We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Panama” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the Waldorf for a long holiday weekend in November. The hotel is about one block off the main street, where their is a large park and access to the water. It is about a mile walk to the the old town. Their are a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Had no issues walking around the neighborhood at night. My room resembled a small apartment. IT included a kitchen, sitting area with fire place and a bathroom with waterfall shower that also had a window which allowed you to take a shower and look out over the room and skyline. I did have repeated trouble with the television and cable. The staff was kind enough to give me a complimentary massage in the spa for my inconvenience. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was very helpful in helping me arrange airport transportation and a tour of the Panama Canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear DiamondHH,
We are delighted to have been your home during your stay in Panama City. It is true we offer not only great service and amenities, but also a great location near malls, restaurants and historic sites. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the many amenities and facilities at our hotel. We hope you allow us to host you again during your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    291
    102
    45
    38
See reviews for
213
384
69
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a great hotel! Concierge was fantastic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in the suite towers which were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its outstanding service and luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kristi T,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to the city. We are proud to offer the best in service, and we are delighted to read you were able to experience this and many other great things at the Waldorf Astoria Panama.
We hope to continue serving you. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

So this is not your typical Waldorf Astoria. Living just blocks away from the #1 ranked Waldorf in the World, my expectations were too high.

But, if you don't go in expecting that, you will enjoy your stay. I did A LOT of research into which Panama City hotel to stay at. I split my time in Panama City between this hotel and the rival Trump hotel and would easily recommend the Waldorf over the Trump.

Rooms are well appointed with nice bathrooms and very comfortable beds.

Service was fine. Bellboy Tony was awesome. I actually preferred his recommendations to that of the concierge.

My biggest negative about the hotel was the pool area. Service was spotty. The pool had only a sliver of sun during the day (in April), which was disappointing. Additionally, at night even though the pool area had a number of people, the bar/food service closes and they shut off all the deck lights. One night I was there, there were a few groups either reading/smoking/swimming, with no lights or bar service. Something management should change.

WIFI cost $14/night.

The hotel is an area with a lot of surrounding restaurants/bars and is centrally located such that you can easily walk to other attractions.

In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Panama City and I did enjoy my stay here. You just can't expect a typical Waldorf experience (but then again, you are not paying typical Waldorf Prices).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Tim S,
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here. Tony will be informed of your kind praise. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences at the pool area. We are upset that you were disappointed with the service. We will inform our staff immediately, so that it does not occur again. Thank you for the positive comments. . Your thoughts are fondly welcomed and we promise to make your next visit even better. We hope to be able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in Panama City after being relocated from another property. I cannot say that I was disappointed because I never would have picked it in the first place. I am familiar with the Waldorf, as I married at the property in Chicago (when it was The Elysian), but this location feels very much like its heyday was in the 80s and it hasn't been renovated since.

It's located in a popular area of the city with lots of restaurants and nightclubs within walking distance. Be aware that the hotel is surrounded by other high rises, so views are minimal, at best. The food and drinks were good. The pool deck only had about 15 chairs in the sun...it's tiny, so be ready to hustle for a good spot. The rooms are like being in a time warp - part modern, part disco. Plus, the shower never got hot.

It's a shame and hard to write this review, because the staff were wonderful - friendly, helpful, welcoming, and took such pride in their jobs (in particular, Onya, from Spain at check in). They really waited on us hand and foot. We felt like we were the only guests at the hotel. Not just greeting us by our last names (as is the industry standard), but by our first names as well. It's because of them this review has earned a three rating; if not, it would have been a one. Management clearly invests in recruiting and training the right people for their jobs; if only they did the same when it comes to the property itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicam570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear monicam57,
It was great to have had the opportunity to welcome you during your first visit to both Panama City and a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Our personalized service sets the stage for a rewarding stay at our hotel, and we are delighted you were able to experience this.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is extremely important to us as it helps us get better every day.
Your thoughts are noted and will be addressed with our staff. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the city and show you great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Restaurants were very nice, sushi at ginger lounge was great. Room was super luxurious. My one complaint is that luxury hotels tend to charge you a fee for every extra amenity that you need. This is not reasonable considering that you already pay a premium price. For example, internet is an extra $12 per day when I asked. I had a coffee maker in my room, but no coffee or coffee supplies, I'm sure this is extra. This is 2014, and WIFI is a basic. Perhaps 5 years ago you could charge extra for WIFI, but in 2014 it is comparable to charging extra for towels in your bathroom. With many more hotels providing complimentary wifi to all or at least their frequent guests, I dont see returning to this hotel. I would rather pay a higher lodging price up front knowing that after check in, I wont be charged a fee for everything I want to use.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Luis M,
Thanks for nice feedback about the hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to dine at Ginger, which offer amazing culinary experiences. Regarding the Wifi, there is a special rate that includes internet. We apologize if you were not informed of this prior to visiting the Waldorf Astoria. All rooms should have a coffee machine and the packets available free of charge. We truly hope you were able to enjoy some of our other amenities during your stay as well as the city of Panama. Looking forward for a new opportunity, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very well designed hotel all around, if you have been to Panama before you would be amazed how well trained are these staffs. They are helpful, friendly and professional. For the price they offered now, you get great value for your money. The bed is very comfortable, room with espresso machine, CNN channel, shoe shine compliment, very clean and reasonable size. The room I had has ocean view which is really nice, the Ginger lounge, restaurants are wonderful. If you like to try something outside of the hotel. There is also another wonderful place just across street Crepes and Waffers for snack. I will come back with friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear JoyStone,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to Panama City. We are glad to have made your stay an enjoyable one and to have catered to all your needs. We hope we have the chance to welcome you again and to create more wonderful memories in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed with my wife for a long business trip. Rooms were big and comfortable. Service went out of their way to handle requests and make us feel at home.

My only complaint, and it's a minor one, was the low water pressure in the shower.

Will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lherrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear lherrero,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with valuable feedback. We pride ourselves in providing first grade service, and we hope you were able to receive it. Your comments were noted and will be addressed with our staff immediately. We hope you’ll have the chance to visit us again soon, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing