/C unit. A/C is necessary in Panama City. Both rooms and its bathrooms, I was in, had small windows. One thing that I didn’t like about my rooms was the lack of larger windows. However, some rooms facing the street have larger window. My rooms and the common areas were quiet. The Wi-Fi is on every floor and in both of my rooms and it was strong.
The staff was very nice and hospitable, but speaks no English. The pension’s customers are predominantly locals.
Single occupancy is $25.00 and double occupancy is $30.00. For what you get, this is a good value. I have nothing negative to say about this pension.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#78 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#91 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#11 of 85 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
#53 of 85 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mediterranean Dreams San Francisco
7.4 mi away
Hotel Carolina Princess
Hotel Carolina Princess
#56 of 85 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Corona

Property: Pension Corona
Address: Calle 36 Este No 4, Calidonia, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Corona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Corona Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing