We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exploring Panama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 85 Panama City B&B and Inns
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exploring Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Panama exploring the country (Dec 2013), so we have stayed in a number of places, over the course of almost 4 weeks in country. Not only is this the best place in the city we have stayed at, but it is our choice as the most friendly, and value for the money in all the stops we made thru out Panama. it is close to Allbrook mall, the small airport, the causeway, fish market, but still in a quiet neighborhood. The breakfast...whats else to say, but awesome, fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereal, milk, juice. we never ventured into the day hungry. Friendly? well, we felt like family. they helped us rent a car, and arranged a taxi for our return trip home. My wife & I will see Marijke and Joris again on our next trip. as in this trip, both upon our arrival into country, and the night before leaving Panama.

Room Tip: We like the room, that had a view of the forest, yes, a undeveloped park in the center of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugotheSignGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Balboa Heights B&B has all the comforts of home (privacy, a quiet place to relax, spacious accommodations), except better -- think freshly ironed sheets, breakfasts that magically appear, and someone who cares if all is well. The location was perfect for us: taxis could easily be called, but we enjoyed the 20-25 minute walk to the causeway for dinner while watching the boats at the entrance to the Panama Canal, and several markets on Balboa Avenue, where we shopped for souvenirs, were even closer. We stayed here a total of four nights, two right before we left for home at the end of our vacation, and we found it a perfect place to unwind after an adventurous tour. One morning we left much too early for a sit-down breakfast, but Marijke thoughtfully packed us a breakfast-to-go with granola, fruit, and a variety of snacks -- these are the little things which make all the difference!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The lodging is situated in Balboa, a green and quiet area which offers very good access to the city center, the Panama canal and an easy way out of the city. Marijke, the host, welcomes you with great warmth and always offers you a hand to make your stay as smooth and easy as possible. The European-like breakfast is gigantic and rich with fresh local fruit, cereals, cheese, eggs, toasts and hot beverages.
We highly recommend this bed and breakfast for slow pace travelers or persons willing to stay close to the big city but in a quiet and jungly ambient

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VadZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Oedenrode, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

In juli 2013 Me and my girlfriend have visited the Balboa Heights for 3 nights to start our roundtrip Panama and Costa Rica.. This wonderfull place has everything what you want! Nice clean rooms and bathroom, wonderful breakfast and Joris en Marijke do everything to make your stay very comfortable. They have a nice garden where you can find al kind of species. The location is in a nice Panamian neighbourhood in a good distance to the centre and the airport.
If you come from Holland please take Dutch cheese with you. Marijke en Joris will love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent four nights here as we explored Panama City on the first part of our honeymoon, and it set the tone perfectly. The location was ideal for us - away from the traffic, the contant honking of car horns, and the construction that pervades much of Panama City - but a short and easy taxi ride from all the major sights of Panama City. The breakfast is ample and excellent - fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, fresh bread - and we enjoyed eating breakfast while watching the agoutis root around their beautiful garden. The best part of this place, though, is Joris and Marijke, the owners. They welcomed us warmly to their place, they ensured our stay was comfortable, and they were extremely helpful in orienting us to Panama City and answering our multitude of questions. With such personalized attention, we couldn't have picked a better place for a relaxing honeymoon! Thank you so much, Joris and Marijke!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bludenz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you'd like to stay in a quiet and beautiful part of a city,you have to choose "Balboa Heights"...we got a fantastic breakfast the days we stayed at Balboa Heights and lot's of informations in the beginning of our trip.Marijeke+Joris were very helpful+friendly hosts and we felt like to be in a family.They have also a really nice garden for sitting outside in the evening to see some animals and to talk about the day which we had enjoyed and we also liked, that Balboa Heights has only 2 guest rooms...thanks to Marijeke+Joris, as well as Martyn!!! Manuel+Tamara from Austria :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panameisje, Owner at The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you Tamara for your kind review! It was a pleasure hosting you in our B&B. Great that you enjoyed your holiday in Panama so much. Kind regards, Marijke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

My father and I stayed at Balboa Heights both at the beginning and end of our trip to Panama, and thoroughly enjoyed both the stay and our hosts. Upon our return at the end of our holiday, Marijke greeted us with a warm "welcome home!" - and that is exactly how it felt, like home (only warmer than Canada in January, haha). Joris and Marijke were helpful, knowledgeable, and thoughtful hosts who anticipated our needs and made sure that we were comfortable and happy. Their advice on taxi fares, restaurants, attractions, and navigating the country in general made our trip much more relaxing than it could have been had we had to do this research on our own. The location is wonderful, quiet and safe, but very near to the causeway, Miraflores locks, Casco Viejo, Allbrook mall, etc.

Highly, highly reccommended. Joris and Marijke have a wonderful place to stay, and it's such a lovely feeling to know that their warmth and caring expertise is right upstairs whenever you need them. Along with the faint sound of their sweet young daughter's laughter :) We couldn't have been more pleased, and don't feel that we could have gotten better value for our money. Thanks Joris and Marijke, for some truly wonderful memories of Panama!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plaza Paitilla Inn
Plaza Paitilla Inn
#35 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Oleander 857b | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast in Panama City is located in Balboa, there where the Administration Building of the Canal is situated. The house is a typical wooden tropical style home dated from '50, the period that the US governed the Canal. The backyard is the foot of the Balboa Heights, an untouched piece of jungle. Animals, such as deers, capybaras, monkeys, Toucans and many other bird species are frequent visitors of the garden. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. A large colonial style bathroom is there to share. In the mornings guests can count on a full lovely breakfast. By foot you can visit Causeway Amador to see the ships pass by through the Canal. By car you are only minutes away from the Miraflores Locks, beautiful Casco Viejo or the shopping center Albrook Mall. Want to travel further domestically by plane or bus, the domestic airport and the bus terminal are also very close by. In a few words, this Bed & Breakfast is your jungle escape in the City and very conveniently located to move further onwards after a few days of sightseeing in the City. Your hosts, a young couple from The Netherlands, will be very honoured to have you stay with them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balboa Heights Bed & Breakfast Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing