We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While this does not live up to the Waldorf Astoria standards in other cities, it is still a good hotel. The location is pretty central and is very near to many restaurants and clubs. The clubs are late night clubs but you can't hear it from the hotel so it is fine. The rooms, I stayed in 2, are comfortable and clean. The gym and spa are good and the pool, while small, is nice. It also has a pretty large hot tub.

The drawbacks to the hotel in my opinion are that you can only see the ocean from a few rooms and the pool area, there is only one real restaurant, and the bar in the hotel is always empty. Basically it is a nice place to stay if you know what you are getting into. By the way, while I did not see any, the bartender in the lobby told me that there are quite a few hookers from Colombia in the area and he sometimes sees guests bring them up to the room. My friend also told me that the area is known to have a lot of hookers who seek out rich, older men.

If you want to be in a hotel with more people and amenities, I would suggest the Trump Hotel. It is half apartments and half hotel rooms with 5 or 6 bars inside. Plus the architecture is very cool. You don't have views from it either but it is still a cool hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 911 which had a balcony and an ocean view but I also stayed in 1113 and it did not have a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Steve H,
It was great to have had the opportunity to welcome you during your visit to both Panama City and a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. We welcome your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is true our hotel is located just one block away from the main drive that faces the ocean, surrounded by many restaurants, bars, and shopping options. We feel they allow our guests to see the cultural aspects that define the city of Panama. We hope we have a chance to welcome you again so that we can exceed your expectations and thus help you create better memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Panama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited this hotel in March this year. Having not visited Panama before i was wary of what to expect and was extremely pleased. There is nothing that i can say that is bad about this hotel really. The room was spacious, clean, luxurious, good toiletries, robes etc, good mini bar etc etc.
The pool area is an experience as it is outside in the side of the hotel half way up! There's a bar there too! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The reception bar is a little clinical but well stocked and friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure trips. Panama is a great place to visit too!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Fiona4333,

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review.

It is our commitment to offer every one of our guests an enjoyable stay and through this review we be sure that we reached our goal.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to a day at the Waldorf before our following morning flight out of Panama City. What a joy! On arrival we were met at the curb by the concierge along with a host of bellmen who whisked away our luggage while we were provided with early registration to our room.
The city view suite was large enough to have a party in. Complete with full kitchen, living room, sleeping area and shower area for 12.
At night a driver was made available to take us to and from an area restaurant.
We have never had a hotel make us feel so special. Every aspect of the Waldorf exceeded our expectations and our future Panama visits will include a Waldorf day of luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toledo452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear toledo452,
How wonderful to hear your stay at Waldorf Astoria Panama was the best you've ever had. We are happy to learn you found our accommodations to be comfortable and accessible. We are equally excited to read you took advantage of our complementary shuttle service that we offer up to a 2km radius from the hotel premises. Many guests find this to be not only convenient but sufficient while touring the city. We sincerely hope to see you here again during your next visit and help you achieve more comfortable and restful times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Waldorf Astoria in Panama city. All Employees were courteous, kind and helpful. The suite on the 32 floor overlooking the ocean was spectacular. All the comforts of home plus. The meals we ate in the restaurant were beautifully presented and delicious. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean view room are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear GregLasVegas,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to the city. We are proud to offer the best in service, and we are delighted to read you were able to experience this and many other great things at the Waldorf Astoria Panama. We hope to continue serving you. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is located in a decent location not far from the waterfront. The hotel has a modern design with rooms that are clean and modern. The problem we had was the service. We arranged for airport transportation, but no one was at the airport for us when we arrived. Upon arrival to the hotel, we had a AAA discount rate but forgot our card, so the front desk person indicated that the hotel would not honor our rate. The front desk person also informed us that there was only 1 person listed on the reservation, and that the AAA rate for more than 1 person would be more expensive. We found this level of treatment rather trivial, especially given our loyalty to the Hilton brand. We also arranged transportation to the Gamboa Rainforest Resort after a Panama Canal partial transit tour. Again, no one was there when we disembarked, so we had to rely on the generosity of another cruise passenger who was staying at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort and had arranged a taxi to the resort. For a hotel brand of this caliber, the service is severely lacking. We will stay elsewhere if we return to Panama City.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear tnc2u,
Thank your for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your thoughts and experience will be addressed with our hotel staff as we strive to better our services to you. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the city and show you great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Panama Waldorf Astoria was a wonderful place to stay. We were greeted at the front doors by extremely friendly staff that assisted us to the front counters. The registration staff was also very friendly and open. We received ice cold water on arrival, which was very welcome in the heat and humidity of Panama. We were then escorted to our room by our own personal concierge. Candy showed us around the room and gave us a number to reach her or her representative if we needed anything. In the room was a small plate of delicious and beautiful canapés. We had an ocean view and were able to look out at the marina and the ships in the bay. Dinner in the dining room was fantastic - the wait staff was very accommodating and friendly and the food was delicious. For breakfast we chose to have room service. Again the food was delicious and there was so much of it. I would suggest ordering one meal for two people if you don't eat a lot. When leaving, we were given a small "Thank You" gift of a bag of Panamanian coffee. We will definitely choose to stay at the Panama Waldorf Astoria again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Cynthia W,
Thank you very much; we appreciate your positive feedback regarding our hotel staff, accommodations and services. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and we thank you for selecting the Waldorf Astoria Panama, we hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I usually travel extensively to Panama for conventions and meetings. I have tried several "luxury" hotels but for once I felt at home visiting Waldorf Astoria. The hotel standards exceed any other property in Panama. But the deal whas the incredible Staff. I travel around the world at least 6 times a year and his staff made ​​my trip unforgettable. I want to thank Ruben front desk guy for so good recommendations at all times. Also congratulate their lobby ambassadors for being so kind.

Thanks for such an excellent stay. ill be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear juls C,
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff; we will inform Ruben immediately about your kind words. We are very glad we made you feel at home and that we exceeded your expectations.Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama and we hope you come by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 115 in Panama City
1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
885 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £107 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing