We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Royalty for my Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Ranked #14 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treated Like Royalty for my Anniversary”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 days, 4 nights at the Waldorf Astoria Panama City and we were treated like ROYALTY from the moment we entered the building. We were pleasantly greated by Eduardo and Tony (valet) outside with a handshake and a warm smile. We had to wait a little bit for our room, but it was well worth it! Candy (concierge) personally escorted us to our upgraded condo on the 27th floor and we were amazed. The room was huge and had a full kitchen and living/dining room and large open shower. On the first night we received a plate of desserts, the next night an unexpected bottle of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, and on our anniversary another bottle of champs and strawberries + after dinner we came home to rose petals all over the bedroom! This was by far the best experience service-wise that I have ever received in a hotel and I travel WEEKLY for work and a few times a year personally. Lille A. (concierge) was amazing. We corresonded a few weeks prior to the trip and when I arrived she was like an old friend. I attribute all of the sweet unexpected surprised to her and am so thankful that she went above and beyond to make sure our anniversary celebration was top notch. She offered many suggestions on restaurants and activities and we were well taken care of every time she was on duty. The Waldorf has a house car which we didn't find out about until the 2nd or 3rd day of our trip but this was very nice touch. Niko and Roberto were our drivers during the stay and they both took good care of us. The offered their personal cell numbers for us to call when we were ready to be picked up. Niko offered a lot of recommendations for food as he is a trained culinary expert and we took his personal recommendation of Tre Scalina (Italian) for our anniversary dinner. Maria (housekeeping) was also a little gem as she greeted us each night for our turndown service in the room. There were countless others with smiling faces and an eager willingness to helps us over the course of our vacation and I am so grateful! The only negatives (and negative is too strong of a word) of trip were that we didn't always get washcloths for our baths, the lounges/restuarants & pool were relatively empty during the stay so there wasn't an active vibe even though the hotel is beautifully designed, and we had a washer/dryer in our room but the staff wasn't sure how to operate (we eventually figured out it with Tony's help) and we wasted some time waiting on them. The hotel's location is steps away from nightlife, restuarants, and the bay. I would definitely stay here if I'm in Panama again. Thanks Lille and team! We had a blast and will never forget your hospitality.

Room Tip: If you get upgraded definitely get a condo for the week. Also get one facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear AB627,
We are delighted to read about your recent stay, and better yet that you chose us for this important occasion. How wonderful to read about your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to host you while you were in Panama City and even more that we were able to make your stay something to remember.
Our service is one of a kind and we have paid close attention to details when designing this home away from home for our guests. We are particularly happy to read you remembered one of our Team Members and pointed out his name.
Always remember that we are here for you during your next visit to Panama City so we can provide more great memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    303
    111
    46
    41
See reviews for
218
412
74
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Martino in Rio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice hotel I stayed 4 nights and I've been impressed. Clean and nice. Staff very helpful, something not very common in Panama where usually staff in hotel are lazy. Good restaurants and great gym! At walking distance many clubs at night for dance and happy hour. The place is also very quiet. The pool is not crazy... it's in the middle of other buildings so doesn't get much of sunshine! Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaDavoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear AndreaDavoli,
Thanks for choosing Waldorf Astoria Panama while you were away from home. We take each of your comments with great joy and satisfaction. Our main focus is to provide a great level of service and to do so, we offer an intensive training to all our Team Members. Our main goal will always be to create memorable experiences each and every day.
Please remember there is a new place for you to stay when visiting Panama in the future. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A/C did not work, All the construction noise in the area kept me up all night. Wifi was on and off but at best dial up weak.Flying ants all over my room. The staff is poorly trained to handle basic problems. Motel service at Waldorf Astoria prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Joce B,
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay, but even more importantly, your feedback, as we know it helps us get better at serving our costumers.
It is true that our property is in the middle of a growing city, we are sorry to read you were affected by the noise coming from constructions in the area. We are also sorry to hear about the A/C and Internet issues and hope we were able to help you in the end. We will be addressing the issues with our staff as we know it helps us get better.
We hope we have a chance to welcome you again during your next visit to Panama and provide you with the comfortable stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When you arrive you are treated like royalty. The GM comes out to greet you, you are given water bottles, and the concierge walks you to your room. The only constant that happens after that is the bellman are great (Johhny and Eugenio were the best).

Lobby - The lobby is beautiful and inviting to have a conversation.
Rooms - The rooms have this new old décor. It looks like you in the old disco days but the furniture is newer. The balcony with the view of the water is nice, however, don't expect to see blue water. The air conditioner is full blast so maintaining a comfortable temperature is tough. The bathroom is where I had some issues. The showers are rain showers with a water wand which really have no real pressure which was disappointing. Also the water does not get hot. It would be almost hot at best. The toiletries are Feragamo which was nice.

Personal Assistant - you will receive a personal assistant which was a nice tough. Especially because after the first day you can't even speak to the concierge. I called on several occasions to reach the concierge and could not so my personal assistant tried to help me but couldn't.

Concierge - you have to go to the front desk to find the concierge after the first day. Awaiting a call back does not happen. This was the biggest area that was lacking.

Front Desk - The staff are friendly and helpful.

The best treatment of all are the bellman. They will help you get a cab and help you get a ride with the hotel car. Don't even bother talking to anyone else about getting the car because you will get ridiculous responses. I tried to get to a place that was two miles away and the front desk told me the car would only go within a two mile radius around the hotel. REALLY. The bellman are also more helpful in determining what restaurants are the best and they are just friendly so make sure to tip them since they are the best resource.

Location - This location is just off the main strip and has plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from. Also, you are a short cab ride from everything. The location is a definite plus.

Pool - decent size and the area around it was nice, however, there is no air moving so it is hot.

This Waldorf is cheap compared to those in the US but outside of the bellman and the first day's service you receive I would stay at the Marriott, save $$, and use the extra money on cabs to get around town.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear mholi,

Thanks for your recent review. We are glad you had time to enjoy in Panama City.
We will definitely consider every one of your comments to continue improving our service levels.
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your WA Panama experience was.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The accommodations are lovely, but there's an unmistakeable odor of cheap construction that permeated our suite. Did the builders not seal the concrete during construction. The staff is very friendly, although housekeeping was extremely inefficient. Rooms not cleaned upon first request, turn down service on their schedule, not yours. Beautiful hotel still needs a little polish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Fred A,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your recent WA Panama experience was.

We will diligently work on those things you mentioned to make sure your next stay in our hotel will be perfect.

Regards

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While this does not live up to the Waldorf Astoria standards in other cities, it is still a good hotel. The location is pretty central and is very near to many restaurants and clubs. The clubs are late night clubs but you can't hear it from the hotel so it is fine. The rooms, I stayed in 2, are comfortable and clean. The gym and spa are good and the pool, while small, is nice. It also has a pretty large hot tub.

The drawbacks to the hotel in my opinion are that you can only see the ocean from a few rooms and the pool area, there is only one real restaurant, and the bar in the hotel is always empty. Basically it is a nice place to stay if you know what you are getting into. By the way, while I did not see any, the bartender in the lobby told me that there are quite a few hookers from Colombia in the area and he sometimes sees guests bring them up to the room. My friend also told me that the area is known to have a lot of hookers who seek out rich, older men.

If you want to be in a hotel with more people and amenities, I would suggest the Trump Hotel. It is half apartments and half hotel rooms with 5 or 6 bars inside. Plus the architecture is very cool. You don't have views from it either but it is still a cool hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 911 which had a balcony and an ocean view but I also stayed in 1113 and it did not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Steve H,
It was great to have had the opportunity to welcome you during your visit to both Panama City and a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. We welcome your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is true our hotel is located just one block away from the main drive that faces the ocean, surrounded by many restaurants, bars, and shopping options. We feel they allow our guests to see the cultural aspects that define the city of Panama. We hope we have a chance to welcome you again so that we can exceed your expectations and thus help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited this hotel in March this year. Having not visited Panama before i was wary of what to expect and was extremely pleased. There is nothing that i can say that is bad about this hotel really. The room was spacious, clean, luxurious, good toiletries, robes etc, good mini bar etc etc.
The pool area is an experience as it is outside in the side of the hotel half way up! There's a bar there too! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The reception bar is a little clinical but well stocked and friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure trips. Panama is a great place to visit too!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKorngold, Director of Business Development at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Fiona4333,

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review.

It is our commitment to offer every one of our guests an enjoyable stay and through this review we be sure that we reached our goal.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Andres Korngold
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 114 in Panama City
1,198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trump International Hotel & Tower Panama
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 114 in Panama City
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 114 in Panama City
768 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Property: Waldorf Astoria Panama
Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street | walking distance to Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#11 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing