We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and unforgettably terrible!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable and unforgettably terrible!!!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 10 day trip in Panama. Had an amazing time staying in Casco Viejo, on Isla Bastiementos and Isla Palenque! Only disappointment and a big one at that was the Waldorf Astoria! Hotel accommodations nice, location ok ( however highly recommend staying in Casco Viejo), service was not only the worst I've ever experienced in a hotel chain of this caliber, but probably the worst I've ever experienced in the countless hotels I've stayed around the world. We were traveling with another couple and attempted to check in at 5:30pm however only one of our rooms was ready despite check in being at 3:00pm and the hotel clearly not full. Hardly saw anyone else there. No apology, just asked to check back in a bit. Ok, we took this in stride, went out exploring for a bit, returned at 7pm and were initially told they had to check if it was ready yet! Luckily it was, but by this time we were all a little annoyed. Headed over to bar for a drink and met with next disappointment. Bartender had no idea how to make the drink my wife ordered off the menu. After going to our room, I decided to call front desk or concierge to rely our frustration ( something I don't think I've ever done before). Problem was called front desk and concierge 4 times and no answer! Had to go to lobby to find manager who said sorry, but initially offered nothing for troubles. Finally offered $50 credit to Ginger restaurant in hotel. As we were traveling with others ( and restaurant is very expensive for Panama) said I would get back to them after checking with our group. Surprisingly 10 mins later when I called down to speak with manager again no answer!!!! Finally had to call restaurant from outside line. To top off our Waldorf experience at check out not only had they not credited our account for dinner, they did not have the correct room rate which should have been $50 dollars cheaper. Again after 20 or 30 mins and much discussion it was fixed, but by this time we all just wanted to leave and never go back !!! Truly awful service and attitude. And if the manager decides to reply to this post has he has others by "hoping to welcome us back", save your energy because that wont happen!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tahitiexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear tahitiexplorer,

Thanks for your review and comments.

We are closely analysing each and everyone of the things you mentioned so we make sure nobody else goes through this again.

We are committed to offer the best service and unfortunately you were not able to experience that.

Although you did not want to read this, we look forward to seeing you again so we can show you that your comments were not in vain.

Regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    297
    103
    46
    39
See reviews for
214
399
73
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

his was my first time in a Waldorf as I have stayed in just about every other hotel
Upon checking in with the front desk girl Candy she was great and upgraded me to a suite the room was beyond fantastic. The staff were fantastic. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Steve T,

Thanks a lot for such a nice comment.

Our main goal is to always serve our clients and guest the best way.

This type of comment is the one that let us know that we are doing the right things.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is well situated near the centre of the city and is nearly faultless, it actually seems fairly new.  The rooms are very pleasant, reasonable size, comfortable beds the breakfast is fine and the service is very good. Having said all of this the hotel feels sterile with no real atmosphere. 

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Chesterdoggerel,

We are really pleased to hear that your stay with us was a enjoyable one.

We would love to have you staying with us again soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After read a few reviews, i was not sure if to stay or not at this hotel but i decided to tried and here are my comments ...the room are large, has nice furniture and decor, the city view rooms are even better than the room they offer with ocean view, everything is clean and neat. Room service is slow but breakfast at the main restaurant is good. If you are looking for a lovely dinner, the restaurant of sushi is excellent!!!!...I tried with some friends the spa services and were excellent, the reflexology on the feet was fascinating, i also got a facial and a massage and both were wonderful, they also offer Reiki that i will try in my next visit, very professional and good attention there, the relax room is nice but the furniture is not so comfortable, even the hair salon is lovely, you can get manicure with pedicure as well on massage on both hands and feet but is too expensive. I tried several Spa around the city and most of them don't offer hair salon, the closest to Waldorf Spa is the Clarins Spa of playa bonita but my last experience there trying to make an appointment was terrible! I called several times requesting the same info that I got in one hour from Waldorf. The pool has a nice bar (compared to the Marriott where the bar is far from the pool area or the Sheraton where pool attendants are almost not existent) but is facing old buildings. This is not an hotel for vacations but it has a nice location if you are doing business. If you are at the upper floors you will not hear on weekends the street noise (compared to Le Meridien were rooms are too low and you can hear the music from the surrounding bars and discos). I would recommend this hotel, it has some things that need to improve but they really have excellent service, something that hotels in Panama city don't tend to know!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libertad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Libertad H,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments.

We are really happy to read that you had a great experience while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked a ocean view suite on the 22nd floor. Room is actually a condo with about 100m2.
Breathtaking view.
Hotel staff is not very well trained and does not know loads of things you may require. Building is very nice but poor number of restaurants. Basically this hotel has not a good management. Staff do whatever you ask but do not expect any 5Lstar service. SPA, Pool and steam suana (located in the mens room..., pedicure in the hair dresser studio) are not adequate for a hotel like this.
Restaurant are boring but good of quality. Smokers policy NONE (since the local law does not allow any smoking close to or in the building) so this makes you stand outside in the rain.
I was expecting more of a hotel with a name like this. Could even have booked a Hilton, Mariott or Sheraton (all faceless hotels). We did not aks for a cheap price and the price we paid (USD259) is low. Breakfast (not included) is not enough for this hotel. No complimentary water on the (100m2) room. Good bathing robes. Send 2 mails to book a hotel car for airport shuttle, Ritz Carlton (SCL) managed finally to book it by phone. No club or executive lounges. Heading for Four Seasons now, back to real five star service.

Room Tip: ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear robin martin w,

Thanks a lot for your review and the comments that you provided in reference to your recent stay with us.

We will be working diligently to make sure we can get better at each of the points that you highlighted.

We look forward to see you soon and show you our improvement.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Rooms are gorgeous!!!! First breakfast, egg omellet came in 45 min. After I asked for them. At night to the spa, oversold by the manager. Beautiful setting, but paid for a massage of 80 min, got 60. Quality was extremly poor, not even coordinated massage between body parts, less so timing given to the left and right of the same body part. Individual offered massage with full lights on and no shoes!!!!!! There was an issue with their heaters, called to ask what was happening as my floor was smelling and first feedback was not to worry. Then 10 min after the night manager asked for me to move to a different room due to safety. No further explanasion offered and quite an attitude when questionned. Had to negotiate a room and at 12am was able to get installed. Spoke to the manager which was nice, but no solution. Next day, arrived at the hotel restaurant for breakfast and it was closed. Management decided to transfer breakfast to a different floor. Your card needs to be charged twice to pay the bill!!!! Horrible experience!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jblesgraeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jblesgraeft,

Thanks a lot for your comments.

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experience during your stay with us.

We will be working consciously to make sure all situations are taken care of.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My husband, infant daughter and I stayed for 5 nights in September. This was sufficient time to truly experience both the good and not so good elements if this hotel.

The highs:

-- The staff are helpful and welcoming. In particular, Candy, Ona, Anita and Moses went out of their way to make our experience in Panama pleasurable. Maria in housekeeping is a gem -- she took great care if us every day and made sure everything in the room was clean and safe for the baby.

-- The location is good. The street itself is nothing special, but it is right near good restaurants and central to all the city has to offer.

-- As a Hilton Honors member, there are nice small perks like free Internet (which should be free at a luxury hotel regardless).

The very unfortunate lows:

-- The last night of our stay, we were woken up in the middle of the night due to loud club music coming from below. We learned after calling the front desk that there was a wedding -- scheduled to end at 5 AM. The music was so loud that it could be heard -- and felt -- 4 floors up. The hotel management did nothing to address the issue - such as notifying guests of the event in advance, so room changes or other accommodations could be made -- or during the night, when multiple complaints came in. It wasn't until 5:30 AM when the party was still going string that the night manager made efforts to lower the music and even then, the party wasn't over until after 6 AM. Both the event itself and the management response was completely unbecoming of what I would expect of the Waldorf brand. Anita at the front desk was very aware and sympathetic to the issues and escalated them appropriately, but the night manager's failure to take action until after 5 AM and eventual response of "this was out of my control" failed to take responsibility for a situation that clearly should have and could have been in the hotel's control. I was later told that this was an unusual situation and an unexpected event, but now reading earlier TripAdvisor reviews, I see that this happened before with a similar unacceptable response.

-- There are definitely construction issues despite this being a new hotel. The bathroom had broken tiles and fixtures. There was also an electrical fire on a higher floor during our stay that filled the elevator banks with smoke.

-- The in room breakfasts were expensive and mediocre

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laborchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Laborchicky,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.

We will continue working hard to make sure your next stay with us is much better.

Best regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#7 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing