We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but some negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
global
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but some negatives”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Positives: Very clean room, modern room with all modern amenities including the tv. Staff was very friendly and goes out of their way to assist you. Food in the restaurant was just normal though. Location of the hotel was perfec, in the heart of downtown panama.

Negatives: room does not have an iron. They have to share irons with other guests. View of other buildings roof tops, not that pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank eerobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear eerobat,

Thanks very much for your review.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know the positive and negative of you recent stay with us.

We will be working diligently to correct those negative points you mentioned.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    304
    111
    48
    41
See reviews for
223
415
75
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I loved this hotel. The hotel is basically brand new and it is the first Waldorf in Latin America. I don't know a lot about the layout of Panama City, but the location seemed good for everything I needed and was close to the water as well as most many of the attractions in Panama City.

My room was amazing. It was extremely large with a huge bathroom. The furniture was new and modern and the room was very comfortable. I honestly did not want to leave my hotel room it was so nice. There were plenty of plugs and almost every American cable channel on the TV. The only bad thing about the rooms is that there isn't much of a view because the other buildings around are taller than this hotel.

I ate several meals at the hotel. I really enjoyed the sushi restaurant and also had a good meal at the pool bar. I had their room service twice and it was very good both times.

The pool is small, but nice with good seating around the pool. Again, because other buildings are taller the pool isn't very private, but that did not bother me. The gym was also great, with lots of equipment, even though the door isn't labeled "gym" or "fitness center" for some strange reason.

The only thing that prevents this from being a world-class hotel is the staff. They are everywhere and are friendly, but aren't what you would expect from a five star hotel. I'm hoping this is because the hotel is new and they will get better.

Overall, I would stay again at the Waldorf Astoria Panama in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear bw331,

Thanks a lot for the nice review.

These are the kind of comments that help us reinforce our commitment to provide an excellent service.

We will be certainly looking at your suggestions and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Develoment
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. well located.
room was great with espresso machine and large tv.
food quality is average and lack of attention to detail. in the room, lamp waa broken, the elevator had one lighg missing and a panel openes with wires showing...
close to lots of restaurants. courtesy cas is cinvenient

Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear David F,

Thanks for your review.

We really appreciate your time taken to let us know how you feel about your recent stay with us.

We will be working on those details you mentioned to make them even better for your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Since the hotel just opened a few months ago, they have promotional rates. The service is outstanding, the rooms are wonderful and the location is convenient. Friendly staff, helpful and happy. They really make you feel they are happy to have you in the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Edgar E,

Thanks a lot for your recent comments.

We appreciate what you said and just to confirm it, we are really happy that each and everyone of our guests are giving us the opportunity to serve you and fullfil all your needs.

We are looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The interior of the hotel was nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly. They have a private car that will take you within 2k at no charge and the taxis they have available from the hotel are nicer than the yellow cabs on the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Chris G,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments.

We are looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice, Comfortable and Excellent Rooms if you Opt for Beach View King Condo. Drinks at the Pool Bar were great and hope Gabriel takes care you - very knowledgeable and professional. Take advantage of the Luxury Airport p/u great Mercedes Benz sedans - if they are taking you to the airport in the morning, make sure you request the cool down the vehicle and sweep out those darn mosquitos.!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Frank M,

Thanks indeed for your nice comments.

We really appreciate our guests' feedback as these help us to improve every day.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmuff
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice hotel top of the line luxurious rooms. Brand new hotel Service was excellent as well. Stayed one nice with my associates. The room had all the latest amenities as we as a well stocked mini bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank gmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear gmuff,

Thanks a lot for your review.

Comments like yours are the once that show us that we are going on the right direction.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 114 in Panama City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing