We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We love this hotel! Everyone from the doorman to the concierge is more than friendly and helpful. You will feel at home instantly. The hotel decor is beautiful and the rooms and bathrooms are wonderful. They thought of everything when they designed the rooms! Great beds too! Hotel Location is excellent, and we couldn't have made a better choice!

Room Tip: We LOVE the rooms! Any of them in this hotel would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Hryt,
We are truly happy to have welcomed you to a comforting experience during your recent stay in the city. It is the little things that you write about in your review that set us apart and help guests like you feel at home. We hope to welcome you again soon and continue to provide you with the comfort and service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    293
    102
    46
    39
See reviews for
214
391
72
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a new hotel in the middle of the city. Upon arrival we were moved to a better room/apartment and that was very nice. Even though the apt is new, the carpet was ripped, the lamps tilted, the faucet in the kitchen spraying water everywhere. The main issue I have with this hotel is that the staff is not organized and does not seem to be as friendly. For example, one night a bar manager broke a glass and spilled beer over us. She was very apologetic but did not even offer to buy the beer for us. We did not say anything but got our clothes cleaned for free after asking. The main issue was with the excursions. The concierge contacted us by email prior to the trip to make arrangements. I tried doing so online upon her suggestion but that did not work. I wrote an email to her asking about specific tours and an airport transfer but did not hear from her until I approached her upon my arrival at the hotel. I did not know if I was going to be picked up at the airport or not because this service was not confirmed nor I was given instructions. I travel extensively and looked for my name at the exit of the airport and found a gentleman holding a sign with my name. This service was charged to our room. The other tours (Old City on Sunday and Panama Canal on Monday) were never confirmed and screwed up. They tried to do both tours in one day and only at the end of the second day I was given a price of almost 400$ for both tours. The tour wanted us to pay then but we refused. After returning to the hotel I confronted the concierge. She said she would take care of it. I returned from vacation last night to find an email in which she wants to charge us 288$ for the tour. We are still dealing with this issue.
The whole experience has left a sour taste for us. For this reason we would not recommend this hotel. Getting everything confirmed and written before hand if you stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjcjr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear ChicagoB_and_B_fans,
Warm greetings from Panama City and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on your recent stay. Your feedback is important to us and will help us improve our service and amenities. We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced with the tours. Your comments will be addressed with our staff, and we hope to get that resolved for you soon. Please feel free to contact us with any questions.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you again and provide you with the services and amenities you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were there for Christmas Eve this year 2013. The place is beautiful. Now I don't stay at WA often, so I don't have much to compare it to. I was there with my wife and 2 small girls. My girls loved the gingerbread house and the staff told them to help themselves to the cookies on the house (which kept getting refilled each time they took some).
As for the staff, they are super nice. Very helpful. Made various dining & sights suggestions. Top notch staff.
As for the room, it was spotless. Some have said 'cold and soul-less'. But it was white and clean. What more could I ask from a hotel room? It has everything we needed. Even robes and slippers.
People here complained about the pool being small. My opinion is that is is a nice, clean outdoor pool at the top of a building IN A CITY. Really? people complained about the fact that people from other buildings can see into the pool. If you are so self conscious about yourself, son't go to a public pool. The pool had ample seating & outdoor bar. Its nice.
The only negative was that internet wasn't included, $12 a day for that. And of course its a WA, so expect WA prices for the food (which was good).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Tabascov,
Thank you for your comments and for allowing us to welcome you during your recent visit to Panama City. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us and found your room, services and amenities to your liking. It is our goal to give you the top-notch accommodations you seek from a great hotel, but more importantly, to offer you the best in first class service. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet. It was about a 15 minute walk to the nicer casinos and a very short walk to the waterfront boardwalk/strand, which was very nice to walk. There was a disco/club close by that was noisy on the week-end so bring ear plugs if you go on Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Shalene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Shalene,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay, but even more importantly, your feedback, as we know it helps us get better at serving our costumers.
It is true we are located in a part of the city, and we are sorry to read you were affected by the noise coming from one of the clubs nearby. We will address this issue with the appropriate parties and hope we can get it resolved as soon as possible. We truly hope to see you again during your next visit to Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have to say, I loved it. The hotel is smaller in size, we did get a great room, the coffee and water in the room - 1st quality. The beds are too soft for me, so probably it would be a problem for me for longer stay. But... We did have a balcony! And the customer service - they really try hard. I would not say it`s 1st class, as at the registration we did have to wait for our room over 1 hour (we came at 4:00PM, so it was a bit of a surprise to me to wait that long... I would expect this to happen at noon or 1:00PM). However, they did make it up - I have never experienced any other hotel chain that would allow you to use their facilities after check-out! Great that you can take a shower before going to the airport! The hotel is in a great location to restaurants, so no problem in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Daeena,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit to Panama and providing us with your feedback, as we feel it will help our staff get better. We are sorry for the delays in the check-in process and all other inconveniences during your stay. We will address these with our staff and review what went wrong. We truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and help you create new wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have stayed in many Waldorf Astorias and this is not even close to meeting the expectation that this brand has established. The staff tries very hard but they do not hit the mark and so many things are lacking the quality that you would expect. The pool is small and it is next to several high rise buildings so do not expect to have any privacy.
I would not return to this hotel and hope that the new Hilton being built in the neighborhood does a better job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 09876eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear 09876eat,
We are so sorry you did not have a good experience during your stay. We can assure you that our number one goal is to offer our guests the best attention and memorable experiences.
We would appreciate the opportunity to change your perception of us and our staff members. We are certain we can offer you the service and attention you deserve - we are at your service always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is definitely not up to Waldorf standards. You'll see from the moment you pull up to the hotel.

Lobby - The lobby is underwhelming and small. There is absolutely no sense of luxury. The finishes are cheap and the quality is poor. The front desk and concierge seemed poorly trained and confused at times.

FIRST ROOM
Room - We first got a "one bedroom" suite. It would have been a nice room, except it wasn't a one bedroom. The "bedroom" (WA's term, not mine) was missing two walls and a door, so it was basically just part of a larger room.

Bathroom - The bathroom had no door. This would have been ok, except the toilet area didn't have a door either. You could sit on the throne, see through the bedroom, through the living room and out the window. I'm older now, but I was young once and I still wouldn't have been ok with people in the room (yes, incl. my wife) seeing me on the toilet. Also, the shower bar fell off and hit my wife on the foot.

Kitchenette - Nice touch, but the cupboard was falling out of the wall!

Well, I complained and they moved us to the.....

SECOND ROOM
This was a Penthouse. However, it was more of the same. Still no doors to bathrooms or toilet areas. Windows were filthy, they were never cleaned after construction. Air conditioning in the bedroom didn't work and it was close to 90F, so they moved us to the.......

THIRD ROOM
This was a two bedroom Penthouse. Well, the bedrooms had doors, so now we were getting somewhere! Once you're in the bedrooms, the bathrooms and toilet areas had no doors (of course), but there were only two of us, so it worked. No dishes or silverware in the kitchenette. The only other thing that was annoying with this room was the air conditioning. It sounded like a tornado going through! When it was on, you had to almost yell to be heard.

The most troubling thing was the staff left the balcony door wide open one day. My wife had locked it (she's from the Bronx and always makes sure everything is locked when we leave). We hadn't even been out there, so I'm not sure why they even went out there.

RESTAURANT
Ginger - We had dumplings, pakora shrimp, Mongolian beef and Thai lobster. The food was very bland. Supposed to be a nice restaurant, but very disappointing.

POOL
It was on the 7th floor or so. No idea why they'd put it so low. Had a view of the high rises across the street. Not very nice.

SERVICE
Totally hit or miss, but it never got close to what I expect from a WA.

The long and short of it is this hotel should not be a WA. The location, physical properties, service and food all fall very short of being 4 star, let alone 5 star.

TIP - Use the cabs from the street and save 75% over the hotel taxis. Used about 15-20 street taxis during our stay and never, ever had an issue. All drivers were very nice, patient and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear BradnSue,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you during your recent visit to Panama City, but more importantly for providing us with a well detailed account of your thoughts and experiences.
We appreciate your feedback, which will be addressed with our staff as we feel it can only help us be better. It is great to hear our staff was able to accommodate you into better rooms after the few inconveniences. Please feel free to contact us directly with any further thoughts or inquiries about your visit. We hope to be able to accommodate you during your next visit and help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
1,108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing