We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Waldorf experience - won't be the last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First Waldorf experience - won't be the last!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I'm in Panama for 2 weeks out of the month for work and the company I work with has a contracted rate with Le Meridien, just around the corner from the Waldorf, so that's where I usually stay. My spouse wanted to visit Panama, so he came in and we stayed 3 nights in Casco Viejo, 2 nights on Contadora Island and the last night before his flight home at the Waldorf. Given the choice, I would pick the Waldorf over Le Meridien any day.

Location is nearly identical but the rooms are massive and the decor and staff just seem to have that little something extra. Everything, from check-in to breakfast, was just a little more special than you find in other places. Granted, I have not stayed at any other Waldorf Astoria, but if this property is any indication of the brand standard, I will seek it out in the future. The beds are heavenly as well. If you need a 4 or 5 star hotel, skip Trump and Starwood and stay here. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammarFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear GrammarFreak,
We are truly happy to have welcomed you to a comforting experience during your recent stay in the city. It is the little things that you write about in your review that set us apart and help guests like you feel at home. We hope to welcome you again soon and continue to provide you with the comfort and service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    304
    111
    48
    41
See reviews for
223
415
75
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is in a good area, but accommodations are not up to the reputation of the expectations of the Waldorf hotels. The staff was friendly, but the hotel seemed "cold" and sterile. The buffet breakfast was cold and sub-standard. The concierge services were very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank wayned70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear wayned70,
Thank you for allowing us to know more about your recent stay with us. After reading your comments our team understands that there is always room for improvement, and you can be sure that we will be working hard to be better in every aspect of our operation. We would love to have you once again as a guest so you can personally experience our improvements. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a great hotel and a great price. Wonderful staff, clean rooms, great food and nice pool and fitness center. Traveled to Panama for Spring Break from the USA. Beautiful country. The Waldorf was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank collegemom131619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear collegemom131619,
A warm thank you to you and your family for letting us welcome you during your recent stay. The Waldorf Astoria Panama has your comfort and enjoyment in mind first. We are delighted to read you were able to enjoy our rooms and facilities. We are your home away from home and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I log 85 nights a year in hotels all around the planet and have not been this disappointed by a property in along time. Flight was late so checked in late. They did not have my room type available. The room they did give me was dirty A/C did not work smelled like smoke very small room and zero wifi signal. I tried to work with management but could tell quickly they are novices in the hospitality business. Very poor management and staff at this hotel. For the cost you can do much better in Panama City. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place. I don't want to be totally negative and say something positive about this place, but I can't.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear byuby5,
We are sincerely sorry for all the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I wanted to let you know that we forwarded your message to the staff involved to find out why this type of room was not available and the state of the room upon your arrival. We have taken strict measures so that this does not happen again. We hope we have a chance to welcome you again to our beautiful country and offer you the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

All staff was knowledgeable, helpful, very friendly and with a smile. They made you feel especial. The hotel is immaculate, well decorated. Spaciouis rooms.Great restaurants and very convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank karyo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear karyo2000,
Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy to learn you found our accommodations to be comfortable and accesible. It is wonderful to know our first-class service has impacted your stay in the way it was intended. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and continue to offer you our first-rate service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent one night here before heading back home. The rooms are spectacular. Huge, modern, and the best shower there is. Taxi to the old town was on,y $7. Don't take their transportation, catching a taxi across the street saves you $10-$20. Airport was just $30 as per the area.

Cons...it sounded like our room was in a bathroom. All night the water running through the pipes was coming through our vents. It was quite frustrating. Also, the fact that Internet is $12 seemed steep. The other hotels nearby had free internet. We used points for the hotel, but I don't know if I'd have paid $400 for our suite.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Annie B,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you during your recent visit to Panama City. We welcome your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is unfortunate to hear we were not able to offer you free internet and we are sorry about all other issues with the noise. We will be addressing the issues with our staff as we know it helps us get better.
We are excited you enjoyed your room amenities and hope we have a chance to welcome you again so that we can exceed your expectations and thus help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is new, very clean, lovely rooms, updated technology. The restaurants were very good. The Sushi restaurant in particular was top class. Checking in, checking out, and the overall staff are very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Richard C,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to Panama City and the Waldorf Astoria Panama. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great experience. We look forward to being able to host you again during your next trip and continue to offer you great service and unforgettable memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 114 in Panama City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing