We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good location”
Review of Pension Corona

Pension Corona
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Corona
Ranked #47 of 80 Panama City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This clean, basic hotel is just what the traveler passing through Panama City is looking for. It is very clean and comfortable, with TV & free WiFi. It's located within a $2 taxi ride to the Albrook Bus Terminal-- a real plus.

Don't expect a glamorous, fancy place-- you get pretty much exactly what you pay for with no nasty surprises.

Room Tip: Your cab driver may try to convince you that this place is no good-- see it for yourself, it's j...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Pension Corona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Pension Corona is located in the middleclass neighbourhood and the staff told us its safe to walk around during the day. All other people like Taxidriver and locals said we should move on to the old town or the new part of Panama. We felt definitely not safe!!!!!!!

Not a single good restaurant near the hotel.

Staff is friendly.

The rooms have no windows and there is no place you can hang out in the hotel.

Good for max 1 night otherwise not recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The room was clean with an icy cold A/C. Staff were friendly. Hotel has no character but has a modern feel inside. It is located far from the old town and from the modern waterfront areas, so you may feel isolated from the attractions and good restaurants. But the city is conducive to walking so don't let the hotel's location put you off too much.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

A good option if you wanna a private bedroom, with a good shower and air conditioner.
Its clean.
There is no atmosphere, so dont expect to meet people or to hang out there.
Its just to come, sleep and relax for another day.

As tourists cant get bus at the city, its really dificult, the localization is great.
By taxi, wi no more than U$10 you can get a taxi to almost anywhere at the city.
Whe paid U$20 from the airport to here.

But there is a lack of options to eat around of the pension, or a good market.
So taxi will be always tHe option.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The rooms were very clean and the showers had great water pressure. There is little ambiance or atmosphere at this place, but we hardly spent any time there besides sleeping. The WiFi was fast and free. It was a great facility. There is a bus stop across the street, so if your room faces that direction you may have some noice. The staff speak little to no english, but we still got along fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGG112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Good place to stay. Four blocks from the water, walking distance from Old Panama City and downtown. If you are looking for glitz and glamour this is not your place. If you want to be in an area where the real people live, this is for you. Very friendly staff and usually someone around that speaks English (my problem, not theirs). Clean air conditioned rooms, HOT WATER!!! I will stay there again. Only negative: No English speaking news channel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Hotel Pension Corona is perfect accommodation for backpackers. It has reasonable prices and is located close to many shops and also on walking distance to the seaside promenade. We found Calidonia (where hotel is located) as very safe area, also at night.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, the only bad thing is that you can not switch off the air condition, so it can be very cold at night. We were there during the Carnival, and it was great because we were only 10 minutes away from center of event. Staff is very friendly, they speak only Spanish, but do not worry - with few basic words, you will get all info you need for your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2jsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#77 of 115 in Panama City
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#68 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
Hotel Residencial Cibeles
#44 of 80 in Panama City
56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lemon Inn Panama
Lemon Inn Panama
#12 of 80 in Panama City
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal Casa Areka
Hostal Casa Areka
#8 of 80 in Panama City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Corona

Address: Calle 36 Este No 4, Calidonia, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Corona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Corona Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing