We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent overall”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed 9 days and never had a single issue with anything, except perhaps the elevators which sometimes take way long time to get to your floor. Excellent room and service. Giant walk in shower. Every member of staff will try hard to remember your name and say hello when you meet them. I cannot name them all, but special thanks to Eligio and Manuel who made good breakfast better. Nice pool, though being in between high rise buildings it doesn't get so much sun. Will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Alberto_O,
It was wonderful to be your host during your recent stay in one of the newest gems in Latin America. We are delighted to have been able to accommodate your needs so well during your 9 days visit and hope we can do this again soon. Please consider this your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    300
    105
    46
    40
See reviews for
216
404
74
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Waldorf-Astoria Panama is one of the newest hotels in Panama City’s metro center. We enjoyed a short, one-night stay here before moving on to Playa Bonita. We should have stayed at the Waldorf! The property is slightly removed from the bay, which is unfortunate. I had hoped for a little better view from Hilton’s flagship brand than the scruffy residential towers that flank it, but the gorgeous interior and spacious Jr. Suite made up for the lack-luster vista.

Check-in was a tad epic. In their defense, I did arrive quite early (noon) and they were only operating with 40-50% of the property open for guest use as part of their pre-grand opening roll-out. My room wasn’t ready until well after three due to the previous guest’s late check-out. I made the most of this time by enjoying the mezzanine-level pool deck and lunching at the upscale bistro. Good food and great service, but be prepared to shell out some cabbage for it.

Finally, after exploring the options for getting my wife from the airport and evaluating the possibility of a trip to Gatun Locks, I decided to rent a car. The concierge graciously set me up with a rental at a good rate. One of the bellmen (Oliver, who is awesome) drove me over to get my rental in the hotel’s town car. The enigmatic 2km drive back to the hotel took me and hour and a half. Finally, I was steered in via cell phone by the hotel operator. Bring a GPS if you plan to drive!

After retrieving my wife from PTY, we enjoyed a reasonable rate on a car and driver to the Casco Viejo (I was done driving for the night!) and took the concierge’s recommendation on dinner at Tantalo. After dinner and a short walk through CV, the driver met us right on schedule and whisked us back to the hotel.

Customer service here is phenomenal. Accommodations are very comfortable and feature high quality furnishings. My only complaint is that they won’t call you a cab because they are concerned about customer service. Understandable, I suppose. But you can hail one yourself and the bellman will be happy to negotiate a rate for you. Or just spring the extra $$ for one of their hired town cars. It’s fun to splurge a little sometimes and the traffic can be terrible, so why not be comfy!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g150driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear g150driver,
It was great to have welcomed you to the newest landmark hotel in Latin America! Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable experience showcasing our own True Waldorf Service - personalized attention such as what you’ve received during your stay. We are delighted to hear you were able to experience the sites around the city as well as some of our hotel amenities, such as our free car service based on availability.
We truly value each of our guests and we hope to have a chance to help you create more wonderful memories in one of the most vibrant cities in the continent. Please don't hesitate to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay. Sorry no pictures. So I got a pretty decent rate here ($184) so I decided to give the hotel a shot, rather than do the Doubletree again. Sorry no pictures. Good location, 1 block off Balboa Avenue and by a bunch of restaurants and nightclubs. Smallish hotel. Reminded me very much of a W brand property.

Very warm welcome as a Diamond member, with a long, handwritten note in my room. But no Diamond room upgrade which is how my preferences are set. The hotel didn't seem that full. One way I judge this is by how many rooms on my floor have newspapers out in the morning. On my floor, only about half. But on the other hand, I never asked for an upgrade. Room 1502, nice view through the many high rise buildings. Average size room with a large and very modern bathroom. Salvatore Ferragamo soaps and shampoos. Lots of little push buttons for the lights, Welcome button by the door turned everything on. Privacy button made the doorbell outside the room red in place of a do not disturb sign. Service button changed the doorbell to green for housekeeping. Good night button by the bed turned everything off. Nice big flatscreen on the wall. Controls on the remote so I could switch the source to my laptop so I could watch DVDs I brought. 50+ channels on the TV, several in English. Very little storage space for clothes. 4 very little drawers that barely held t-shirts and socks. Minifridge with soft drinks and beer. Several pint (I think) bottles of hard liquor as well.

Nice but small outdoor pool and hot tub with full bar. Didn't go into the spa, but it looked very nice. Better gym than most properties, but dumbells stopped at 50lbs. 6 new weight machines and lots of cardio machines. Free bottled water in the gym which I took advantage of every day.

Lobby bar was dead every night. Did lunch in the Bistro and had the small tacos al pastor (very good) and the tuna nicoise bruschetta (also good). Had sushi at the sushi restaurant. Good and a good value. But 4 pages of the menu was "coming soon!". Never hit the bar. Note to future guests: The elevator that takes you to your room DOES NOT make a stop at the restaurant or lounge. You need to use the other elevator by the front desk.

They did have a free car service that took me to a restaurant a couple blocks away (I would have walked, but they couldn't figure out how to show me where to go) and to a supermarket for some wine and water. Tipped the driver. Late model town car and brand new Lincoln MKT.

Nice little bag of Panamanian ground coffee as a departure gift.

Was it worth the $$ premium over the Doubletree? Not sure. Probably if I got a room upgrade like I did at the Doubletree. Staff was great.

BTW, if you want a GREAT restaurant 3 blocks away, try La Trona. Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoWineGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear ChicagoWineGeek,
It is great to read such detailed comments. We really value our guests’ comments and we work hard to give each of you the best personalized service we can provide - our own True Waldorf Service. We are glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities and room features as well as the local vicinity in this vibrant part of Panama City. We look forward to seeing you again and making your visit even more memorable. Please consider this your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The staff and their service was the ultimate. It was the best service from Mr. Landero, Lille, Gian Yammey , and Moises. It was the best service I have had staying anywhere in the world in the last ten years. I would stay at the hotel for a year if I could afford it. It was a wonderful experience. You have great people! I have already told at least 30 people how much we loved our stay. Ron & Julie Berg

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank H Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear H Ronald B,
Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama and for allowing us to accommodate your needs. It is great to hear that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and had the chance to experience our own True Waldorf Service, more so that you remembered some of our staff members who helped make this possible. We hope you’ll have the chance to visit us again soon and hopefully stay just a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Nice brand new hotel in a great neighborhood in Panama City, walking distance to restaurants and Le Meridien and InterContinental. Just opened so everything is brand new. The staff is awesome and so helpful and courteous!! I truly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Barbara M,
Waldorf Astoria hotels thrive on great service keeping you in mind first, and we are glad you were able to experience this. We hope to host you again during your next stay in Panama and help you create more fond memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying off to David and then another 2 nights for our last leg of the trip. The beds are very comfortable, hotel is clean and new. The staff are extremely nice. They kept our luggage for us in between stay. Everything is new and sparking. Since it was a new property, we had some electrical issues with the room ie the AC was not working properly and we had to switch room. There were some billing issues as well but other than that, the staff were very helpful and always greet you with a smile. They had limited rooms with ocean view but we didn't mind that since we were out most of the day. They had lots of restaurants within walking distance. We walked to La Posta and Habibi restaurants. Be sure to negotiate cab ride fares prior to going in the cab. Cab rides to Casco Viejo is between $3 to $5. Cab ride to Albrook airport about $4. Cab ride to Tocumen is about $30-35 and to the Causeway is about $10 (we paid $20 each way but later found out from a local that it should have been $10).

Room Tip: The double queen beds room was bigger than the king room with bigger bathroom as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear brigdo (CA),
It is great to read your thoughts and comments as we are always looking for ways to improve our service across the board. We are sorry to hear about the few issues with the room and as always, we will find a way to make your future stays comfortable and memorable ones. We hope to see you again soon and help you discover new ventures within the city !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Following the tradition of high standards of a Waldorf hotel, this is a beautiful place, very well located, and with a very friendly and professional staff. The rooms are confortable and the beds will provide you the rest you need after a long day at work or play. I definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view - high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LATAM_TIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear LATAM_TIPS,
Thank you for your thoughts and for visiting us; we loved having you! We hope to share more experiences with you and allow you to experience the True Waldorf Service. Let us know of your next travel plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 113 in Panama City
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 113 in Panama City
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 113 in Panama City
763 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing