We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien Panama(Panama City)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Global Hotel Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveller rating
850
349
136
58
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
850
349
136
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrio restaurantginger restaurantsalvatore ferragamocar serviceluxury hotelnespresso machinebeautiful hoteljunior suitepool arearain showerturn down servicesushiconcierge deskbreakfast buffetcalle uruguayhigh floorenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This experience did not meet expectations. Pros: Interior of hotel was lovely, our room was very nice, hotel staff was extremely helpful, friendly and gracious - probably the best staff I've encounter at any hotel. We were always warmly greeted, the concierge gave us good recommendations, when we asked to switch rooms, we were immediately given a quieter room with a better view and one of the doormen was kind enough to escort us several blocks to a restaurant we were looking for. We also got a very good deal on our room.

Cons: Views are unimpressive, in-room conditioner blows on top of the bed which makes it difficult to sleep, almost every morning the staff would accidentally(?) ring our room at 6:30-7:30am, housekeeping consistently left one chocolate in the room even though there were two of us staying there, stream room was out of service, sub-par (and expensive) massages by massage therapists who seemed inexperienced, food from room-service was the worst food we had in Panama City. Additionally, it felt like we were the only people at the hotel. Other hotels we visited while we were there: The Trump, Hard Rock, Radisson - all seemed much more lively. The hotel is fairly new and it feels like they're still fine-tuning the details.The staff was fantastic and the facilitates were very nice but overall this hotel did not provide the Waldorf experience that we expected. We would not stay at this location again nor can we recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear N R,
Thank you for being our guest and for providing such detailed insight about your recent stay. Comments like yours are the ones that help us become better each day. We will definitely be working with each of the respective teams to correct immediately those things that you reported.
Thanks for choosing WA Panama as your recent stay and hope we can welcome you again soon on your next trip to Panama City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have chosen this hotel as we wanted to experience Waldorf Astoria brand. It is a new hotel which has been opened few weeks before our arrival and just part of the hotel was apparently operational. It was clear that the hotel was fairly empty during our stay. Each time we have entered the lobby it was empty except fair number of staff. Also the brasserie was quite empty each time we visited it. Everything in the hotel is sparkling new, design being quite modern in a W hotels kind of style. Outside is the hotel very discreet.
We have booked junior suite as the prices were very favourable. It was very spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. Bathroom huge with Ferragamo products. What however has to be mentioned about the room is the level of noise an A/C was producing. Even in off mode. We have pointed this out to the staff and their answer was that it is due to the fact that only few rooms are open and the pressure of air is too high. Not very helpfull to produce a quiet sleep. View is, well, limited. You can watch partly the sea and partly everyday life of the locals in the opposite building.
Staff is very polite and ready to help and hopefuly they will gain more confidence as the hotel will operate longer.
Breakfast offer was different each morning depending on the occupancy. One morning a hot buffet was available and next one just cold. Quality very good however.
Fitness centre next to the outdoor pool was well equipped with free Evian water. Pool however rather small. Jacuzzi was not operational during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Travelalot2,
Thank you for you staying with us; we are delighted to have been your home and that you were one of our first guests. As you mentioned, the hotel has only been open for two and a half months and during this time we have received great feedback from guests like you. All those comments are carefully addressed by our team in order to get better every day. Thank you for your insight, we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I recently just stayed at the Waldorf and I loved every aspect of the hotel. I have stayed at all the hotels on Uruguay Street, and this one is by far the BEST! The hotel is so beautiful, and the interior design of the whole building is stunning. Check in was a smooth process and Oliver, the bell boy, was ready to help us with our bags immediately.

We were always greeted kindly, and the service at this hotel is impeccable. The rooms are gorgeous, and you can tell that they paid very close to attention to details. We had a room on the ninth floor that had one of the balconies and it overlooked the whole city which was a neat feature! The beds are comfortable, and room ac unit worked perfectly!

The breakfast at the hotel is probably the only minor thing that I would change a bit, but honestly it was good enough to get the day started. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and the food was amazing! The portions are large and every bite was delicious...Oh and you can't forget the desserts :)

The pool is nice however, we did not get inside of it because it was a little chilly. We did use the gym facility and the salon. Great reviews for both!! I know for sure I have found my place of stay for future visits to Panama.

Great Job Waldorf!! We enjoyed our time at your wonderful hotel. You have a great staff as well!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandAriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Daniel R:
It is wonderful to read you had a great stay with us and that we were able to provide you with great service. After all, customers are the number one priority at the Waldorf Astoria Panama.
We hope we can be your home away from home during your next stay in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I can't say enough good things about our family stay at this tasteful, low-key, peaceful hotel. The service and attention from all the staff were outstanding and very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable and adequately spacious. We enjoyed our meals in the hotel restaurants. The only minor criticism is that the jacuzzi and steam room were not operational, but I attributed this to the fact that they only opened this new hotel a couple of months ago, so they're still working through some minor fixes. The swimming pool is small but nice for a dip. The gym is well equipped. This hotel is situated in a very good location. Some people may want to know that the big windows do not open in most of the rooms, but of course the air conditioning makes the room very comfortable. I highly recommend staying at this hotel in Panama City.

Room Tip: Rooms on any floors that end with the numbers 08 or 09 have great views of the ocean. To avoid hearing some of the music from the nearby dance clubs, book a room on the 12th floor or higher.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Sheynow:
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with details about your stay. It is great to hear that you really liked our property and we are glad we have left a great impression on you.
As you mentioned, our jacuzzi and steam room were undergoing some repairs, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you can come back and enjoy them in the near future. We would love to welcome you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and myself just got back from a business trip in Panama City, panama. I have stayed in all the luxury hotels in Panama City and I have to say the Waldorf is by far the best, the service, rooms and amenities were all beyond expectations. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay we will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear George W:
We are delighted to hear about your stay with us and we hope it was everything you hoped it would be. We are proud to have made your stay something memorable.
Come visit us again, we will always be your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews