We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It is a very good hotel.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is excellent. It is a Waldorf Astoria! I like the level of service, everybody was very friendly from the very first moment we arrived. A little problem we experienced int he airport was with the shuttle. We have to await there for around one hour, at the en they sent a cab for us. That was not a good beginning. The Lobby is very modern and actually the whole hotel is brand new. We got a beautiful room. The facilities of the hotel are excellent, with a very nice Gym, a gorgeous Pool located -If I am right- in the 7th or 8th floor. Lockers include steam and Sauna. The breakfast was included in our rate and we certainly love it. The restaurant is beautiful and there were many healthy selections. The hotel is well located in relationship to easy access to everything. Close to supermarkets, shopping centers, restaurants and all the action. The beach is just to blocks away, but that is the only serious problem I see: Why to built this beautiful hotel there and not in front of the beach where all the other luxury hotels are? the view from the high floors is nice but not from the room we were. We faced directly an ugly building in front of us. This is one of the best hotels in Panama City, if the hotel would have been built facing directly the sea I am sure this would be considered with no doubts the best. Still is a wonderful hotel and I will not hesitate to go back. It is a great value, probably one of the most affordable Waldorf Astorias I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor, I am sure you want to have to view of the sea and not the ugly build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear traveladept1,
Thank you for all your positive comments. Great service, luxury amenities, and first class accommodations are three things we are most proud of, and we are excited you were able to enjoy these. We will follow up on the transportation situation so that it does not happen again in the future. Next time we will try to accommodate you with a room that faces the ocean. We hope you’ll have the chance to visit us again soon, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    293
    102
    46
    39
See reviews for
214
391
72
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very chick, nice suites, excellent breakfast, I stayed just one night and it is more that enough to describe in short words the high quality of this hotel, I had a room with a nice view, amenities of high quality. Personalized breakfast (that's how I felt).lovely

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Raymond C,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to Panama City and the Waldorf Astoria Panama. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great experience.
We look forward to being able to host you again during your next trip and continue to offer you great service and unforgettable memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great accommodations, service, friendly staff and good food. Good view of city. Room clean but no hot water. They had to have maintenance repair the shower. They fixed it promptly. Great taxi service and tour guide. Same price as hop on hop off bus. His name is Alex Ayarza. Speaks good English and very knowledgeable. His phone number is 6111-6465. Use his services. Very reasonable!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear raymond c,
Thank you for the nice review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding, the inconvenience we are glad to know that our maintenance staff was able to fix the problem efficiently. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We'd reserved a duplex 2 bedroom penthouse suite several months before our trip. A couple of days before we were to arrive I received a phone call explaining that there'd been a leak and if the suite was uninhabitable upon our arrival we would get 2-1 bedroom suites instead, free internet and breakfast. Fair enough. Things happen in the hotel business that are unavoidable.
When we arrived and checked in we were shown to the 2 bedroom suite with no explanation of anything. The first floor of the suite was nicely appointed with great views of Panama Bay. The master bedroom was also nice and spacious with a great view. Here's the kicker-the second bedroom had NO windows, no door on the bathroom, and from the bed there was a fabulous view of the toilet. Design flaw?
The shower in that room didn't work and we had to call to have it repaired.
The a/c in our master bath made a horrific noise that also had to be repaired.
There is no tourist information in English.
Most of the staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful, though, which is why I am not giving 2 stars.
During 1 day of our stay we arrived back at the room at 3:30 to find the room had not been cleaned. After calling, the housekeeper came in about 1/2 an hour later with a squirt bottle and dirty rag. When I asked her to change the sheets, she told me no, "manana". Huh?
There is a large jacuzzi on the terrace of the suite which wasn't working. And I couldn't help wondering why on a large terrace to a 2 bedroom suite there were 2 lounge chairs and nothing more.
There are certainly not" first class amenities and unrivaled opulence" as their web page states.
The pool is unattractive and there are barely enough towels to go around. There are no towels or water in the gym.
This hotel gives The Waldorf a very bad name!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear laura s,
We appreciate your feedback. The maintenance department will be informed about the inconveniences you had during your last visit, so that it does not occur again in the future. Normally there is tourist information in both English and Spanish; however there might have been a distributing mistake that day. We will mention to our staff what you wrote so that we can better our service. It is good to know you were able to experience good and friendly service during your time at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments and we hope the next time you stay will be a pleasurable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I am not rating this 1 star, because it is worse than other rated hotels, but because it does absolutely not deliver what it is promising.

Short story:
I would advise anybody to rather book a Deluxe/Suite in the Doubletree just 3 blocks north (Via Espana/Ave Frederico Boyd). It is the same Hilton brand, and you get a larger better equipped Room, more professional staff and MUCH more amenities for HALF the price.

Long story:
- Room not ready: We had booked a room, and arrived at 3PM, however were told that the room was not ready and we should wait. 45min later, I friendly queried what the problem was, however only received a blunt "sorry, not ready yet". We noted, that this is rather inacceptable, and we watched 3 staff constantly phoning and buzzing arround. We got the keys after 60min, however this is inacceptable. Meanwhile, no excuse, no offer for refreshments, no smile, nothing.
By the way: The room we finally received had a floor soaked wet....

- Treatment: We just came from a 5 day tour in the Darien jungle, and looked a bit "adventurous". Unfortunately, we were treated like some cheap backpackers. Very "looking-down" attitude, no smile, no proper greeting, no customer enquiry. Paying the bill with a Platinum Visa wearing a 2k$ watch didnt seem to hint them at me actually being a very frequent Hilton customer (which I assume should appear in their systems) having actually held the Hilton Gold status until the month before.
Anyways: A 5 star premises advertising "a special experience" should treat anybody special regardless of the looks. When you board a First Class Emirates or Etihad flight with Pyjamas, you are equally special as the guy wearing a suit.

Checkin/out: Apart from the delay and attitude mentioned above, no explanation of the premises, no information on breakfast and facilities, seriously only the words "here are your keys, there is the elevator". No questioning, how the stay was.

Room: Being the highest brand of Hilton, I would expect more than the others. However it is not the case here. Aside from looking fancier, there is no actually benefit. Same small 32m2 room, simple bathroom, less bath amenities (e.g. no showergel!?!), no bathtub, no kettle / coffeemaker, no writing utilities at the desk, noncomplimentary Wifi, and the blanket has no proper linen, it is rather a blanket sandwiched in 2 bedsheets. Thats what hostels do, not 5 star hotels!

Bed: As one of the few positive experiences, the bed delivers a true Waldorf Astoria comfort! I always enjoy the very comfortable sleep.

Service: We were promised a complimentary shuttle in a 2km radius the day before. However, when asking for it the next morning, we received some nonsense excuse (I dont even remember it because it was so obviously a blatant excuse) that it is not available. Maybe it has to do something with us continuing to look "adventurous", as our next stop was Isla Coiba.

All in all: This fairly new Waldorf Astoria LOOKs like a 5 star Waldorf Astoria, however it doesnt deliver what it promises. I would seriously advise the management to review how this hotel is run under the Waldorf Astoria brand.
Meanwhile, I can advise anybody to book a deluxe/suite in the Hilton Doubletree 3 blocks north. The rooms&lobby are not as "bling-bling", but you get larger rooms with more amenties, better equipped bathrooms, free Wifi+breakfast, welcome drinks&cookies, etc. for half the price!

Best regards from a former pretty-long Hilton Gold customer, whos experience encourages keeping it "former".
(Stayed: 23&24. April)

Room Tip: Get a deluxe/suite room at the double tree (Via Espana & Ave. Federico Boy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hal9213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear hal9213,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit to Panama and providing us with your feedback, as we feel it will help our staff get better. We are sorry for the delays in the check-in process and all other inconveniences during your
stay. We will address these with our staff and review what went wrong. We truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to the city and help you create wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the Waldorf for a long holiday weekend in November. The hotel is about one block off the main street, where their is a large park and access to the water. It is about a mile walk to the the old town. Their are a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Had no issues walking around the neighborhood at night. My room resembled a small apartment. IT included a kitchen, sitting area with fire place and a bathroom with waterfall shower that also had a window which allowed you to take a shower and look out over the room and skyline. I did have repeated trouble with the television and cable. The staff was kind enough to give me a complimentary massage in the spa for my inconvenience. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was very helpful in helping me arrange airport transportation and a tour of the Panama Canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear DiamondHH,
We are delighted to have been your home during your stay in Panama City. It is true we offer not only great service and amenities, but also a great location near malls, restaurants and historic sites. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the many amenities and facilities at our hotel. We hope you allow us to host you again during your next visit to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a great hotel! Concierge was fantastic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in the suite towers which were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its outstanding service and luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kristi T,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to the city. We are proud to offer the best in service, and we are delighted to read you were able to experience this and many other great things at the Waldorf Astoria Panama.
We hope to continue serving you. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
1,108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing